Customer Reviews for

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 1208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(382)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, lea...
Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

posted by Sailon on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

231 out of 256 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS! I think we all know now why Harris won't be tourin

SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor ...
SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor execution of the HEA.




I think one other reviewer summed it up best when she noted: "It's too bad Harris didn't care as much about her characters as her fans did." As many others have noted, the writing had declined over the past few books, but I had held out hope that Harris would put out her best efforts into the final volume, the conclusion to Sookie's beloved and long-running saga. Alas.




It took 14-15 years and 13 books to have Sookie come full-circle, albeit bearing considerable physical and emotional scarring from her adventures? Is Sookie any better off now than she was in the beginning? No, definitely she is worse off. She's settled for second-best in her love life and hasn't expanded her life circle much at all. I can appreciate that someone like Sookie prefers the simple things in life, but at the same time, the supes opened up her world to so many more exciting possibilities than had ever existed for her previously (and she says as much, notably to Sam, in the 8th or 9th book). At the end of her journey of self-discovery, she's in the same place, having rejected what all along has been painted as something that energized and completed Sookie.




I strongly favored Eric-Sookie, but I could have been happier with the actual resolution if Harris had painted Sam as a convincing alternative all along. While the reader has sensed throughout the series that Sam had interest in Sookie, she has never thought of him as anything other than boss and friend. I also think it's unfortunate that Harris opted to have Sookie TELL the reader about her friendship and bonds with Sam far more often than she SHOWED it in the previous 12 books.




All of Harris's writing energy went into the larger-than-life character and fan favorite, Eric. And, in the end, she thumbed her nose at the vast majority of her fans and gave Eric a terrible ending, truly assassinating his character in a way I would never have dreamed possible. If Harris and I were having iced tea around the kitchen table, I'm sure she would tell me that Eric is HER character and that she was entitled to do what she wanted with him and that she understood him best, being his creator. But, I would counter that once a character is shared with others, that character belongs to us all, and thousands of fans (at least 75% of the Sookie fans were Eric/Sookie fans in poll after poll) can't be all wrong. Harris leaves most of her characters in a reasonably happy spot in the end (though I would quibble whether Sookie herself falls into that category). But Eric? Sold into sex slavery for 200 years, forbidden to have any contact with Sookie and exacting jealous vengeance by trying to thwart Sookie and Sam before that ever got underway so that Sookie can't even have fond memories of him? Really? That's the best you could do for the most beloved character you're ever going to create, Ms. Harris? That's your response to the years of devoted readership and loyal following from so many fans? Even if you truly did always intend Sam to be the HEA (and had to insert numerous deux ex machina and create inconsistencies galore and ignore completely much of what's been written in the last 8 or 9 books to get there), why would you leave Eric himself in such a terrible situation? You couldn't get creative and come up with a scenario wherein Eric and Sookie come to some heartfelt recognition that their differences were too great to overcome and have them part on good terms? Eric was the one who "got" Sookie - they shared the same sense of humor and the same exuberance for life, as Bill and others had pointed out and noted. Their relationship had taken books of gradual and sustained build-up. To have it end in such an out-of-character way was sloppy, small-minded and unfair in the extreme. It showed no respect whatsoever for the bulk of your fan-base, and I have no respect for you as an author as a result.




The adage "readers like to be fooled but not deceived or conned or cheated" applies to you too, Ms. Harris. It was not a clever "aha!" twist to suddenly shoehorn Sam into the HEA. It required a good bit of cheating to get there, and doing so at the expense of the best character you're likely to ever create and his legions of fans was certainly not honorable or worthy of you. 

posted by pennyL1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1208 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 61
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Aside from being jumbled and rushed, it's overly simplistic end

    Aside from being jumbled and rushed, it's overly simplistic ending made it quite clear this was the last book of the series and she was just plain out of ideas. To make matters worse the final resolution of Sookie's love life is without a doubt the WORST scenario Ms. Harris could have come up with. Rather than be an inventive writer with a true story of danger, intrigue and plots and twists...we got garbage. This book was an entire waste of time reading and to think I put money in her pocket for the privilege of such trash!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    **SPOILER ALERT** Not only have I been an avid fan of this serie

