Customer Reviews for

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 1208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(382)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, lea...
Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

posted by Sailon on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

232 out of 257 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS! I think we all know now why Harris won't be tourin

SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor ...
SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor execution of the HEA.




I think one other reviewer summed it up best when she noted: "It's too bad Harris didn't care as much about her characters as her fans did." As many others have noted, the writing had declined over the past few books, but I had held out hope that Harris would put out her best efforts into the final volume, the conclusion to Sookie's beloved and long-running saga. Alas.




It took 14-15 years and 13 books to have Sookie come full-circle, albeit bearing considerable physical and emotional scarring from her adventures? Is Sookie any better off now than she was in the beginning? No, definitely she is worse off. She's settled for second-best in her love life and hasn't expanded her life circle much at all. I can appreciate that someone like Sookie prefers the simple things in life, but at the same time, the supes opened up her world to so many more exciting possibilities than had ever existed for her previously (and she says as much, notably to Sam, in the 8th or 9th book). At the end of her journey of self-discovery, she's in the same place, having rejected what all along has been painted as something that energized and completed Sookie.




I strongly favored Eric-Sookie, but I could have been happier with the actual resolution if Harris had painted Sam as a convincing alternative all along. While the reader has sensed throughout the series that Sam had interest in Sookie, she has never thought of him as anything other than boss and friend. I also think it's unfortunate that Harris opted to have Sookie TELL the reader about her friendship and bonds with Sam far more often than she SHOWED it in the previous 12 books.




All of Harris's writing energy went into the larger-than-life character and fan favorite, Eric. And, in the end, she thumbed her nose at the vast majority of her fans and gave Eric a terrible ending, truly assassinating his character in a way I would never have dreamed possible. If Harris and I were having iced tea around the kitchen table, I'm sure she would tell me that Eric is HER character and that she was entitled to do what she wanted with him and that she understood him best, being his creator. But, I would counter that once a character is shared with others, that character belongs to us all, and thousands of fans (at least 75% of the Sookie fans were Eric/Sookie fans in poll after poll) can't be all wrong. Harris leaves most of her characters in a reasonably happy spot in the end (though I would quibble whether Sookie herself falls into that category). But Eric? Sold into sex slavery for 200 years, forbidden to have any contact with Sookie and exacting jealous vengeance by trying to thwart Sookie and Sam before that ever got underway so that Sookie can't even have fond memories of him? Really? That's the best you could do for the most beloved character you're ever going to create, Ms. Harris? That's your response to the years of devoted readership and loyal following from so many fans? Even if you truly did always intend Sam to be the HEA (and had to insert numerous deux ex machina and create inconsistencies galore and ignore completely much of what's been written in the last 8 or 9 books to get there), why would you leave Eric himself in such a terrible situation? You couldn't get creative and come up with a scenario wherein Eric and Sookie come to some heartfelt recognition that their differences were too great to overcome and have them part on good terms? Eric was the one who "got" Sookie - they shared the same sense of humor and the same exuberance for life, as Bill and others had pointed out and noted. Their relationship had taken books of gradual and sustained build-up. To have it end in such an out-of-character way was sloppy, small-minded and unfair in the extreme. It showed no respect whatsoever for the bulk of your fan-base, and I have no respect for you as an author as a result.




The adage "readers like to be fooled but not deceived or conned or cheated" applies to you too, Ms. Harris. It was not a clever "aha!" twist to suddenly shoehorn Sam into the HEA. It required a good bit of cheating to get there, and doing so at the expense of the best character you're likely to ever create and his legions of fans was certainly not honorable or worthy of you. 

posted by pennyL1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 332 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    THIS is not an eric book its a sookie book!

