Customer Reviews for

Dead End in Norvelt (Norvelt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Best Book EVA!

Hi im 11 and i was looking for a fun, humorous book. This is just what i was looking for! This book was recommended by tons of my friends and teachers and i want to spread the word!!!!!! I recommend this book to everyone no matter what age!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Quirky, Odd, and Fun

The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the w...
The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the way they let their son get into trouble when it was their fault and not his own - that was really bothersome that it never changed. The plot was where the problem was with this story. Because everything is about the oddity of the town and the people living in it, the plot.which I didn't even really realize was there till the end.was buried underneath everything else. The story moves around without much rhyme or reason and the characters do not show any growth or change or any intentions of doing anything differently. While it had fun parts to read, there was nothing to walk away from this book with.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Best Book EVA!

    Hi im 11 and i was looking for a fun, humorous book. This is just what i was looking for! This book was recommended by tons of my friends and teachers and i want to spread the word!!!!!! I recommend this book to everyone no matter what age!!!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I live near Norvelt, and my mom has told me all about the Eleanor Roosevelt story! Everything I know ties into this book! I would HIGHLY reccomend this book! I couldn't put it down! :)

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A must read

    I found the subject interesting even though I am 50. Which is not the target audience for this book.

    It held my attention and kept me reading even if I only had 20 minutes available.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    A good read for all ages!!!!!!

    I just started a new year at school and over the summer i had to read, Dead End in Norvelt for the book-report due on the first day of school. It sounded like a book that wouldn't be my cup of tea, but after reading the first few chapters, i stood uncorrected! Its filled with drama,humor,a big mystery,and other things that i don't want to spoil!! So if you belive me,than mabey try the free sample first and if you like it,then get the full book!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Another great read by Jack Gantos

    Being a middle school librarian, I would highly recommend this story to those students who like realistic fiction. Students who struggle with reading and possibly behavior issues, will like this novel since it is about a middle-school boy, Jack Gantos, who gets into trouble in the quirky town of Norvelt. The characters are odd, unusual, and funny. This is a book to be read just for the fun of it, like all of his other books. Don't take yourself too seriously when you read this story! Boys who are not huge sci fi or fantasy fans will particularly be drawn to Jack. There are lots of twists and turns in the plot but the ending is satisfying even if it is expected.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky, Odd, and Fun

    The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the way they let their son get into trouble when it was their fault and not his own - that was really bothersome that it never changed. The plot was where the problem was with this story. Because everything is about the oddity of the town and the people living in it, the plot.which I didn't even really realize was there till the end.was buried underneath everything else. The story moves around without much rhyme or reason and the characters do not show any growth or change or any intentions of doing anything differently. While it had fun parts to read, there was nothing to walk away from this book with.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Incredible book

    This amazing book is about a boy named Jack Gantos and his nose bleeds when he is scared,happy,nervous,or lying.His dad tells him to mow down his mom's cornfield that is for people that can't make food for themselves.So he gets grounded for the entire summer.The person who writes obituaries for the newspaper,Miss Volker, and she can't write anymore.So he does it for her.That summer a hells angel comes and curses the town.Everybody starts dying.Is it because of the curse?Read to find out. A great book!The cool part is the author is Jack Gantos and he had the nose bleed problem,too!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Dead end in Norvelt

    Awesome book.good for ages between 9-14.lol in some parts.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Bad

    Bad book all over the place. I did not like it and i'm 13

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Loved it

    I read it and loved it, but im not sure why, it ended after 200 pages. I know its just a problem with my nook but up until that, EPIC

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Norvelt

    I finished it, but can not believe it was a Newberry winner. Too political and easily predictable!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Newbery Award Winner

    Come on. It won the Newbery Award.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Hilarious

    An amazing read!Jack is a very relatable character and the story is VERY creative!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    WORST BOOK IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLD

    This is a dumb book about a dumb kid who likes to stick his bloody nose into books and sniff the inside. IF YOU HAVE MORE THAN 2 BRAINCELLS, DO NOT BUY!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Kat here

    Best book ever

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I HATED IT WORST EVER

    I HEAED THE BOOK THE BOOK WAS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CONFUSING!?!?!?!?!?

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Very Good No Matter What Age You Are!!!

    Im 11 and i had to read this book for school, at first i thought it was really boring, but as i started to get into it, it was really good. This book is really funny, yet creepy. So i recomend this book for any age.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Nice

    I reallvy liked the book and ithino that jack gantos is an amazing writer

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Stinks

    Horrible book i stopped after 5 chapters

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Awsome

    This is the best book ever!!!!! Make a sequal please!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6