    **SPOILER ALERT**
    Not only have I been an avid fan of this series, but as a librarian, I introduced countless others to Sookie's world. Although I agree with many readers that the last few books were a bit disjointed, at least the main characters stayed true to their personalities. I purchased this book even after reading the horrid reviews. I had hoped that those reviews were written by people disgruntled with the fact that Sookie's HEA was Sam instead of Eric. Sadly, after getting halfway through the book, I simply cannot read another page. Like others, I re-read the entire series in preparation for DEA. The characters that I have known and loved are simply gone in this final installment. I've overlooked convoluted and implausible plots because the characters were so engaging. Not one major character in this book is recognizable, and I cannot begin to empathize with any of them. Gone is the Sookie we've all come to know and love. In her stead is a rude, foul-mouthed, unsympathetic brat with none of the grace and emotional depth that she's had in every other book before this one. The other characters are bizarrely flat and also without any of the emotional depth they've had in every other book. The convoluted and implausible story lines we've dealt with in the last few books are even worse in this one. Without the dynamic characters to keep me interested, I can't even finish reading it. Had the first book in the series starred "people" with as few redeeming qualities as are featured here, I would never have moved on to a second book.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I feel that the series ended in the only appropriate manner. Any

    I feel that the series ended in the only appropriate manner. Anything else wouldn't have been true to the characters; especially given Sookie's personal growth throughout the books. It is well written (as all of Ms. Harris' books are) and I enjoyed it very much.

    12 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    CHARLAINE HARRIS NEVER MORE!!!

    CHARLAINE HARRIS NEVER MORE!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Not a review. I can't believe that this book is $15-17. I'm dis

    Not a review.
    I can't believe that this book is $15-17. I'm disappointed Charlaine Harris would make it to where her FANS would even have to pay that much. It's not a long book...I probably know how it ends...And the last several books have been awful...AWFUL!!! It's not even a good series anymore!
    So even though I've read this series since the beginning...I doubt I ever read this last book. And I really doubt I'm missing much!

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No very good

    It jumped around to much i could not realy get in to it. It is the last book but never realy ended. Stupied just mad i payed 15 for it i never bye book the coast that much and it wasba wast if i could get my money back i would

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    I have read and loved the SVM for some time now.  I have looke



    I have read and loved the SVM for some time now.
     I have looked forward to Sookie's adventures and romances with eager anticipation.
    Charlaine Harris created a world of jump off the page characters and exciting plot lines
     as well a hot, steamy romance that defied boundaries
     and hopefully would defy odds.............................then she ripped the world to pieces and stomped on it.

    Possible spoilers ahead.


    Sookie has become unrecognizable as the sweet, brave narrator of the early books.
    She has become narrow-minded and bigoted. The other characters don't fare much better.




    Many questions have been left unanswered and loose ends left loose.
     You will need the coda I guess. 




    If you don't like the end it's your fault.
    You must be an entitled reader.
    It can't possibly be because the grand finale makes no sense,is poorly written and the hea
     is entirely out of left field. Again, your fault if you missed all the obvious (sarcasm) clues
     while you were listening to the narrator instead for the past 12 books.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Quit whining, this is an excellent ending to a great series. Bi

    Quit whining, this is an excellent ending to a great series. Bill and Eric both wanted to use Sookie,any feelings they had for her secondary. The weres had pack issues that were more importand than any feelings for Sookie. Sookie ultimately chose herself and that is absolutely the best possible ending for this series. I have enjoyed everything Ms. Harris has written and look forward to her next series.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Love the series hate the book

    Really disappointed with the book...i was expecting more from her and an epic ending to an epic series. I seriously want my money back!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Can't even begin to describe how let down and disappointed I am

    Can't even begin to describe how let down and disappointed I am in this book. Just finished reading it and I feel as though I am in shock! The direction the book took with Eric was unbelievable...I mean really? I also found the whole plot in the book to be rather boring. I really like the idea of all the known characters coming back to the final book but would have liked to have actually see them have substantial purpose in the story. HATED the ending! Really thought we would have gotten a chapter that gave us a glimpse of the lives of the characters maybe 10-20 years down the road just to know how everyone "lived happily ever after". However, this ending didn't feel final at all and really made me feel angry that I had invested so much time and money in the series to be left with no idea what the future holds for Sookie. Really wasn't expecting to read such a poor series ender, how sad.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    ***spoilers***  Worst ending to a series! We are all of a sudden

