BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 1193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(327)

4 Star

(193)

3 Star

(160)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(381)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, lea...
Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

posted by Sailon on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

229 out of 254 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS! I think we all know now why Harris won't be tourin

SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor ...
SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor execution of the HEA.




I think one other reviewer summed it up best when she noted: "It's too bad Harris didn't care as much about her characters as her fans did." As many others have noted, the writing had declined over the past few books, but I had held out hope that Harris would put out her best efforts into the final volume, the conclusion to Sookie's beloved and long-running saga. Alas.




It took 14-15 years and 13 books to have Sookie come full-circle, albeit bearing considerable physical and emotional scarring from her adventures? Is Sookie any better off now than she was in the beginning? No, definitely she is worse off. She's settled for second-best in her love life and hasn't expanded her life circle much at all. I can appreciate that someone like Sookie prefers the simple things in life, but at the same time, the supes opened up her world to so many more exciting possibilities than had ever existed for her previously (and she says as much, notably to Sam, in the 8th or 9th book). At the end of her journey of self-discovery, she's in the same place, having rejected what all along has been painted as something that energized and completed Sookie.




I strongly favored Eric-Sookie, but I could have been happier with the actual resolution if Harris had painted Sam as a convincing alternative all along. While the reader has sensed throughout the series that Sam had interest in Sookie, she has never thought of him as anything other than boss and friend. I also think it's unfortunate that Harris opted to have Sookie TELL the reader about her friendship and bonds with Sam far more often than she SHOWED it in the previous 12 books.




All of Harris's writing energy went into the larger-than-life character and fan favorite, Eric. And, in the end, she thumbed her nose at the vast majority of her fans and gave Eric a terrible ending, truly assassinating his character in a way I would never have dreamed possible. If Harris and I were having iced tea around the kitchen table, I'm sure she would tell me that Eric is HER character and that she was entitled to do what she wanted with him and that she understood him best, being his creator. But, I would counter that once a character is shared with others, that character belongs to us all, and thousands of fans (at least 75% of the Sookie fans were Eric/Sookie fans in poll after poll) can't be all wrong. Harris leaves most of her characters in a reasonably happy spot in the end (though I would quibble whether Sookie herself falls into that category). But Eric? Sold into sex slavery for 200 years, forbidden to have any contact with Sookie and exacting jealous vengeance by trying to thwart Sookie and Sam before that ever got underway so that Sookie can't even have fond memories of him? Really? That's the best you could do for the most beloved character you're ever going to create, Ms. Harris? That's your response to the years of devoted readership and loyal following from so many fans? Even if you truly did always intend Sam to be the HEA (and had to insert numerous deux ex machina and create inconsistencies galore and ignore completely much of what's been written in the last 8 or 9 books to get there), why would you leave Eric himself in such a terrible situation? You couldn't get creative and come up with a scenario wherein Eric and Sookie come to some heartfelt recognition that their differences were too great to overcome and have them part on good terms? Eric was the one who "got" Sookie - they shared the same sense of humor and the same exuberance for life, as Bill and others had pointed out and noted. Their relationship had taken books of gradual and sustained build-up. To have it end in such an out-of-character way was sloppy, small-minded and unfair in the extreme. It showed no respect whatsoever for the bulk of your fan-base, and I have no respect for you as an author as a result.




The adage "readers like to be fooled but not deceived or conned or cheated" applies to you too, Ms. Harris. It was not a clever "aha!" twist to suddenly shoehorn Sam into the HEA. It required a good bit of cheating to get there, and doing so at the expense of the best character you're likely to ever create and his legions of fans was certainly not honorable or worthy of you. 

posted by pennyL1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

    Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

    Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

    Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

    To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

    Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

    I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

    38 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Why so negative?

    SPOILER ALERT

    Everyone on here seems to hate the ending to this series, but i love it. Yes, Eric gets dropped-but was Eric ever really going to be happy with the quiet life? I think its clear that he just wanted to turn Sookie-that is stated several times. And CH always said that she wouldnt allow Sookie to be turned. Eric chose power over love, which is not a big surprise. I'll admit, I've had a Sam crush for quite a while, so maybe I'm biased. I did not feel that this book was poorly written, or even rushed- at least no more than mosr of the other books have been. I DO feel like Sookie has too many enemies, but that isnt anything new either. I wish that the book had been longer, but thats just because I will miss these books. It was a good end to the series, and a nice beginning to Sookies more peaceful life.

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Last Sookie book

    What vicious creatures are so-called fans! Eric stayed in character, as did Sam, as did Sookie. What a bunch of tantruming babies, because they didn't get the ending they wanted. How many people conveniently ignored Eric's basic nature...no, he was not out of character. SPOILER: If you remember back to the beginning as you claim to, you know that Sookie wanted nothing more than peace in her head and in her life, and love. And thats what she ended up with. SMH at these hurtful, vicious ex-fans.