    What is wrong with everyone? Mad about erics story? It isnt his story its hers and she never wanted to be a vampire or let a vampire watch her age. She knew damn well that when she was older they would have no use for her. They would see this aging human who becomes more weak and less alive than before. Then what? They stay until she is to old to get out of bed or maybe they will change her adult diapers for her? How many times has she said her life is always in danger because of vampires? Would they be this attrackted to her if she couldnt read minds and be useful or have this small trace of fairy blood that is very very intoxicating? She questioned that before as well. And to end up with bill? Come on thats just stupid. He is now a friend and almost a creepy lurker that has no life. And again he is a vampire. She doesnt want to be one or have one stay with her for her life span until shr dies. She wants someone who can grow old with her and have a family with that is not restricted by the sun. One who doesnt have a pack also and who is free to do what he wants so that rules out werwolves and other were animals. Shifter is a free agent. Harris once said sookie hasnt met her man yet and she was right. Sam died. When he was brought back not from doctors but from another worlds magic that isnt even from this realm brought him back he was a diffrent person. Anyone seen that little movie callee the matrix? And he was told he was not the one by the oracle? He had to die first then he was. Eric had all these vamps and places he had to run and would always be first. Vamp polotics and how vamps think are not like humans and does not fit in her strong view in things. She hates cussing! Who is a strong sun loving ,mind reading, huge hearted, hard working ,loyal to the extreem, food loving,independent, forgiving, christain woman who still after all she has been through and seen hates to take someones life or watch someone die. Yeah that screams made for a vampire right? Oh and if you dont like how eric was written off this book and your also a huge fan of true bloods eric as well, then you will hate the new season that starts this month. Word is eric dies in the 6th episode. You want a happy ending with a vamp then read twilight if you need a more adult vamp book then read nighthuntress by jeaniene frost (the nighthuntress novels are still going so their story isnt done yet) i lovee sookies stories and i loved true bloods completly diffrent twist for the characters. I love not knowing what will happen in the show. Amazing 13 year creation charaine im sad to see sookie leave. Thank you for letting us see this amazing new world. Lets hope true blood stays on a few more years before we have to say goodbye to sookie forever

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    So-so ending to such a great saga!

    I have always been a Sookie Stackhouse fan, but these last couple of novels have really been wasted paper. I wish she would've ended the series four books back! Dead Ever After was no different unfortunately. I just felt that she was going out of her way to make it a mystery which became silly. I guess you have to read it if you've read all the other ones in the series, but if you haven't don't start now!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    It was a great last book to a great series.

    Everything made sense from book 1 to the very last...#13. Sookie ends up with the only man that truely loved her for her. Her foes were defeated and she was triumphant. Well done to say the least.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Not a shocker.

    If you read all the books and remember most of the material Sam was the obvious next step for Sookie. He loved her from the begining and through all the books. Bill was too whiny and Eric too selfish. Sam was the best fit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    A tidy ending to the expansive series! I very much enjoyed the w

    A tidy ending to the expansive series! I very much enjoyed the way Ms. Harris tied up loose ends for so many of the characters I've come to love...and dealt justice to the baddies who had it coming!  Sookie ended up with the right guy, and it didn't come out of left field as some reviewers are claiming. If they were paying attention, they would've realized this was the direction the story was heading for the last few books. So please don't let the haters ruin the experience for you. This was a fitting end to a series I've loved for the last decade.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Nice finish

    Very nice finish to the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    A Pleasant Finale

    Okay, honestly, I am so calm at the close of this novel I'm not sure if I can call this amazing or not. I loved it, however, there are still a few loose ends that could constitute a novella here and there. *silently hopes*

    This is a difficult review to write without spoilers, but I'll do my best.

    [Semi-Spoiler]
    I am exceedingly glad that Sookie and the title did not completely match. It was great to see all the people that cared about Sookie take part in this last installment.

    Ms. Harris wove a story with enough twists and turns and leaps that one ends up with a fine tapestry of characters, emotions, actions, and reactions. Good and evil came out to play in this installment - thankfully...oh, well, that's a spoiler.

    Part of me is sad about a couple of relationships and part of me is glad and all of me is just pleasantly satisfied. I know there are others out there who will hate this finale and call out my review as rubbish, but it is my personal review and I have a nice glow after reading this one.

