Customer Reviews for

Dead Beat (Dresden Files Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 463 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(341)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 470 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Great. Simply great.

    I dread the day that i read the last words of Harry Dresden's exploits. :'-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    a must read series

    I just discovered Mr. Butcher and his Dresden File series and I can't put them down. I am on the eighth book .Fortunatley a friend had the whole series and I am very much afraid that I will never find any books that enthrall me like these have. Thank God I still have six more to go before I am forced into Harry Dresden withdrawel. I am sure I will read his next series of books but like I said, I will miss Harry. I too have a cat named Mister and a dog that outweighs me. I hope he continues to bring Harry back every once in awhile. Thanks so much for these great reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    An excellent installment for fans

    Dresden 7 is fantastic, and is oft cited as a high point of the series. Of course, if a reader has already picked up the first six, there is little reason not to get this one. The book is long, at 500+ pages in Roc's unwieldy trade paperback format but it doesn't feel long, there's just a lot of Harry Dresden here. This book incorporates elements from everyone of the previous titles, so while new readers may be tempted to jump in at the crowning moment of awesome, won't get the full effect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    another great addition to a great series. once you start reading these books you wont stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Polka will never die!

    I started reading these books aloud to my youngest back in book one. I sometimes have to edit certain words and I usually read ahead to see what I might need to not read to her (she is 7)but just "sum up". These books are so much fun to read aloud. Very descriptive phrasing, very visual. There are serious moments and some where you find yourself laughing out loud.

    Book seven is lighter to me than book 6. (No, I didn't read much of six to her, they were making porn movies and dealing with succubi for crying out loud. We just kind of hit the high points and I read on my own.) Anyway, there are some wonderful lines in this one that will have you snickering. Not to give anything away but "polka will never die" had me snorting soda out my nose...

    It is longer than the others and very justifiably so. I was not ready for it to end.

    All in all a very wild ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best of the series

    I am a very big Harry Dresden fan, and this book is easily my favorite of the series. The ongoing story of Harry Dresden continues in book 7 with the usual introduction of new characters, and the continuing development of Harry's allies. It's tough to write a review without spoiling anything, so I really don't want to go into any detail. As a Chicago resident, let me just say that one of the spells that Harry does in this book will never be topped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Highly enjoyable

    I continue to crack up at the dry sense of humor Harry brings forth in this book. I love his bold, brash behavior combined with his sensitivity and sense of humanity. This book brought out more type of supernaturals and it was neat getting more history and insight into the council and it's enemies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Zombies and Necromancers and Wizards... oh my!

    It's all about the Word of Kemmler. Or is it? Mavra is involved, so who can say? Throw in zombies, necromancers and the usual lot of plot twists, turns and magic gone awry and you have Dresden at hit finest.

    In this book we see a bit more of the humanity of Harry, which I think is what makes him the kind of character we keep coming back for. We get insight into the psychological effects from the attack that injured his hand. We also gain some insight into why it is he's still able to walk after the amount of abuse he has taken over the years.

    In short, we get to be awed and empathetic to him in nearly the same breath. We are also introduced into more of the magics that are so dark that the use of them tags you for instant execution with the White Council. Namely, the use of necromancy. Apparently the Council frowns upon people who play with dead things.

    And finally we are again shown a world where Harry may sling around a lot of power, but there are things out there with a lot more punch than him. These are the things that he usually winds up at odds with and this book is no exception.

    The evolution of the characters, even the minor supporting role characters, keeps me coming back. The action keeps me excited and interested in the book as I am going through it. The snark make me laugh. And it is all a combination of everything I want in my urban fantasy.

    If you haven't tried them yet, I would also suggest trying the audiobooks of this series. They are unabridged so you aren't losing anything, but what you gain is a beautifully narrated audiobook by James Marsters. A definitely must-read, and one of the many I own on audiobook as well as print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Exciting

    I had my doubts be cause I had watched the TV series before I read the books. But Now I can not get enough of them!!! If you have an imagination you will love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    The premiere and original of the vampire and other-world series books

    No one writes this genre better than Jim Butcher. He is unparalleled. His characters have great depth, dealing with multiple complications at once. He gives his characters numerous problems to solve and is great at painting them into the corner and leaving them hanging, creating great drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dead Beat, the Dresden Files, Book 7

