Customer Reviews for

Dead Bolt (Haunted Home Renovation Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Fun Series

    Good series - I'll continue to read them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Good Read

    Really enjoyed tis series. This book was fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommend if you read book one of the series.

    Juliet keeps you wondering, which makes you want to curl up and just finish the book with a nice warm cup of tea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    *****A perfect light humor and quick wit mystery, with a dash of scare!******

    I LOVE this series! they are delightfully packed with humor, wit and good old fashioned spooks all tied up in a mystery! A quick read but a guarantee not to disappoint! No more needs to be said, just read the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Good entertaining read

    I am enjoying this series - it's a nice quick read - entertaining and funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    In Blackwell's paranormal mystery novel, general contractor Mela

    In Blackwell's paranormal mystery novel, general contractor Melanie Turner's latest restoration job involves a historic Queen Anne Victorian in one of San Francisco's neighborhoods. The owners have decided to reside in the basement while the work is done, making things more difficult for the crew. But when strange things begin to happen around the site, the owners threaten to cancel all restoration plans for fear of disturbing the ghosts who live somewhere on the property. It's soon clear that the ghosts aren't the only ones disrupting the work in progress. The neighbors aren't happy with the noise associated with the project either. When Mel's father discovers a body across the street, Mel is tasked with the duty to finish the job on time, do some ghost busting, and restore her reputation.

    Melanie Turner is one of the most exciting, sharp, and hysterically funny heroines in any book series I've read. A new and inventive twist on the ghostly paranormal mystery genre.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    LOVE IT! LOVE IT!

    My second book by Juliet Blackwell, read first book "
    If wall could talk" very good book. Dead Bolt book was very good I couldn't put the book down and turn the pages fast enough.
    Dead Bolt made laugh, gave chills up my back and scared a little.
    I highly recommend these 2 books, very well written and interesting by chapter 1 in both books.
    Good job Juliet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a chilling paranormal locked in house whodunit

    There are few females in Melanie Turner's occupation, but the general contractor relishes taking over Turner Construction from her retired dad. Currently she leads the restoration of the Cheshire House a historic Queen Anne Victorian house in San Francisco. Every house has problems in the renovation, but this one includes Jim and Katenka Daley who insist on residing in the basement apartment while the renovations occur.

    Mel also has the ability to see and hear ghosts. She believes there are many spirits roaming Cheshire House. Initially the ghostly occupants play harmless pranks like handprints on a very high ceiling and footprints in which only Mel the medium can see them. However, not all the spirits resting in Cheshire Inn are benign; one who is malevolent has the skill to make people do what it wants them to do. When cantankerous neighbor (and former resident) Emile Blunt is found dead, a former resident of Cheshire House when it was a boarding house, Mele believes there is a link between the murder and the spirits. Although she understands the lethal risk that no other living person on the project does, Mel must find a way to coax the ghosts to move on and out of Cheshire House while finding out who killed Emile.

    The second Haunted House Renovation Mystery (see If Walls Could Talk) is a chilling paranormal locked in whodunit that will frighten even the Ghostbusters let alone readers. Mel is a courageous strong person who though scared feels she must complete the project which includes ridding the house of its otherworldly occupants. Dead Bolt is a terrific paranormal amateur sleuth.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Darker than first

    Liked 1st more than this one but still like it. This one is darker and baby involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just completed my 2013 New Year's resolution of reading Juliet

    I just completed my 2013 New Year's resolution of reading Juliet Blackwell's Haunted Home Renovation Series by December 31st!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this ghostly mystery! In addition to my reasons for enjoying her last Mel Turner story, this one brings forward some of the work and secondary characters from her first book. Some series lack this continuity and this hurts their believability after awhile.
    I highly recommend this book and look forward to the others. Also, check out her Witchcraft Mystery Series! Happy New Year!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I liked the first one better

    but this was pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Katie

    Im Katie Monroe. I just joined today. Im 15.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    Paranormal mysteries are great reads but this one surpasses most. You can't help but love the "lady construction boss" with her weird fashion sense and hope that she winds up with Quinn, the hunk. What makes this series great is the development of all the characters main and side, and the clarity in which Ms. Blackwell writes. I love the characters and the plots, "it's all good!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved Every Word Of This Haunted Cozy

    I was first drawn to this series because I used to build and remodel houses, then I enjoyed these wonderful characters and couldn¿t get enough. Mel Turner is a take charge kind of gal, very organized, meticulous and not afraid of much except maybe getting her heart broken. She also has a special gift that at times is as much a curse as a blessing. With traits like these readers can¿t help but care about her as we take each step right along with her, up those attic stairs or home to her Dad, Stan and Caleb, or even into those confusing romantic situations. She is funny and smart, the kind of friend you would want to tag along with, even when she¿s off trying to get a family of ghosts to move along and out of the house she desperately wants to finish renovating.

    This book is fun, entertaining with perfect amounts are mystery, mayhem and haunting characters. I loved every word!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2