Customer Reviews for

Dead Copy

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love Kit's books

Really like Kit's books. Great characters and wit. My only problem is with the lack of punctuation. Keep having to reread sentences and decide where to punctuate so they make sense. A writer this good needs an equally good proofreader.

posted by 10098063 on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great story, but...

Dead Copy was a great story, and that was all that kept me reading. Despite the numerous nicely turned phrases that peppered the chapters, Frazier desperately--desperately!--needs a copy editor. I was distracted by the run-on sentences and other mistakes. Only the fact ...
Dead Copy was a great story, and that was all that kept me reading. Despite the numerous nicely turned phrases that peppered the chapters, Frazier desperately--desperately!--needs a copy editor. I was distracted by the run-on sentences and other mistakes. Only the fact that I liked the characters and the story kept me going. I'd love to read more about Cauley, but I'm not sure I can get past the mistakes in another volume.

posted by KarenGordy on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Poor punctuation, editing errors (too for to)

    Poor punctuation, editing errors ( too for to), and putting quotes

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Like the book but must say I didn't like the ending unless there

    Like the book but must say I didn't like the ending unless there will be another book coming up tokeep the story going,author left quite a few things in the air

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Complicated but fast

    A nice fast paced read. It was a little hard to keep up with all
    of the details because some of them seemed to be given at random times but other than that this book was interesting and funny. I would recommend this to adults and young adults who like alot of details.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    A raucous tale that kept me enthralled the whole time!  I love

    A raucous tale that kept me enthralled the whole time!
     I love the characters and plot. Getting sequel ASAP!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Not great

    Read thw whole book but didnt love ir

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    So so

    Some good bits. Some bad bits. Lots of predictable bits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Dead Copy

    I agree with one reviewer when they compared this book to the Calamity Jayne series. It is a spitting image of the series. I happened to like the Calamity Jayne series way better.
    The book was 819 nook pages and just seemed to drag on and on for me. I got this as a free nook book, which was kind of unfortunate since this is the second book. A lot of information was given and referenced back to book one though, but you still miss the connections between events and characters (for example her "boyfriend" Logan) that you would have had already if the books were read in sequence.
    This book is essentially about an obituary writer, named Cauley, who has dreams of being an actual journalist who writes front page stories. She acts more like a detective than anything else. What got me about this book is that, with all of her connections to the police department, the police don't really seem to do anything about the missing girl. Cauley does more to find the girl than anyone else and everyone she knows just gives her a slap on the hand to get her to stop, which doesn't stop her of course. She put herself in a lot of unnecessary danger. The other thing that annoys the crap out of me in female leads is that she spent the entire book pining for this Logan guy who was rarely in the book and who she apparently only recently met in the book one.
    There were also a lot of hypocritical information. For example, one time Cauley searches for Pilar Hernandez, a housekeeper, on Google and within three sentences she says how she can't find Pilar because she doesn't know her last name.
    Overall it was a decent, okay read for someone who is bored with nothing else to do. Took me awhile to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1