Customer Reviews for

Dead Docket

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fun mystery/legal

I generally enjoy a good mystery and this was no exception. I felt the character of Katherine Adams was a lot of fun and easy to relate to. There are so many twists and turns in the plot, sometimes I had to stop and think where I was, but it all came together nicely. ...
I generally enjoy a good mystery and this was no exception. I felt the character of Katherine Adams was a lot of fun and easy to relate to. There are so many twists and turns in the plot, sometimes I had to stop and think where I was, but it all came together nicely.

I understand that this is actually the second book author Graham has published with the two lead characters. They make a great team and I'm hoping the author will write more. I'm heading off to the store now to get his first book!

posted by Book_Gal on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Didn't hit the spot

A rambling plot line and sometimes confusing storyline left me underwhelmed by this book. Although character development is usually secondary in a suspense novel, it would have been nice to see a little more evolution of the characters. Can't recommend it except for tho...
A rambling plot line and sometimes confusing storyline left me underwhelmed by this book. Although character development is usually secondary in a suspense novel, it would have been nice to see a little more evolution of the characters. Can't recommend it except for those who are not very discerning about their reading material.

posted by TammyD50 on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Fun mystery/legal

    I generally enjoy a good mystery and this was no exception. I felt the character of Katherine Adams was a lot of fun and easy to relate to. There are so many twists and turns in the plot, sometimes I had to stop and think where I was, but it all came together nicely.

    I understand that this is actually the second book author Graham has published with the two lead characters. They make a great team and I'm hoping the author will write more. I'm heading off to the store now to get his first book!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Excellent Page-turning Thriller

    I took Mitchell Graham's last book, Majestic Descending, on a cruise and could not put it down. I literally ran to the store to buy the follow-up the day it was released, Dead Docket, and was not disappointed. This time Delaney (an ex-cop turned lawyer) carries the story and it twists and turns keeping you on edge until the end. Graham's humor is subtle but flows throughout. I felt this was even faster paced than Majestic Descending. There is something in this for everyone - romance, suspense and courtroom drama. I can't wait for his next book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Fast Paced Solid Thriller

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Dead Docket is Mitchell Graham's sequel to Majestic Descending which came out last year. The author has an excellent, distinctive style and the characters are enjoyable. I felt the plot twists were well thought out and the courtroom scenes were quite realistic. It's always a treat to me when one character isn't "on stage" all the time. Mr. Graham trades off nicely between Katherine Adams and her beau John Delaney, an ex-NY cop turned attorney.

    I would have no trouble recommending this book. Job well done!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    A Pretty Good Book

    I borrowed this book from my girlfriend and got into it quickly. The author's style is fluid and easy to read. The plot took several surprise turns, which I liked very much. In other words I didn't find it predictable or formulaic. I really don't agree with the reviewer who said the story seemed like it was "mailed in." I didn't feel that way at all. The action sequences were exciting and well done as was the trial. I've worked in the Cleveland court system for fifteen years and I can say with some assurance it was pretty accurate.

    One of the things I generally look for in a novel is solid characterizations and I wasn't disappointed. I would have liked to see a bit more of Katherine Adams however. She's not only whip smart, but funny. She and John Delaney, an ex-New York homicide detective, turned lawyer make a great pair.

    I hope the author writes more about these two. This book was a pleasant surprise.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Great Sequel

    I read Graham's Majestic Descending about two years ago and really enjoyed it. In my opinion he writes as well as Grisham and Coben,who are two of my favorites.

    When his father's ex-partner comes to him and asks him to travel to Georgia to settle his daughter's estate, John Delaney doesn't want to do it, but reluctantly agrees. Being a former cop, Delaney is motivated by a sense of loyalty. The trip will also give him an opportunity to see Katherine Adams, the lady he's been dating for the last year. Katherine was the heroine of Majestic Descending, a crackling page-turner of a novel, mentioned above.

    While gathering up the girl's possessions the pair come across a box of porn tapes that feature the dead girl. Delaney is stunned by the discovery begins to investigate. Little by little he comes to the conclusion the girl might not be dead.

    In this book nothing is as it seems. Every time you think you have a handle on the ending Graham throws another twist at you. I found this story to be an easy read and well paced. It held my interest all the way through.

    Definitely a fine novel with great characters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    A Solid Mystery Novel

    I very much enjoyed this intricate thriller. There was humor, creepy bad guys, and a very intelligent and tough good guy. Delaney and his girl pal, Katherine Adams (K.J.), a bright Atlanta lawyer, make a great team. Both are mature, in their late forties, and both are capable of carrying the story and playing off each other when need be. In reading the book I was reminded or Spencer, Robert Parker's returning hero.

    I'm a fan.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    THE KIND OF SEQUEL YOU HOPE FOR BUT DO NOT THINK IS POSSIBLE -- IT EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS!

    I heard about this author from friends who know that this book is the sequel to "Majestic Descending" and is currently in production to become one of two Bruce Willis movies, the first coming out in July 2011, so I had to read it. I was up all night reading Majestic, then within five minutes, I literally put on my shoes to drive to the book store to purchase "Dead Docket". I finished it the next day. That's how good these two books are. I really cannot remember being so happy about time spent with a modern day mystery in quite some time. Thank you, Mitchell Graham!

    The plots and characters in both of these books are AWESOME! You really will be stunned by the endings and this author is hopefully going to be translated into terrific new movie thrillers -- everything a writer, director and actor could possible hope for is in these books, so I hope they don't mess it up.

    Regardless, it is always a joy to find a fresh new voice that isn't the usual formula so many of the big name writers keep churning out in what seem to be a never ending pipeline of the same old, same old. Finally a work of original ideas that rolls along really fast and smooth. Graham puts the twist and turn back into this genre and I loved every minute of it.

    Both are must reads which you don't have to read in order, but if you read one you will want to read the other. Either way, you'll thank me if you aren't too tired after staying up all night -- twice! I'd strongly recommend starting it on a Saturday morning...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1