    18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Ending seemed completely appropriate....

    I really enjoyed the book, and think the series ended the only way that made any sense. Book Eric stayed true to book Eric.

    I love the Skarsgard version of Eric as much as anyone. He is awyesome! And on the show the character has evolved differently than in the books... Book Eric did not have the attachment to his maker...that had such an impact on TB Eric... He and Pam have a deeper relationship... None of that applies to the books. Book Eric is still a favorite--but is open about putting himself first, always.

    A huge THANK YOU to Charlaine Harris for a really fun ride!

    17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    One of the best book series ever

    :)

    16 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Let me start off by saying that I am a true blue fan of this ser

    Let me start off by saying that I am a true blue fan of this series. I started this book way before True Blood.  I can’t imagine watching True Blood first and then reading the series.  I stopped watching True Blood after season 3 because I thought if drifted too far from the heart and soul of the books. 




    In the 13 books I can honestly tell you I LOVE Charlaine’s storytelling style. I am always sucked right in. I love the down to earth feel in a crazy supernatural world. 
    Some books I loved more than others (4 was my favorite)




     It was a roller coaster from start to finish in every book.   I believe this last book was true and authentic to the Sookie we have come to grow and love.




    This was not Twilight…I never believed Sookie wanted to become a vampire. Even though Eric was my dream Vampire, I never thought that is who she should end up with. I felt like Sam was HOME to Sookie and it was the perfect ending. When I picture her future it will always be in her Grandma’s house in a lounge chair in the sunshine with Sam. I loved it. Thank you Charlaine for staying true to the roots of this series.  

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I feel that the series ended in the only appropriate manner. Any

    I feel that the series ended in the only appropriate manner. Anything else wouldn't have been true to the characters; especially given Sookie's personal growth throughout the books. It is well written (as all of Ms. Harris' books are) and I enjoyed it very much.

    12 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Quit whining, this is an excellent ending to a great series. Bi

    Quit whining, this is an excellent ending to a great series. Bill and Eric both wanted to use Sookie,any feelings they had for her secondary. The weres had pack issues that were more importand than any feelings for Sookie. Sookie ultimately chose herself and that is absolutely the best possible ending for this series. I have enjoyed everything Ms. Harris has written and look forward to her next series.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    It better be good

    I cant wait! Going on a mommy vacation May 7!!!!

    11 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Spoilers included. First let me say that I think it is ridiculou

    Spoilers included. First let me say that I think it is ridiculous to review a book or rate a book you haven't read. By all means pan the book if you hate it, but at least read the whole book first. Secondly yes, the ending did make sense.

     Charlaine Harris has been very clear in interviews and at book signings, that Sookie would NEVER be a vampire. She has also said more than once that Sookie's dash of fairy blood would not extend her lifespan past that of an ordinary human. That being the case, a HEA with Eric or any other vampire for that matter, was not going to happen. The breakup conversation between Sookie and Eric was heartbreaking but realistic. They are very different people with different expectations. The end of the romance was inevitable. Does this make me sad? Yes, of course but Sookie wanted a normal life, marriage, kids. And she absolutely did not want to be a vampire and had said so to Eric in the past. I would like to think that they can be friends in the future, much like she and Bill are.

     Since Sookie can't be with the regular human, I knew her HEA would have to be with a supernatural creature. She has said that she usually only gets moods or intentions from Weres so I figured that was the endgame. For a while, I thought it might be Alcide. I never liked the romance with Quinn. Several books ago, I decided to re read the entire series in succession. I have actually done this more than once. When I did, things became clear to me that surprised me. When Sookie thought she was going to die, had a great burden, She wished she could see Sam. He was very Important to her. They turn to each other in times of trouble. There were also periodic reminders that they were very attracted to each other. Will their relationship last? Sookie didn't know. But she did say that she would survive either way. I hope she gets her happy ever after but I also love that she is strong enough to stand on her own.

     I have loved this series. And I love Charlaine Harris. She is a kind southern lady who was never going to please everyone no matter what she did. With this my favorite book in the series? No, but it did work and I enjoyed my journey with Sookie. As an aside, if becoming a vampire meant that I got to be with Eric forever, sign me up, LOL.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    I am not entirely sure what everyone is having such a fit over.