    By far, the most dangerous and deadly Dresden book yet! Mavra blackmails Harry to get the Word of Kemmler for her, or she ruins Murphy. There are other necromancers also after the Word. Comically, Harry is teamed up with Butters, the polka loving medical examiner. Harry's true nature comes to life in this book, as he truly struggles with himself and Lasciel. The White Council will suffer a devastating blow, as Harry learns of how the war with the vampires is tied in with the dark magic happening in Chicago. Is a 65 million year old dinosaur, Sue (Which by the way I've seen here in the Natural History museum. How cool is that!?), enough of an advantage, with what's left of the Wardens, to defeat the necromancer's purpose and save thousands of innocents lives, on Halloween night?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Harry Dresden's most offbeat and dangerous adventure

    Butcher let's go in this highly original and strangely moving entry into his Dresden files series. Fans may have thought they knew where Harry was heading before this but they were in for a big surprise by the end of the book. <BR/>Harry Dresden is a great hero, a flawed man struggling with his problems like anyone else and developing the capacity to enlighten all of us through those struggles. The meaning of friendship, family, loyalty--all these things come into play through one of the most bizarre and moving entries in the series...and just remember, Polka will never die!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dresden Files keep getting better...

    If you love film noir, and are a fan of fantasy, this is the series for you. If you're experience with Harry Dresden is the Sci-Fi channel series, put that aside, and give the books a shot. Dresden, the only Wizard in the Chicago yellow pages merges the best of Philip Marlow, and sweeping contemporary fantasy. Harry lives in our world, but also in a world we normal humans deny, the world of magic and creatures of nightmare. Jim Butcher consistently delivers pulse pounding excitement and quirky humor. Smart Banter between characters, interesting protagonists, and plot twists and surprises abound. Do read in order, the plots build and compound each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    Great, quick read!

    A great, quick read with characters that are easy to love and care about. Highly entertaining and the momentum never lets up. If you love magic, wizards, vampires, werewolves....just about anything 'dark' in the world, you will love this tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Fantastic, Bogie move over

    This WAS the first book I read of the Dresden files. Within 2 and a half weeks, I read the rest of them. Dresden is a hero that reminds me of Bogart at his best. There wasn't a bad plot in the series. And these books invite being re-read. They are KEEPERS and I highly recommend people to take a look at these books and the author. A no-nonsense approach, a hero that has his own problems but overcomes them. What isn't to like? I wish I had his housekeeping service. Read any of his books, and you'll be hooked. Butcher's stories are addictive and a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    This author knows the meaning of ' If it ain't broke...'

    What can I say that I haven't said before about the other books in the series? Simply said, nothing. I can only repeat myself as I am happy to do. The book on the whole is excellent. Excellent time keeping, pace, characters, plot and commitment. ^^Butcher (the author) is leagues ahead of the pack in this particular genre. The wizard Dresden (Harry to fans) is done in a way that has never left me guessing if the next installment will be... smirk '...found wonting.' If you are just picking up this book then let me assure you that the others are no less fantastic. And all are written consistantly in a way that anyone with a fondness for reading will be able to enjoy from ages 12 to senior citizens. I am glad I have a character I can fall back on in between authors' release dates and still eagerly await the following file. New fans check out the series of books before Dead Beat, and those in the know kick back and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Another great Dresden book!

    I loved this book! If you are a fan of the Dresden series, then you will love this newest installment. It is definetly worth buying it in hardback. I can't wait til the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Dead Beat Review

    This series just keeps getting better and better. I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb amusing wild fantasy

    Chicago's only paranormal wizard-detective listed in the phone book, Harry Dresden shares a basement apartment with vampiric half-brother Thomas, who feeds on beautiful women but never kills or turns them as Thomas is a member of the White Court. Though once literally losing her head to Harry, Mavra the vampire Black Court affiliate blackmails him through the woman he loves, Chicago Police Department Special Investigations Unit Chief Karrin Murphy. Mavra has proof that Karrin killed an evil person, which makes her act a homicide and she could face life in prison or the chair. Plus Mavra has a worse hold, some of Karrin¿s lush blonde hair. To not use her evidence Mavra orders Harry to find and give her The Word of Kemmler spell that will make the evil vampiress the most powerful essence in the Midwest --- Harry learns from Bob the talking skull that Kemmler the malevolent necromancer caused WWI and has been killed twice by the White Court and that the Word of Kemmler is his most dangerous and deadly necromancy book. --- The Dresden Files is one of the best recurring detective fantasies on the market today; each of the seven novels (counting this one) has been excellent with an exciting investigation or two within a different type of Chicago. In DEAD BEAT Harry must save his beloved yet cannot provide the necromancer¿s handbook to the villainess. Whether he battles dead cops or has fairies clean his apartment, fans will fully enjoy this superb amusing seventh wild ride starring an excellent sarcastic character at his peak in a superior unique series. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 470 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24