    ***spoilers*** 
    Worst ending to a series! We are all of a sudden supposed to believe that Sookie is in love with Sam....I don't think so! We the readers are apparently supposed to forget about all of the times she had described Sam as just a friend/boss. And we are supposed to be ok with Eric being sold into sex slavery for 200 years? Eric the favorite character of most of the readers. The author betrayed the characters and most of the fan base with this book. If she wanted Sookie and Sam to end up together then she should of spent more time making Sam into a lovable character, rather than someone who just happens to make an appearance once in a while. I regret reading the entire series because the ending really was that bad. I wasted countless hours and $200 just to feel betrayed and disappointed at the end. Save your money and your time. This author cares more about money than she does about her fan base.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This sucked. I'm so disappointed,

    I had a feeling that this book would be crap and it sure was. I've noticed the past couple of books have lost the magic of the series. This one was bad. Didn't have the same flow as the the better part that the series use to have. Its like a different writer took over. Just terrible and i wish i could get a refund. :(

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    First, I would like to say that in the past I have really enjoye

    First, I would like to say that in the past I have really enjoyed this series. I thought the story and the characters were fun and I looked forward to each installment. However, my love affair with Sookie’s world began to diminish at book 10 (Dead in the Family). The books got worse and worse. I felt as though Sookie’s character had changed, she just didn’t read right in my head. I held out hope that maybe the story would be pulled around to something more redeeming than the previous three books. I was wrong.
    First, Sookie is being targeted by someone she knows though the characters motivations for going after her, to me, seemed way off base and contrived simply to have a villain. I didn’t believe for a moment the motivations supposedly pushing this character.
    Second, after Sookie is charged with murder many of her friends from the past come to offer her support. I didn’t feel they added anything to the story, not really. I guess this was the author’s way of letting her readers say good-bye to once important characters. I wasn’t moved if that was the case.
    Third, in the last 17 pages it is revealed that there was more than another person after Sookie, bum bum buuuuum, and she’s been kidnapped…which is resolved within 8 pages. This whole scene felt unnecessary and a waste of energy. There wasn’t any life changing reveal it was just pointless.
    I had hope for more from this final installment but I didn’t expect it. The only reason I’m giving this two stars instead of one is simply because I enjoyed the first nine books so very much and I feel like being kind out of nostalgia.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Waste of time and money

    So disappointed that this final book didnt redeem the 2 previous ones. What a waste of time !

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    It better be good

    I cant wait! Going on a mommy vacation May 7!!!!

    11 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Spoilers included. First let me say that I think it is ridiculou

    Spoilers included. First let me say that I think it is ridiculous to review a book or rate a book you haven't read. By all means pan the book if you hate it, but at least read the whole book first. Secondly yes, the ending did make sense.

     Charlaine Harris has been very clear in interviews and at book signings, that Sookie would NEVER be a vampire. She has also said more than once that Sookie's dash of fairy blood would not extend her lifespan past that of an ordinary human. That being the case, a HEA with Eric or any other vampire for that matter, was not going to happen. The breakup conversation between Sookie and Eric was heartbreaking but realistic. They are very different people with different expectations. The end of the romance was inevitable. Does this make me sad? Yes, of course but Sookie wanted a normal life, marriage, kids. And she absolutely did not want to be a vampire and had said so to Eric in the past. I would like to think that they can be friends in the future, much like she and Bill are.

     Since Sookie can't be with the regular human, I knew her HEA would have to be with a supernatural creature. She has said that she usually only gets moods or intentions from Weres so I figured that was the endgame. For a while, I thought it might be Alcide. I never liked the romance with Quinn. Several books ago, I decided to re read the entire series in succession. I have actually done this more than once. When I did, things became clear to me that surprised me. When Sookie thought she was going to die, had a great burden, She wished she could see Sam. He was very Important to her. They turn to each other in times of trouble. There were also periodic reminders that they were very attracted to each other. Will their relationship last? Sookie didn't know. But she did say that she would survive either way. I hope she gets her happy ever after but I also love that she is strong enough to stand on her own.

     I have loved this series. And I love Charlaine Harris. She is a kind southern lady who was never going to please everyone no matter what she did. With this my favorite book in the series? No, but it did work and I enjoyed my journey with Sookie. As an aside, if becoming a vampire meant that I got to be with Eric forever, sign me up, LOL.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    I am not entirely sure what everyone is having such a fit over.

