BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead End in Norvelt (Norvelt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Best Book EVA!

Hi im 11 and i was looking for a fun, humorous book. This is just what i was looking for! This book was recommended by tons of my friends and teachers and i want to spread the word!!!!!! I recommend this book to everyone no matter what age!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Quirky, Odd, and Fun

The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the w...
The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the way they let their son get into trouble when it was their fault and not his own - that was really bothersome that it never changed. The plot was where the problem was with this story. Because everything is about the oddity of the town and the people living in it, the plot.which I didn't even really realize was there till the end.was buried underneath everything else. The story moves around without much rhyme or reason and the characters do not show any growth or change or any intentions of doing anything differently. While it had fun parts to read, there was nothing to walk away from this book with.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Qol Qol

    Great book love it!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome awesome A w e s o m e awesomr awesome A W E S O M E awesome awesome tottaly

    Beast book funny

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Good book

    There are certain books that are so good that i have to read them twice. This is one of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Jack Gantos lives in a small town of Norvelt in southwestern Pen

    Jack Gantos lives in a small town of Norvelt in southwestern Pennsylvania. His small utopian town is disappearing in front of his eyes.
    After shooting a rifle on accident he was grounded for the summer. All he does is build a bomb shelter and read history books, until he gets an awkward job, writing obituaries for Miss Volker, his neighbor.
    Now with an excuse to get out of the house, Jack visits Miss Volker almost every day.
    One day a big change happens. The cops do an autopsy on one of the cadavers and found it full poison. People start to accuse each other and the old Norvelt trust is broken. Not being able to do anything Jack tries to help Miss Volker with her obituaries. Will Norvelt return to its “golden age” of happiness?
    I think this book was okay. It was kind of dull but had some better sections through out it. It was very amusing to see Jack handle the situation he was in. the book was a great mystery novel to read to the class or by yourself. Anyone who enjoys mysteries and has a good reading skill should read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Awesome

    About a month ago jack gantos came to my school and he signed my book. I am on chapter 3and I am loveing
    ng it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Terrible book

    How did you even get an award for this crap? I wouldn't wipe my backside with this book. I always thought there was no such thing as a bad book, then I read yours. Did you get your writing degree from a group of preschoolers? Whoever said this book was "awesome" or "incrediable read" lied. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    PHENOMENAL Book!

    "Dead End In Norvelt" is one of the best books I've ever read. Jack Gantos is the BOMB! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved this book. My son (12) and I both read this book and we c

    Loved this book. My son (12) and I both read this book and we chuckled alot. The characters were fun and we learned a few interesting historical facts along the way. We will definitely be reading other books by Jack Gantos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    WOW what a awesome book. A MUST BUY

    You should definitely buy this because I love it. If you like it or not, just please read at least some because it is very good book that me and my family all love. :)!!!! Peace out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great book

    I Love it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    On of the best books i have ever read...adefinitly would read it about hree ti four times...bt the bad thibg anout that is that yoy know what is coming and it wnot suprise you and that is the best thig about this book it suprises u wen dot expect it

    This book was kinda weird because Ms.Volker finds dead people and then has Jack go into the houses and see if they are dead and if thy are then Ms.Volker takes the body and writes about how they died.But other wise it was a good book... but one of the things that kinda scred me was tht the Hells Angels.were like looking at jack and his bestfriend and saying that he was gonna kill them and set there house on fire...and i can not belive that he got groubded for the whole summer when he did not even load his dads gun.The other thibg that was weird is that Ms.Volker soaks her hands in HOT wax theb has to tear the skin off with her nouth.The thing is that now hi nose does not bleed anymore.The dad also is buildibg a bom shelter and a runway for the plane he built abdbit sounds like so much fun to do the water baloon thibg fro the pkane.If you like mysterys then this is the book...if yiu like weird things THIS is the biok...butmy opinion is i love it i wiukd read it again.!!!!!!! ! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!-Morgan Arnold/11years old

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Awesome

    My teacher is reading this book to the class and everyone loves it it has moments that keep you on the end of your seat. we are about half way through an i love it i may even go out and buy a copy for my self to read again after our class finishes it. I give it five stars. I recemend buying this book you wont regreat it i swear

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Best book ever

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Dead end in norvelt

    Even though this book isnt rrally mr itd likr so totaaly good like oh cheese like oh yes i finally found a book that i can understand ir a book that ii finally like i kind of hate reading no matter what no offendr to my kanguage arts and reading teacher but i hate reading. Its like so totally wierand now i pretty much love reading because of this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    helllooo

    my milkshake brings to tge boys to the yard

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    School

    I like near Norvelt and in May 2012 Jack Gantos came to our school.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Epic

    Great book! Im 12 and its the best

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Not the best book ever.

    I have 30 pages left and i still find it boring. It seems more like a book for a boy not a girl. People should at least try the sample because everyone has different tastes. This book was an easy read and good for easy summer reading if you are an advanced reader like me. I read the harry potter seiries which makes rhis book seem less enjoyable to me but maybe not for you.
    Hug and bugs too,
    anonumous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Good book for teens

    Kids will love these books. (Don't read it if your 13!jeez)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great

    The book was great!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6