    I am not entirely sure what everyone is having such a fit over.  I have read this series from the beginning and before True Blood came out and though to me it really didn't have an ending and left it self open if she wanted to write more nothing surprised me.  First of all anyone who read this series who thought Sookie was going to end up with Eric in the end was delusional.  I always assumed there would be an end to that relationship because Sookie is all things light and chooses that and has never made it any different.  Also Eric has made himself clear on numerous occasion whether it was his personality or the "vampire" in him that made him the practical guy that he was. I thought the characters were all in line with what I have come to expect from them. I did think Sookie's and Sam's hookup seemed a bit rushed and my guess that has more to do with this being the "last" book.  It was great for her to learn that she had more support than she thought she had.  I will admit the last few books in the series seem forced or incomplete, and this books seems so as well.  Sam has always been a good friend to Sookie and always was interested.  I am glad to know that Charlaine Harris is doing a book I think it is called After Dead that is set in the future so we actually get to find out what happens to all the characters.  It was a good book and I am sorry to see the series end, but I have read all of Charlaine Harris' books and at least this series had a good run. I have no idea what she will be doing now that all of her series are done.  Over all it was a good book.   

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    LOVED IT. No, it will not please everyone, especially if you are

    LOVED IT. No, it will not please everyone, especially if you are cheering for a specific suitor to be the one to win Sookie's heart. Ms. Harris takes the book in unexpected, but interesting, directions. Although the ending is not what you might expect, it is worth the read.

    The 1 star reviews seems to be focused on two complaints: (1) that Sookie and Eric do not end up together; and (2) the quality of the writing.

    Eric and Sookie do part ways. That shouldn't be a shock to anyone who actually read the last three books. Related to this complaint is the statement that Eric gets little face-time in the last book. Well... they broke up and this is Sookie's story, not Eric's. Also, there is the idea that Eric is portrayed in a negative light. If you are looking for Eric to be the hero, you could squint real hard, cock your head and then decide that he's mistreated. But that's not the case. Eric is classic Eric in the last novel. He's returned to the high-handed, slightly devious but also fair-minded vampire that he was in the beginning of the series. The only disappointment would be if you expect him to suddenly become a different type of vampire- one who is willing to give up everything for love.

    As far as the quality of the writing, it's not any different than in the first 12 books. The supposed disconnect in the plot that "suddenly" leads Sookie to her HEA fella only feels forced if you haven't been paying attention to the subtle hints that Ms. Harris has dropped through-out the series. If you have vampire blinders on, you might have missed it. Eric and Sookie isn't the "epic love story" although there is one here if you've read carefully before now.

    I'd caution anyone to buy into the 1 stars here wholesale. They are more-or-less sour grape reviews because the author didn't write an Eric/Sookie love story they were hoping for- even though it has been apparent since the beginning that wasn't where Ms. Harris is going and it has been solidly evident in the last three books that Sookie and Eric would not stay together happily.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I've read it twice now and still love it! I've been with the ser

    I've read it twice now and still love it! I've been with the series since the first book was released, and this was a wonderful ending that gave Sookie a future full of life.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very good

    Charlaine ended this series by considering what was best for sookie. I think this was very smart and was pleased eith the ending.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I loved it

    Even though some of the books were not her best, I thought this one ended Sookie's story well. I see some of the readers were not happy. You can't please everyone. Well worth the 15 dollars to see how her story ends.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Greatly enjoyed this and it ended in a satisfying way for me.  E

    Greatly enjoyed this and it ended in a satisfying way for me.  Easy read and I felt the characters were very true to who they had been throughout the series.  

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Amazing! I loved how there was always something happening and it

    Amazing! I loved how there was always something happening and it didn't drag on and on. I was surprised several times with things I never expected. The ending was everything I hoped for. I think this book gave a perfect ending for the series. I am glad Sookie chose Sam.  I will truly miss Sookie and all of her friends.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Loved the series and enjoyed the ending in this book.

    I know I have heard that there are quite a few that are unhappy with the way the series ended. But the writing has been on the wall with the break of the blood bond that Sookie had with Eric and the developments with him being promised to another. I do love Eric and enjoyed Sookie with him but if Sookie wasn't going to be turned then they had to end. Sam has been a constant thru out the series so I am surprised in some sense but not surprised in another sense to see it end with them together. I loved how everything got tied up for the most part in this book but I am sad to see the series end. I can't wait to see what Charlaine writes next.

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    TJ

    I almost didn't purchase this final book because of all the negative reviews but when I read the sample on my nook I found myself once again captivated by the world of Sookie Stackhouse. I thought Charlaine Harris did a fine job . She stayed true to all her characters and gave us a chance to say bye to all. Best of all: closure. Thank you Ms. Harris for a fun and wild ride. There will never be another Sookie!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Very satisfying ending to this series! I am saddened that this i

    Very satisfying ending to this series! I am saddened that this is the last Sookie book, but was so happy to see she ened in a great place and on her own two feet!

    7 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17