    I am not entirely sure what everyone is having such a fit over.  I have read this series from the beginning and before True Blood came out and though to me it really didn't have an ending and left it self open if she wanted to write more nothing surprised me.  First of all anyone who read this series who thought Sookie was going to end up with Eric in the end was delusional.  I always assumed there would be an end to that relationship because Sookie is all things light and chooses that and has never made it any different.  Also Eric has made himself clear on numerous occasion whether it was his personality or the "vampire" in him that made him the practical guy that he was. I thought the characters were all in line with what I have come to expect from them. I did think Sookie's and Sam's hookup seemed a bit rushed and my guess that has more to do with this being the "last" book.  It was great for her to learn that she had more support than she thought she had.  I will admit the last few books in the series seem forced or incomplete, and this books seems so as well.  Sam has always been a good friend to Sookie and always was interested.  I am glad to know that Charlaine Harris is doing a book I think it is called After Dead that is set in the future so we actually get to find out what happens to all the characters.  It was a good book and I am sorry to see the series end, but I have read all of Charlaine Harris' books and at least this series had a good run. I have no idea what she will be doing now that all of her series are done.  Over all it was a good book.   

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    The reviews have been awful, primarily because they feel betraye

    The reviews have been awful, primarily because they feel betrayed by the ending.  Foreshadowing from Book One to the very end should have told anyone who understood the character how the series would progress if Sookie were to stay true to herself.  To end it without having Sookie change completely and give herself over to the Bad Boy shows what most of us know.  The Bad Boy is fun to love for a while, but sometimes the love that lasts has been right there in front of you all along.  
    Sookie still ends up with a supernatural creature....just not the one that everyone wants.  The television show has tainted the expectations.

    Admittedly, Dead Ever After wrapped up quickly and almost hurriedly, but regardless of what others say, it was not poorly written.  I would have liked to have had more exposition. This book feels like it was edited ferociously, and crammed a lot, (perhaps too much) in a single book.
    I am sure that this post will be flamed, as any positive review has been on any website, but the fact of the matter is that the series is over, Charlaine Harris did what the character told her she wanted and that's that.  My chief sadness is that the tales have come to an end for Sookie Stackhouse.  

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    LOVED IT. No, it will not please everyone, especially if you are

    LOVED IT. No, it will not please everyone, especially if you are cheering for a specific suitor to be the one to win Sookie's heart. Ms. Harris takes the book in unexpected, but interesting, directions. Although the ending is not what you might expect, it is worth the read.

    The 1 star reviews seems to be focused on two complaints: (1) that Sookie and Eric do not end up together; and (2) the quality of the writing.

    Eric and Sookie do part ways. That shouldn't be a shock to anyone who actually read the last three books. Related to this complaint is the statement that Eric gets little face-time in the last book. Well... they broke up and this is Sookie's story, not Eric's. Also, there is the idea that Eric is portrayed in a negative light. If you are looking for Eric to be the hero, you could squint real hard, cock your head and then decide that he's mistreated. But that's not the case. Eric is classic Eric in the last novel. He's returned to the high-handed, slightly devious but also fair-minded vampire that he was in the beginning of the series. The only disappointment would be if you expect him to suddenly become a different type of vampire- one who is willing to give up everything for love.

    As far as the quality of the writing, it's not any different than in the first 12 books. The supposed disconnect in the plot that "suddenly" leads Sookie to her HEA fella only feels forced if you haven't been paying attention to the subtle hints that Ms. Harris has dropped through-out the series. If you have vampire blinders on, you might have missed it. Eric and Sookie isn't the "epic love story" although there is one here if you've read carefully before now.

    I'd caution anyone to buy into the 1 stars here wholesale. They are more-or-less sour grape reviews because the author didn't write an Eric/Sookie love story they were hoping for- even though it has been apparent since the beginning that wasn't where Ms. Harris is going and it has been solidly evident in the last three books that Sookie and Eric would not stay together happily.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I've read it twice now and still love it! I've been with the ser

    I've read it twice now and still love it! I've been with the series since the first book was released, and this was a wonderful ending that gave Sookie a future full of life.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1208 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 61