Customer Reviews for

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 1203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(195)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(382)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, lea...
Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

posted by Sailon on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

231 out of 256 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS! I think we all know now why Harris won't be tourin

SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor ...
SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor execution of the HEA.




I think one other reviewer summed it up best when she noted: "It's too bad Harris didn't care as much about her characters as her fans did." As many others have noted, the writing had declined over the past few books, but I had held out hope that Harris would put out her best efforts into the final volume, the conclusion to Sookie's beloved and long-running saga. Alas.




It took 14-15 years and 13 books to have Sookie come full-circle, albeit bearing considerable physical and emotional scarring from her adventures? Is Sookie any better off now than she was in the beginning? No, definitely she is worse off. She's settled for second-best in her love life and hasn't expanded her life circle much at all. I can appreciate that someone like Sookie prefers the simple things in life, but at the same time, the supes opened up her world to so many more exciting possibilities than had ever existed for her previously (and she says as much, notably to Sam, in the 8th or 9th book). At the end of her journey of self-discovery, she's in the same place, having rejected what all along has been painted as something that energized and completed Sookie.




I strongly favored Eric-Sookie, but I could have been happier with the actual resolution if Harris had painted Sam as a convincing alternative all along. While the reader has sensed throughout the series that Sam had interest in Sookie, she has never thought of him as anything other than boss and friend. I also think it's unfortunate that Harris opted to have Sookie TELL the reader about her friendship and bonds with Sam far more often than she SHOWED it in the previous 12 books.




All of Harris's writing energy went into the larger-than-life character and fan favorite, Eric. And, in the end, she thumbed her nose at the vast majority of her fans and gave Eric a terrible ending, truly assassinating his character in a way I would never have dreamed possible. If Harris and I were having iced tea around the kitchen table, I'm sure she would tell me that Eric is HER character and that she was entitled to do what she wanted with him and that she understood him best, being his creator. But, I would counter that once a character is shared with others, that character belongs to us all, and thousands of fans (at least 75% of the Sookie fans were Eric/Sookie fans in poll after poll) can't be all wrong. Harris leaves most of her characters in a reasonably happy spot in the end (though I would quibble whether Sookie herself falls into that category). But Eric? Sold into sex slavery for 200 years, forbidden to have any contact with Sookie and exacting jealous vengeance by trying to thwart Sookie and Sam before that ever got underway so that Sookie can't even have fond memories of him? Really? That's the best you could do for the most beloved character you're ever going to create, Ms. Harris? That's your response to the years of devoted readership and loyal following from so many fans? Even if you truly did always intend Sam to be the HEA (and had to insert numerous deux ex machina and create inconsistencies galore and ignore completely much of what's been written in the last 8 or 9 books to get there), why would you leave Eric himself in such a terrible situation? You couldn't get creative and come up with a scenario wherein Eric and Sookie come to some heartfelt recognition that their differences were too great to overcome and have them part on good terms? Eric was the one who "got" Sookie - they shared the same sense of humor and the same exuberance for life, as Bill and others had pointed out and noted. Their relationship had taken books of gradual and sustained build-up. To have it end in such an out-of-character way was sloppy, small-minded and unfair in the extreme. It showed no respect whatsoever for the bulk of your fan-base, and I have no respect for you as an author as a result.




The adage "readers like to be fooled but not deceived or conned or cheated" applies to you too, Ms. Harris. It was not a clever "aha!" twist to suddenly shoehorn Sam into the HEA. It required a good bit of cheating to get there, and doing so at the expense of the best character you're likely to ever create and his legions of fans was certainly not honorable or worthy of you. 

posted by pennyL1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 133 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 4 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    So disappointed..

    SPOILER....I always had a feeling Sookie would end up with Sam, due to the fact that she felt couldn't be with Eric "forever" without being turned, which she didnt want. But as another reviewer said, I am disappointed with how she got there. This story was rediculous. Eric just kind of faded out, without any closure. There was no buildup with Sam, or even a sudden moment of clarity that the one she truly loved was there all along. ANYTHING that would make it more believable. It just read as " We have both made bad partner choices, so why don't we just settle for each other?" ZERO romance there, alot more could have been done with that part of the plot.
    The rest of the story was just a mess. Where the heck is Ms. Harris' editor? Are the readers the only ones that notice the glaring inconsistancies? The whole boring plot felt thrown together, and sloppy. I'm sad Sookie didn't get the fabulous ending she deserved. And I'm angry that much-loved characters didn't get any story time or closure. This book would be scrapped and started over if I had my way. Could have been done so much better. I'll miss ya Sookie:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Ugh.

    Well, got my hopes up and was let down big time. I understand wanting to get back to normal, but damn, this was bad. Ms. Harris truly gave up on Sookie and the series. There was no passion or fire at any point in this book. It just fell flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Slow read

    Hated that this book was just as bad as the last two. Don't like the ending. She should have combined books 10-13 and cut out all the fluff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Had I not been reading it on my Nook I would have thrown this bo

    Had I not been reading it on my Nook I would have thrown this book at the wall.