    [Note for readers who watch True Blood, I'm not sure there is any way that any of this will make it to the screen. *shrugs* The show has been so far off canon for so long now, I suppose it doesn't matter. All-in-all, I like the books better.]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Great Ending to a Great Series

    I really enjoyed this last book. Sure, it wasn't as exciting as some of the others, but it was better than several. It was nice to see minor characters I liked making one last appearance. I think Sookie got the happily ever after she should have and I'm happy with the ending.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Thumbs up :)

    I was surprised by how many negatives this book received! I have never commented on a book before, but felt compelled ,(no pun intended) to defend Sookie and the series. I read the books way before True Blood, and I, too liked the show at first. But, it is WAY off from the books! I was also an Eric fan, but he was always for Eric, first. And above all I was for Sookie, and while Eric was good in the sack, anyone who knows and loves Sookie has to appreciate the loyalty and relatioship that has always been there between Sam and Sookie! Her love of family and how good she was with Hunter, I know she wouldn't have been happy as a Vampire without children and a real family! I loved the book, like all of the books, while I didn't agree with all of the different "men" Sookie was with, I think that they each brought something to the table, and it was nice to see everyone helping Sookie for a change! I was as engrossed as usual, couldn't put it down! And while sad for the end of the series was VERY happy with the ending and thumbs up Mrs H! A very loyal fan!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I love this book! I know people a gripping about who Sookie ende

    I love this book! I know people a gripping about who Sookie ended up with but I couldn't have picked a better man for her. I don't want to ruin it for other people so won't go into more detail but to say this. Her other relationships were played out. Everybody was attached to someone se and Sookie finally had matured enough to realize that rehashing her old crap was like beating a truly dead vampire. Just getting your shoes messy. I am looking forward to her book later this year that provides mini story ending for each character, where their life went after Dead Ever After. That bit of closure is all I need. I live this book and anybody who takes the time to read it and actually think logically about it will too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Farewell Sookie! 

    Farewell Sookie! 

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    After reading many negative reviews of this book, I was reluctan

    After reading many negative reviews of this book, I was reluctant to finish this book.
    This book ended the way I thought it was going to end. Only thing I did not enjoy about this book is that Ms. Harris kept repeating how lush the yard was. Okay, I get it, the roses are blooming, the tomatoes are huge and juicy. I don't need to read it every other chapter.
    I am glad this series is over it was getting stale. What will be next for Ms. Harris. I know something wonderful is waiting for me in her next series.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Awwwwwww

    I hate that I am done reading this series. I can't imagine what took me so long to read it. Wonderful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Serena to Vincent (and people who just want to see a love note)

    'Dis be the place I began. When I met him on that amazing night. I never though we'd be more than friends. Our love grew so much that we fell in love in the real life. You really opened my heart and changed my views of love and life. And I wanna thank you. I will never forget you, love. I dedicate 'All of Me' by John Legend to you because I love you. You will never read this and post back, but at least I got out how much I love you. Goodbye dear we shall meet in Heaven. <p>~ Serena

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Good read

    Good book, well written like all the other Sookie Stackhouse books. It really held my attention. I wasn't thrilled about the ending, but the author is who writes the books. ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    Solid wrap up to the series, entertaining and well worth the purchase!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Good read

    I liked this book. It ended as I predicted at the end of the last book, but it was still worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    BitterSweet

    I'm sad that this is the end of a very awesome series. I've always waited for the next book with bated breath, and have never been disappointed. This is still true. The final book is amazing. I could not have dreamed of a better ending for this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    I understand why some can be incredibly upset at this book. It l

    I understand why some can be incredibly upset at this book. It lacked the the usual supernatural danger of the other s and was largely based around Sookie as apposed to many characters at once. None the less, I thought it was magnificent. As an avid young reader of supernatural books, I am greatly sad to see the end of this specific series. Charlaine Harris is an exceptional writer and I will forever remember this book and reread it for the sake of enjoying a lengthy story. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Dead Ever After and Over

    I have always loved the Sookie books. They are always humorous and full of adventure. Sookie is surrounded by supreme beings and yet she is always the level ended one that saves the day. I hate that the series is ending but if it had to end shw could not have done it better. I will miss her and Bubba.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 332 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 17