Customer Reviews for

Dead End in Norvelt (Norvelt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Best Book EVA!

Hi im 11 and i was looking for a fun, humorous book. This is just what i was looking for! This book was recommended by tons of my friends and teachers and i want to spread the word!!!!!! I recommend this book to everyone no matter what age!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Quirky, Odd, and Fun

The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the w...
The weird just got weirder. The quirkiness and oddities of the town Jack is living in makes for some fun bits and pieces. Not one of the characters is dull or mundane, everyone is eccentric and interesting. At times I felt that his parents were horrible people for the way they let their son get into trouble when it was their fault and not his own - that was really bothersome that it never changed. The plot was where the problem was with this story. Because everything is about the oddity of the town and the people living in it, the plot.which I didn't even really realize was there till the end.was buried underneath everything else. The story moves around without much rhyme or reason and the characters do not show any growth or change or any intentions of doing anything differently. While it had fun parts to read, there was nothing to walk away from this book with.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Incredible book

    This amazing book is about a boy named Jack Gantos and his nose bleeds when he is scared,happy,nervous,or lying.His dad tells him to mow down his mom's cornfield that is for people that can't make food for themselves.So he gets grounded for the entire summer.The person who writes obituaries for the newspaper,Miss Volker, and she can't write anymore.So he does it for her.That summer a hells angel comes and curses the town.Everybody starts dying.Is it because of the curse?Read to find out. A great book!The cool part is the author is Jack Gantos and he had the nose bleed problem,too!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Dead end in Norvelt

    Awesome book.good for ages between 9-14.lol in some parts.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Newbery Award Winner

    Come on. It won the Newbery Award.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Nice

    I reallvy liked the book and ithino that jack gantos is an amazing writer

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great book

    I Love it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Best book ever

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    School

    I like near Norvelt and in May 2012 Jack Gantos came to our school.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Bettr as it goes on

    I had to read this for ELA class and had to read a chapter a night. At the beginning I thought it was boring and stupid but by the end I was reading probably five chapters a night! I stayed up till 11:30 last night trying to finish. Definitley pick up this book it has some very good lessons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    In the Book Dead End At Norvelt By: Jack Gantos  Young Jack Gant

    In the Book Dead End At Norvelt By: Jack Gantos  Young Jack Gantos lives in Norvelt Pennsylvania in a suburban house with his Mom and Dad. Jack Has just started his summer vacation when he is grounded for LIFE because of some mishaps  with a  bomb shelter and a gun. Jack has only one way of getting out of his bedroom and that to help his odd old neighbor miss Volker type obituaries for all kinds of different people from a Hells Angel bikers to people that helped found the town of norvelt. Along his journeys he finds a cure for his constant bloody noses,Learns more about his town history, how Norvelt connects with Mrs Roosevelt and he even might encounter a Murder! Not to mention he doesn't know if he will every get ungrounded.The length of the book is average with 341 pages and the difficulty is easy. The Genre of the book is realistic fiction








     I really enjoyed this book because it had a lot of surprising events that I was not expecting and at some points I found myself taking to the book often saying ‘no don’t do that’ or ‘that's weird’ I haven't done this in a long time and I found it enjoyable. The only down side to this book if there was one is at some points the Author kind of rambles on about things in the book that don’t really matter which is annoying but it doesn't happen often and I still liked the book.




    The main characters were truly unique and different from each other,Jack is the main character ,a young teenage boy thats has nose bleed problems and  is really just trying to find his way in life. His Mom is a bit of a control freak that wants everything to go her way and was often the one to punish Jack. His dad is more laid back but is very patriotic and quick to judge people often just agreeing with jacks moms. His crazy neighbor Miss Volker is well crazy with arthritis   in her hands and the need to type obituaries for the dead in norvelt she sees jerry as the the perfect help. 




    A theme in this book could be neighborliness because Jack helps his neighbor with the most odd and unusual jobs. Jack learns a lot about his town when he helps his neighbor and he actually enjoys it once he gets into it. I think Jack Gantos the author really connects to the reader because most of us have been grounded before and have had to help a person we really didn’t want to but learned a lesson once we were done. He shows this excellently through jack the character.




     I really liked the book overall it was a fun read and although it was not a great book it would never let me be bored for too long before it snapped me back. If you are looking for an easy read and a good story this is the book for you.         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    abigailparker0123123@gmail.com

    Add me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1