    The 13th and final Sookie Stackhouse novel was a complete disappointment. Character choices make no sense. Continuity has left the building.




     




    Now – if you haven’t read the book and don’t want spoilers I suggest you stop reading now.




     




    I usually try to do spoiler free reviews but in this instance I can not explain my profound disappointment in this book without spoiling.




     




     




     




     




    Sookie Loves Eric. Eric loves Sookie. Unless we have entered an alternate dimension it makes absolutely no sense for her to end up with Sam. He is a nice enough guy but he is not her endgame.




    Charlaine Harris has spent the last 11 books developing a relationship between Sookie and Eric that is complex and interesting and real. And as a reader I became deeply invested in this relationship.




    So when in this last book she decides to for some inexplicable reason turn Eric into some 2 dimensional stereotype of the vampires she created it pissed me off. Abandoning the relationship she had crafted in favor of a cop out pissed me off.




    I think Ms. Harris got to a point about ½ way through book 12 when she started thinking “hmm – how do I give Eric and Sookie a happy ending?”




    That is her first error. We don’t need a Happily-Ever-After. Human/fairy in love with a Vampire – it is complicated. We get that.




    I think she got hung up on having to neatly tie it all up. Does Sookie become a vampire? Does Eric somehow become human? Do they both become trolls? There are a lot of options.




    My theory is that she copped-out. She couldn’t decide which way to go with them so she chickened out and decided to go with a safe option. A nice much more human compatible shifter. Someone she can grow old with and die with and have little furry babies with.




    Completely ignoring the fact that it makes no sense. Let’s just have Sookie raise him from the dead and that will magically also turn him into the perfect man for her.




    But Ms. Harris really underestimated her readers with this one.




    We didn’t need that perfect ending – just an ending where Eric and Sookie are together muddling through it like the rest of us.




    And what is with the Fairy Claude revenge plot line? Either he is really smart and conniving or he isn’t. You can’t have it both ways. Either way the sheer elaborateness of  it makes no sense for his endgame – a dead Sookie.




    Then let’s parade through a whole bunch of characters for no real reason. I like a weretiger as much as the next girl – but what purpose did he serve?




    Then we get back to the continuity issues. A full list could be a book. One of the most obvious being that suddenly Sookie can’t hear Shifter or Were thoughts. In the past Sam could actively block her but she could still hear them clearly if he wasn’t. Now suddenly they are just fuzzy abstract concepts.




    I am just one voice being added to the many – but I almost wish I hadn’t read it at all. Like many readers I had overlooked the minor continuity issues and occasional weak story or character - because the sum of the parts was worth it.




    No more.




    I despise the book most for essentially castrating Eric. She stripped the character of every bit of emotional depth and complexity and humanity she had built.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    it was okay

    Not as exciting as I thought it would be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was just ok .

    I have been a huge fan of this series and have read most of the books multiple times. I started the series long before the TV series. The worst problem I have with the final book is that is was totally predictable.

    The book was short, I think under 300 pages and I also felt perhaps Charlaine Harris rushed through the book, to get the series over with. I truly cared about these characters. I think she was just done with it all. Too many characters making cameo appearances. I really wanted to love this book, but I didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Wow

    Don't waste your money. Borrow it from the library if you want to know how it ends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Possible spoiler alert,not sure

    A little bit of a disappointing ending to a great series. It all wrapped up in a very pretty bow, but I have trouble believing Sookie is getting her happy ending. It all felt a little phony to me. But I am also the person who thought Harry Potter should have died (not that I wanted him too). I am glad that Harris was able to end the series exactly the way she always wanted to despite her fans, her popularity and the tv show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    After reading other reviews..

    I currently own ten of the true blood series its been some time since I read them but what I remember I loved..but given the last few books reviews I'm very sorry to say I won't be reading any further
    I'm normally a " read it and review it for yourself " kinda girl however even in the last installment I read I found she repeated herself often and at one point I got really annoyed !! Not to mention $ 9:99 per book? Don't get me wrong I paid whatever it cost when I could afford it however times have changed ( at lest for me)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I love this beautiful limited edition. But it arrived with sever

    I love this beautiful limited edition. But it arrived with severely damaged binding inside the cover on both sides, completely removing any future value or collectability of this edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Basic

    The series had to end (and really could not have ended any other way)but seemed rushed and shallow, it was wrapped up one two three and that was it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Charlaine Should Have Stopped Two Books Ago

    I am still an avid fan of Sookie Stackhouse as she was before the HBO series came out. Something happened to Charlaine's writing style and plot development after that...characters got narrower and less developed like they were putting in time, compared to the vibrant, surprising and sometimes hilarious people they were earlier.

