BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead End Gene Pool: A Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

I just finished this book and thought it was great. She has an excellent writing style, funny, irreverent, and interesting. This first chapter gets a little bogged down as she details her relation to the Vanderbilts but after that, really engaging and I was sorry when i...
I just finished this book and thought it was great. She has an excellent writing style, funny, irreverent, and interesting. This first chapter gets a little bogged down as she details her relation to the Vanderbilts but after that, really engaging and I was sorry when it ended.

posted by 1420737 on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dead End Writer

I rarely write reviews but this book was so bad that I felt like I needed to warn people. I struggled to finish Dead End Gene Pool. I have no idea how this thing got published. The first couple of chapters were okay but that was it. This writing seemed so over done ...
I rarely write reviews but this book was so bad that I felt like I needed to warn people. I struggled to finish Dead End Gene Pool. I have no idea how this thing got published. The first couple of chapters were okay but that was it. This writing seemed so over done and cold. I wanted something fun/light to read but this book was depressing and the writer seemed self absorbed. When I finished it I was upset at myself for putting money in this womans pocket-after reading 250 pages of her complaing how hard it was to be spoiled I realized she obviously didn't need my money.

posted by AlanaWilliams on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Dead End Writer

    I rarely write reviews but this book was so bad that I felt like I needed to warn people. I struggled to finish Dead End Gene Pool. I have no idea how this thing got published. The first couple of chapters were okay but that was it. This writing seemed so over done and cold. I wanted something fun/light to read but this book was depressing and the writer seemed self absorbed. When I finished it I was upset at myself for putting money in this womans pocket-after reading 250 pages of her complaing how hard it was to be spoiled I realized she obviously didn't need my money.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I hope this dead end gene pool stops here too

    In spite of the okay manner in which this book is written, I found myself becoming bored very quickly because NOTHING HAPPENS! The anecdotes are slightly amusing, but it has no depth, story or Insight into any of the characters. I enjoy reading about rich people as much as the next person and I love trash, but "when I was 7, when I was 8, when I was 9, when I was 10..." can get very tiresome. I am giving it two stars and not one because I enjoyed the first chapter. After that it was a total snooze.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The lives of messed up rich people

    Author Burden takes what is in reality a sad family situation full of neglect and lacking any sort of parental direction, and spins it into a funny tale reminiscent of Augusten Burroughs and David Sedaris. The cover of this book is definitely what reeled me in, and Burden hits the ground running with jokes about her flatulent grandmother and her jet-setting absentee mother.

    Although the book definitely has its witty moments, the jokes and the incessant effort to make a bad situation funny become tiresome after awhile. I also wonder at the accuracy of certain parts of the memoir. Nobody I know remembers this much about their childhood! I think I was hoping for more of the Vanderbilt family backstory, not just how messed up Burden's parents and grandparents were. Certain stories in the memoir that were supposed to make me chuckle simply made me cringe or shake my head. Needless to say, this one fell flat for me. If you want a truly funny memoir, check out Burroughs instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Waste of Time/Money

    Disappointing - Betrayal of Author's family secrets

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I just finished this book and thought it was great. She has an excellent writing style, funny, irreverent, and interesting. This first chapter gets a little bogged down as she details her relation to the Vanderbilts but after that, really engaging and I was sorry when it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I enjoyed the book although it wasn't what I expected. I did fi

    I enjoyed the book although it wasn't what I expected. I did find it
    extremely disappointing that the pictures from the book I looked at were
    not available in the nook version. It makes me less and less inclined
    to use the nook for books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Gabriella

    Im back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Sorry, I just couldn't manage to get through it...

    My mom and I purchased this book at the recommendation of a friend. There are a few humorous scenes, but overall, I couldn't stay with it. I don't think my mom finished it either. With 100 pages to go, it didn't seem to be leading anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    ST RIP PARTY!!!!

    At live first result (involves nook s*x)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Nessa

    Is bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Jjr

    I can jump five feet off the ground

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Greyton

    See post in result six. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Viv

    Where sierra

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    cameron

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Aled

    Howdy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Lilly to tom

    Heyyy u on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Fascinating

    I think this book offers such a unique and interesting perspective on distant and dysfunctional parenting. I loved the insight into the lives of this dynasty and loved her hilarious observations. I actually found myself laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I expected

    After reviewing the last couple of comments I've come to the realization that they must have been done by a friend of the author/or the author themself. I don't know how this book got so much press. I would read Me Talk Pretty One Day or Running with Scissors instead. The writing just wasn't that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Loved this book!

    This book intrigued me from beginning to end. To peek in on a dynasty such as this one was great fun! My hat comes off to Wendy Burden for not following in the footsteps of her brothers. For those who wrote those scathing reviews, lighten up! Or is there a tad of envy blocking your view?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Want to hear more!

    While I admit that the Vanderbilt name made me buy, it's way more than just another Vanderbilt family tome; rather, it's a truly modern take on one of America's most interesting families brought, fast-forward, into our time. I didn't want it to end and actually re-read it immediately upon finishing it the first time just to catch all those things I didn't on my first read. My only criticism is it's way too short AND given the enticing photo on the cover there are NO photos inside when I'm sure they do exist!

    Thanks Wendy for letting me into your world!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4