Customer Reviews for

Dead Even

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You Won't Stop

Warning: do not read this book if you have anything else to do¿ You will not be able to put this book down. You will read from page 1 to the end without stopping. You will sleep wondering if Oscar Rafferty plans of follow through with his threat to kill Jared¿s wife if ...
Warning: do not read this book if you have anything else to do¿ You will not be able to put this book down. You will read from page 1 to the end without stopping. You will sleep wondering if Oscar Rafferty plans of follow through with his threat to kill Jared¿s wife if Jared does not get Rafferty¿s dirty criminal acquitted. You will dream about the dead criminal whose finger prints are found at the scene of Sarah¿s grandfather¿s death and, whether or not he plans to peruse his threat of killing Jared if Sarah does not convict. You will eat thinking about how Sarah plans to keep her job and her husband¿s life intact. You will bite your nails wondering if their marriage can survive the strain of each trying to win the case, and trying to keep each other alive. As the story unfolds you will find yourself more and more into the story line and wondering who will come out of this lethal story alive. Getting to know the characters and the suspense of their lives being in jeopardy, will reel you in. By the end of the novel you will be begging Sarah and Jared to tell each other their predicament, and to escape the country as soon as they can. You will be left wondering if Jared betrays his loving wife for the dark side (the criminal side) or if Sarah betrays her husband by breaking the law and going through his case information. You won't be able to put the thought away that maybe the two end up killing each other in the battle to save each other. I absolutely loved this novel. The brilliance of Brad Meltzer keeping the readers attention on every page truly shows through. You WILL NOT put the book down, no matter what you have to do consequently getting nothing done, other than the reading of this fabulous novel. As the tale unfolds and you get a grip on what influence each character has on another, your mind will be blown away. Discovering that the coincidences are actually NOT coincidences will rattle your every bone. I enjoyed every aspect of this novel, and did not once want to put it down. His intelligence and unique writing make this book very interesting and fun to read. I certainly plan to read all of Meltzer¿s novels.

posted by Anonymous on October 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What am I missing?

Highly preposterous. This story is completely unbelievable. Every turn throughout the book seems to betray any type of legal education that Meltzer has. Both main characters are entirely unlikable and hard to root for in both of their selfish desire to climb their la...
Highly preposterous. This story is completely unbelievable. Every turn throughout the book seems to betray any type of legal education that Meltzer has. Both main characters are entirely unlikable and hard to root for in both of their selfish desire to climb their ladder and/or save themselves, despite threats on their blessed loved one's lives. Excessively formulaic and highly predictable, Guff is the only saving grace in the whole book, even if his schtick does get old by the end. And the end gets even worse. Save your time and read something else.

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    You Won't Stop

    Warning: do not read this book if you have anything else to do¿ You will not be able to put this book down. You will read from page 1 to the end without stopping. You will sleep wondering if Oscar Rafferty plans of follow through with his threat to kill Jared¿s wife if Jared does not get Rafferty¿s dirty criminal acquitted. You will dream about the dead criminal whose finger prints are found at the scene of Sarah¿s grandfather¿s death and, whether or not he plans to peruse his threat of killing Jared if Sarah does not convict. You will eat thinking about how Sarah plans to keep her job and her husband¿s life intact. You will bite your nails wondering if their marriage can survive the strain of each trying to win the case, and trying to keep each other alive. As the story unfolds you will find yourself more and more into the story line and wondering who will come out of this lethal story alive. Getting to know the characters and the suspense of their lives being in jeopardy, will reel you in. By the end of the novel you will be begging Sarah and Jared to tell each other their predicament, and to escape the country as soon as they can. You will be left wondering if Jared betrays his loving wife for the dark side (the criminal side) or if Sarah betrays her husband by breaking the law and going through his case information. You won't be able to put the thought away that maybe the two end up killing each other in the battle to save each other. I absolutely loved this novel. The brilliance of Brad Meltzer keeping the readers attention on every page truly shows through. You WILL NOT put the book down, no matter what you have to do consequently getting nothing done, other than the reading of this fabulous novel. As the tale unfolds and you get a grip on what influence each character has on another, your mind will be blown away. Discovering that the coincidences are actually NOT coincidences will rattle your every bone. I enjoyed every aspect of this novel, and did not once want to put it down. His intelligence and unique writing make this book very interesting and fun to read. I certainly plan to read all of Meltzer¿s novels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    kept me spellbound... some of the twist and turns were not typical; I could not see them coming; have read almost all of Brad's books.. this was one of the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great book

    This is an excelent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Ghoststorm

    Ghoststorm is a mysterious tom with unnatural purple eyes. He has a strange ability that allows him to turn invisible and go through walls in the moonlight.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Nighteye

    Can i join? Im a black she cat with a dark grey paw named nighteye

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    C I join

    I am Twistedfoot. My forepaw is complealty twisted all around but the bone isn't broken, only twisted. I can move in but I can never make in untwisted without cripling myself. I am ao bipolar, random, sarcastic, and is funny.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Stormkit

    A grey fluffy tom kit padded in." I'm Stormkit. Could I join?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Crowwings

    Cool

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Silverpetal

    Hi Everyone!! I think you all can join but its up to the leader...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great book, great plot

    the story was great...so were the characters... definetly a must read. only complaint was the use of honey/hun...it was too much...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dead On

    This is the second time that I read this book and I still loved it. The plot though far fetched was never dull. It had numerous twist and turns and when you think you have it figured out everything changes. Kept this book to read again because of only fair reviews and usually donate after second reading unless execeptional. Is now on preorder for paperbacks and am curious how well it will do. Will check reviews the next time I read. Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    Total suspense. keeps you hooked.

    Meltzer is really great plotting this first rate book! I simply had to find out how the ending was going to be. A great writer. Rivals Grisham and equal to Turow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    For better or worse till death we do part.....

    This was a great read ,I couldn't put it down. A great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Another page turner.

    This is the third Brad Meltzer book I have read and not a disappointment in any of them. Plot full of surprise, characters believable, fast paced and I just flew thru this one. I just want to know one thing...when are the authors going to start lawyering like the lawyers are writing????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    Better Than Grisham

    I read this title when it first came out when the publisher sent me a copy and then again recently just because it was so good. I've passed both of Brad's books around to friends and recommended it to many customers making all of them fans who can't wait for Brad's third book. (Brad if you read this e-mail me so I can give you my new location since I recently left the Boston area for sunnier climates.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    Fabulous Writer

    I have read both of Brad Meltzer's books and I must say, they really hold your interest from start to finish...I can hardly wait for his third book to come out! I have passed these two books around to all my friends and relatives and they all agree, he is well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    couldn't put it down

    I'd say this book is better than The Tenth Justice. It was amazingly suspenseful and the plot was going everywhere but where you thought it would go. You are shocked and surprised in every chapter. Very entertaining. Well worth my time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2