Customer Reviews for

Dead Case in Deadwood: A Deadwood Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!

This is book 3 in the Deadwood series and you really should read one and two first just to be familiar with the characters.
You will learn to love Violet. It leaves the reader wanting more of her and her adventures. If you like a little romance mixed in with your mys...
This is book 3 in the Deadwood series and you really should read one and two first just to be familiar with the characters.
You will learn to love Violet. It leaves the reader wanting more of her and her adventures. If you like a little romance mixed in with your mystery, You will not be disappointed.

posted by bitnbyte on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

B&N.....you needto offer the first two books. This sounds like an amusing series, something I would enjoy. Can' t read third book before the first and second.

posted by 10330541 on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    B&N.....you needto offer the first two books. This sounds like an amusing series, something I would enjoy. Can' t read third book before the first and second.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    This is book 3 in the Deadwood series and you really should read one and two first just to be familiar with the characters.
    You will learn to love Violet. It leaves the reader wanting more of her and her adventures. If you like a little romance mixed in with your mystery, You will not be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend Hilariously Fun

    Well written, ties into the previous books well. Characters are well developed and growing. Excellent read - well worth the wait - can't wait for more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Ann Charles has roused up Violet's curiosity again. Single moth

    Ann Charles has roused up Violet's curiosity again. Single mother Violet is a real estate agent and keeps stirring up strange clients and even some unforeseen guests. She must rely on friends to help her seek information of unusual nature. There seems to be some surprises in store for her as she becomes more curious concerning peculiar happenings at the Mudder Brothers Funeral Home. Violet's children and an old geezer keep this story lively.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I've read all three books in this series and they are fantastic.

    I've read all three books in this series and they are fantastic. There is mystery, adventure, romance, fantastic characters, sniping, snarking and great belly laughs. I often wish that I was the main character Violet, something she might not even wish on herself. I cannot recommend these books enough for anyone who needs a little escape.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Every book is better than the one before

    If you like a mystery,or ghosts,or romance or,above all,exceptional humor,you will definitely enjoy this series. Violet is a single mother of twins and a struggling real estate agent,surrounded by the wacky,wonderful,not so wonderful,and flat-out kooks. I ended up cackling out loud many,many times. How could anyone not laugh at characters named Big Lips Lolly?! The ending of this wonderfully written book left me clamoring for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for someone to be a nook friend so I can borrow this ser

    Looking for someone to be a nook friend so I can borrow this series of books.  Anyone interested?  Had to rate so 3 stars till I read it and then will come back and  rate again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    So well written

    I loved the author's way of bringing the characters to life, especially when he was reading their thoughts. A make-you-laugh book that you will really enjoy. Oh - and the mystery is good too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Entertaining read.

    I really like the writing style of Ann Charles. It is humorous with a mystery subplot. Fans of Janet Evanovich will enjoy Ann's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    A liitle too cutesy

    Almost every sentence oozed with cuteness, a little too much for my taste. I enjoyed early Charlaine Harris, but maybe this field is already played out by those who have follwed with imitations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fun fun fun

    Read the whole series. Waiting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Stupid, dragged out book.

    Violet is a white trash slutty woman. I find it very hard to believe that so many men would want a loose woman with 2 kids, no money, and no home. I'm guessing Doc works as a financial advisor. Why does everybody in Deadwood work 7 days a week? If Deadwood is supposed to be a small town then why is everyone selling their houses and where would they move to? The scenarios in this book are just too unbelievable. The stupid things Violet does to sell the hotel are just too much. Her snooping at the funeral home is also ridiculous. No one in real life can be so stupid. Her calling Doc for every little thing is also ridiculous. I'm definitely not going to read anything from this author again. This is the kind of book lonely women looking for romance would buy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Recommend

    Want to read more from Ann Charles'Deadwood series. Love the interactions among Violet her children, co-workers, and the rest of her family, particularly Aunt Zoe. Charles' humor shines through with every dialogue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    I'm giving the rating of 3 because I have not read this book, ye

    I'm giving the rating of 3 because I have not read this book, yet. I want to get the other 2 in the series first. B&N, how about giving a discount on the other 2 first. Also, I can't tell from reading the reviews if these books for a lot of cursing or sex. I read a book for enjoyment. Too much of those things spoil it for me because I am a Christian. Thanks.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Read all of this series!

    A fun read with murder, ghosts, romance--you can't go wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Love this series!

    Super fun & sexy read. Love the sarcastic wit of Violet. And the struggle between her & Doc has me hooked to find out if they're going to make it or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    hi

    These books are a guilty pleasure of mine. I highly recommend them when you just want to kick back and relax with a good book that has always an interesting mystery and a spunky heroine who always makes me giggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Great

    As usual this series had me at page one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Very good!

    These books keep getting better and better as they go. This one is a bit gruesome and risque. Overall very fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!

    I got tje second book first, so I went and bought the first and third books. Great books but read the first. Ireally enjoyed them, great chatacters, and well written, fast read. Can't say enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3