    I think it was a good idea for her to bring this series to a conclusion. Her writing in the Harper Connelly and Aurora Teagarden series are a delight to look into.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Predictable, Laborious Ending

    I am a true fan of the book series and of True Blood. However I was disappointed by the last book. Harris felt the need to reintroduce nearly every character from the entire series in this last installment and the result is tedious and a bit predictable. I figured out who Sookie would end up with several books ago and I kept hoping that I was wrong. I wanted to see a little more imagination with plotting and the ending of the series. The writing for the HBO series has become more interesting and surprising than Ms. Harris'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    So disappointed with her ending and writing. I have invested so

    So disappointed with her ending and writing. I have invested so many years into her books and I feel kind of robbed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    not what I expected

    The style in which the book was written did not match the other books. It was like someone else wrote it. Also, the flow was not consistent either. The ending while it told us what happens with all of the main characters was not a very satisfying ending for those who have been reading the books since the beginning. Very big let down. Should have ended it at 12 like it was going to initially. I will not say anything further as not to spoil any of the plot points... I have read most of Harris' other series of books as well... all of them are excellent. This book just was not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    At least it's over

    First, I would like to say that in the past I have really enjoyed this series. I thought the story and the characters were fun and I looked forward to each installment. However, my love affair with Sookie’s world began to diminish at book 10 (Dead in the Family). The books got worse and worse. I felt as though Sookie’s character had changed, she just didn’t read right in my head. I held out hope that maybe the story would be pulled around to something more redeeming than the previous three books. I was wrong.
    First, Sookie is being targeted by someone she knows though the characters motivations for going after her, to me, seemed way off base and contrived simply to have a villain. I didn’t believe for a moment the motivations supposedly pushing this character.
    Second, after Sookie is charged with murder many of her friends from the past come to offer her support. I didn’t feel they added anything to the story, not really. I guess this was the author’s way of letting her readers say good-bye to once important characters. I wasn’t moved if that was the case.
    Third, in the last 17 pages it is revealed that there was more than another person after Sookie, bum bum buuuuum, and she’s been kidnapped…which is resolved within 8 pages. This whole scene felt unnecessary and a waste of energy. There wasn’t any life changing reveal it was just pointless.
    I had hope for more from this final installment but I didn’t expect it. The only reason I’m giving this two stars instead of one is simply because I enjoyed the first nine books so very much and I feel like being kind out of nostalgia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Don't waste your money

    Disappointed in the book. It's like a different writer did the final book. Not worth the cost. Don't waste your money. I wished I didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Since the writing keeps getting worse, I'm glad it's finally over

    I will try to be critical without writing any spoilers.

    The last three novels have gone down in quality (and length) significantly. This last one is odd because it starts with a different format. Instead of the voice of Sookie, we are given snippets of storyline from other characters elsewhere in the world (USA, not Fairie, etc). Of course, all of these characters have decided that Sookie is the cause of all of their woes, and therefore, Sookie must pay. Then we hear from Sookie, who is back at home, wishing for a normal life, dealing with Eric, dealing with the side effects of the Cluviel Dor, and hearing her biological clock ticking very loudly. In the span of 200-ish pages, we get not one but TWO diabolical plots against Sookie, and her sorting through all her emotional turmoil with all her friends and loved ones--Sam, Eric, Bill, Amelia, Alcide, Quinn...in fact when the epitomal moment comes, and she realizes who she is going to be with, it happens so fast and with such little self-reflection (which is rather unlike Sookie) that I actually FLIPPED BACK SEVERAL PAGES TO REREAD CAUSE I THOUGHT I MISSED SOMETHING. It just comes out of nowhere! I suppose Ms. Harris thought it would be interesting to end the series by having every single not-finally-dead character make an appearance, but it ended up feeling rushed and sloppy. I've followed the Sookie books all the way through, and Ms. Harris has written some very enjoyable books with solid plots (and more pages), but I feel like last three just had the life sucked out of them (pun intended). I mean, if you're a fan, you probably have to read it, but wait for the library book rather than paying for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Sad ending for everyone

    Reading Sookie's adventures these past years have been an absolute delight. Some books were better than others, I enjoyed some story lines better, but I always enjoyed reading what Sookie and the crew were up to. The ending to this series was so disappointing, it was a shock. After reading Charlaine Harris on different sites, I was aware she was tired of writing the Sookie books, and wanted it to end. You could tell. She butchered the characters, and gave them all endings that went against all the years she sat and built them up. This isn't about who Sookie ended up with either. That was fine, but geeze, do you think she could have built it up a bit instead of one or two quick scenes that read like a cheap skin flick? Eric? Sad and butchered. Other characters? Really, nowhere to be found, and the characters that were in this book were ones I never really liked to begin with. The story line was poor, there was no heart in the story, and Sookie felt hollow. Never in a million years did I think I would write a review like this, I just wanted to read a Sookie book. I feel sad that you could tell Charlaine Harris was tired of writing Sookie in this final chapter. I think her fans deserved a bit better to be honest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    A disappointment

    This series has been going downhill--too much about vampire governance (and administrative details that have to be retained from one volume to another) and not enough about relationships. This felt perfunctory, even in what were supposed to be important scenes. Alas, it made me relieved that the series was finished. I hope Charlaine Harris gets excited about another series soon. She's good at desire and humor and a humanized South--we need more of all of these.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 133 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 4 of 7