Customer Reviews for

Dead City

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Zombie book!

I bought this book for my husband. This is what he had to say about the book. "Visuals were great and story-line realistic. I frequently found myself empathizing with the characters and experiencing their sense of doom. I even found myself getting upset at the stupidity...
I bought this book for my husband. This is what he had to say about the book. "Visuals were great and story-line realistic. I frequently found myself empathizing with the characters and experiencing their sense of doom. I even found myself getting upset at the stupidity of some character's actions! So, this was a great book. Definitely makes you wonder...what would you have done? I agree, not one to put down...I read entire book on a Sunday morning and finished in the afternoon...after I cut grass!! lol"

posted by 3589355 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well now

After reading all the reviews about this book I decided to pick it up, I read it in about 2 days and it was pretty interesting. I like the fact that it was from the perspective of a cop, and I've often wondered before reading this book, just how some of the cops would r...
After reading all the reviews about this book I decided to pick it up, I read it in about 2 days and it was pretty interesting. I like the fact that it was from the perspective of a cop, and I've often wondered before reading this book, just how some of the cops would react when faced with a major disaster like a zombie attack and saving their own families.

Maybe it's because I've read a lot of the Resident Evil series but I'm used to having a lot going on in the plot, this was straight up original but didn't have a lot going on. I enjoyed it, but it didn't 'send chills down my spine' like some other zombie novels I've read.

posted by Ryanxia on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Excellent Zombie book!

    I bought this book for my husband. This is what he had to say about the book. "Visuals were great and story-line realistic. I frequently found myself empathizing with the characters and experiencing their sense of doom. I even found myself getting upset at the stupidity of some character's actions! So, this was a great book. Definitely makes you wonder...what would you have done? I agree, not one to put down...I read entire book on a Sunday morning and finished in the afternoon...after I cut grass!! lol"

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it!

    This book is great from the first page to the last. I hated to finish it. I hope this author writes more soon. I am fairly new to zombie literature but if I can find more like this "Once you go Zombie you never go Back" LOL!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    How a city will die in a zombiepocalypse

    Even though I have read more than my share of zombie books, I only bought this book on a lark. The blurb on the back and fairly cliched cover didn't really interest me. Wow. I was surprised at how I got drawn into this book. I would give this book 4.5 stars, if I could. Sure, it had its warts. I felt the end was very rushed and the start a bit slow. I felt a few scenes were unnecessary, as they didn't add anything to the plot. But after about page 50, I got to share the emotions of a cop as he watches his city slowly die. There is also a scene in a church that is a great commentary on how some people will hold certain beliefs even while the world crumbles around them. Others may have felt this slowed the story's action, but it was this element of human connection that kept the novel from being a mindless hack-and-slash gorefest.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    First and best of a series

    This is the first book in mckinneys dead world saga and while all of em are good this is probably the best one. Gives max brooks and jonathan maberry a run for their money

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a good read

    a good read if you like zombie books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Well now

    After reading all the reviews about this book I decided to pick it up, I read it in about 2 days and it was pretty interesting. I like the fact that it was from the perspective of a cop, and I've often wondered before reading this book, just how some of the cops would react when faced with a major disaster like a zombie attack and saving their own families.

    Maybe it's because I've read a lot of the Resident Evil series but I'm used to having a lot going on in the plot, this was straight up original but didn't have a lot going on. I enjoyed it, but it didn't 'send chills down my spine' like some other zombie novels I've read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Zombie fun!

    Good reading

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    no plot

    No real character development. Just some dude running from zombies for a couple hundred pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than expected.

    I've read a few other zombie books like this and if you like sci-fi, zombie books or something of the like, then you'll like this book. You definitely shouldn't judge this book by its cover. The cover made me think the book may not be too great but it was one of the best zombie books I've read so far.

    Also, I'm not recommending "Down the Road", for some reason it's showing up on my review and it doesn't show up when I try to edit it. So I'm not recommending it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    THE SERIES JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER

    Great writer, I will read whatever he writes. He hasn't disappointed me yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Loved this book

    Dead city was great and the author was very descriptive. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. Would highly recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good read

    Good story, but Eddie's wife is so annoying that I was hoping she'd get killed off. Whiney and stupid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Good read

    So good i have read it over again a few times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Good zombie book no break in the action, Great

    Great zombie book
    Amazing how he made it through all of that he is one bad man well worth th money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    good read

    good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Review correction

    I accidentally posted my review for flesh eaters on here. This book was in my opinion better than flesh eaters. Better (not by much) characters. I like the overall stories I just find the characters irritating. Almost to the point of getting on my nerves. But the majority of zombie books are just horrible and that is why this one has the 4 stars. It didn't go that route meaning it actually had a storyline worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Disappointed

    This got some pretty good reviews but i was less than thrilled with it. Didn't like the characters , didn't like the story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Serena

    Thats not the same ustin thats at Jades house. They r diferent.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    From justin to cody

    I killed serena

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Officer cody pausch

    *pulls out his gun*get on the ground justin*officer cody goes u to justin pulls him up against his car and puts the handcuffs on*(the jail is the first book of the page)cody puts justin in the cop car and taks him off to jail

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8