BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead Center (the Rookie Club, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Gendronx4

I started off with a bang and kept me wanting to read more. Looking forward to the next book.

posted by 6664947 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

B

The story itself was interesting enough,however the violence toward women was uncalled for. The vicious attacks on practically every woman in the novel has placed this author in the category of will not read again.

posted by 17196715 on December 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Very highly recommended it keeps you on your toes

    I don't normal read these kind of books but I really liked the series. They keep you wondering who did it and I couldn't put them down.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    A good mystery

    I enjoyed the mystery of this one! It kept you guessing right up until the end. I like the concept of the Rookie Club, though it is very similar to the Women's Murder Club books by James Patterson.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    I was sold after the first book in the series. This book was ver

    I was sold after the first book in the series.
    This book was very well done and I went on to read the others in the series.  This author writes complex plots which I really appreciate.  I have never guessed the ending before I got there.
    I read this book a while back and just noticed on the Spotlight.  But what really got my attention is the newly released title in the series (Interference) plus another one (Everything To Lose) that's available on pre-order.  How exciting!
    If you are "sensitive" or can't follow a complex plot you may not like this.  But if you enjoy a story with "guts" and one that will keep you guessing, you're in for a treat.
    I'm starting the new one tonight!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Amazing. Fast-paced and engaging. There is a tough scene at the

    Amazing. Fast-paced and engaging. There is a tough scene at the start but it feels in line with the plot and not done for effect. I can't wait to read the next one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great book!

    I love her other books but was a little worried that the "rookie club" books didn't sound like what she had written before. But this one was a great read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    great read !!

    Loved this book . Couldnt put it down. Cant wait for the next book.....a real winner !!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Oh wow!

    This was great! Cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. I wish the series came in an affordable package.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    DEAD CENTER

    Really good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    5 star

    Great book kept your interest up thru the whole book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Full of suspense

    A great who-done-it. This was a new author for me and so glad. I will definitely read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    A Bit Graphic but...

    ...I would say that it's necessary, considering the types of crimes this book deals with.

    I don't usually like books with graphic fight scenes, and I have to admit that I skipped over the final confrontation between protagonist and villian. However, it didn't take away anything from my enjoyment of the book nor did I wonder "what happened?" at the end. It's a necessary plot device - violence - but I have no stomach for it.

    That is my issue, though, not the author's.

    I found this book to be engaging, well-written, and suspenseful. The characters (with maybe the exception of the first victim) are believable and (for the most part) likeable. The dialogue is original, the descriptions of the characters' facial expressions are, thankfully, devoid of "smirking" (seems to be the default facial expression in a lot of not-so-well-written books), and no one "moans with pleasure" when they eat something (I find that in too many books and it really annoys me).

    No, these characters are realistic. The plot has a few turns that serve to nicely mislead the reader, so that, at the end of the book, there are a few surprises left.

    It's unfortunate that some characters got off lightly, but that's realistic, and I appreciated that. As the daughter of a policeman and sister of a public defender, I am well aware that "law" does not always mean "justice".

    Anyway, great book and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Good

    Really like this author's writing style. This is the second book I have read by her and I intend to read all of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    AhiahMqyahquajyi

    Ajahhjquqqauah NahahquNquNquynqu . YiqiNqyxNahquyi N NBahahqNah NNgai uuuquajN ahNN

    0 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2