Customer Reviews for

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 1185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(161)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(379)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, lea...
Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

posted by Sailon on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

226 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS! I think we all know now why Harris won't be tourin

SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor ...
SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor execution of the HEA.




I think one other reviewer summed it up best when she noted: "It's too bad Harris didn't care as much about her characters as her fans did." As many others have noted, the writing had declined over the past few books, but I had held out hope that Harris would put out her best efforts into the final volume, the conclusion to Sookie's beloved and long-running saga. Alas.




It took 14-15 years and 13 books to have Sookie come full-circle, albeit bearing considerable physical and emotional scarring from her adventures? Is Sookie any better off now than she was in the beginning? No, definitely she is worse off. She's settled for second-best in her love life and hasn't expanded her life circle much at all. I can appreciate that someone like Sookie prefers the simple things in life, but at the same time, the supes opened up her world to so many more exciting possibilities than had ever existed for her previously (and she says as much, notably to Sam, in the 8th or 9th book). At the end of her journey of self-discovery, she's in the same place, having rejected what all along has been painted as something that energized and completed Sookie.




I strongly favored Eric-Sookie, but I could have been happier with the actual resolution if Harris had painted Sam as a convincing alternative all along. While the reader has sensed throughout the series that Sam had interest in Sookie, she has never thought of him as anything other than boss and friend. I also think it's unfortunate that Harris opted to have Sookie TELL the reader about her friendship and bonds with Sam far more often than she SHOWED it in the previous 12 books.




All of Harris's writing energy went into the larger-than-life character and fan favorite, Eric. And, in the end, she thumbed her nose at the vast majority of her fans and gave Eric a terrible ending, truly assassinating his character in a way I would never have dreamed possible. If Harris and I were having iced tea around the kitchen table, I'm sure she would tell me that Eric is HER character and that she was entitled to do what she wanted with him and that she understood him best, being his creator. But, I would counter that once a character is shared with others, that character belongs to us all, and thousands of fans (at least 75% of the Sookie fans were Eric/Sookie fans in poll after poll) can't be all wrong. Harris leaves most of her characters in a reasonably happy spot in the end (though I would quibble whether Sookie herself falls into that category). But Eric? Sold into sex slavery for 200 years, forbidden to have any contact with Sookie and exacting jealous vengeance by trying to thwart Sookie and Sam before that ever got underway so that Sookie can't even have fond memories of him? Really? That's the best you could do for the most beloved character you're ever going to create, Ms. Harris? That's your response to the years of devoted readership and loyal following from so many fans? Even if you truly did always intend Sam to be the HEA (and had to insert numerous deux ex machina and create inconsistencies galore and ignore completely much of what's been written in the last 8 or 9 books to get there), why would you leave Eric himself in such a terrible situation? You couldn't get creative and come up with a scenario wherein Eric and Sookie come to some heartfelt recognition that their differences were too great to overcome and have them part on good terms? Eric was the one who "got" Sookie - they shared the same sense of humor and the same exuberance for life, as Bill and others had pointed out and noted. Their relationship had taken books of gradual and sustained build-up. To have it end in such an out-of-character way was sloppy, small-minded and unfair in the extreme. It showed no respect whatsoever for the bulk of your fan-base, and I have no respect for you as an author as a result.




The adage "readers like to be fooled but not deceived or conned or cheated" applies to you too, Ms. Harris. It was not a clever "aha!" twist to suddenly shoehorn Sam into the HEA. It required a good bit of cheating to get there, and doing so at the expense of the best character you're likely to ever create and his legions of fans was certainly not honorable or worthy of you. 

posted by pennyL1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1185 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 60
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Total waste of time and money

    If your looking for a proper end to this series you'd do much better making up one for yourself. It would be a lot better than this colassal waste of money. Every character is completly destroyed and the supposed ending doesn't even make sense with the rest of the story..... sooooo wishing i could get my money back! $15 for 250 pages?! I've read free books that were longer AND better written. Im pretty sure the author lost a huge chunck of her fanbase today. I know she lost me.

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I cannot believe, that after 12 books, this is what I am left wi

    I cannot believe, that after 12 books, this is what I am left with. I should have known, from books 10-12, but I was holding out hope that this book would rekindle the series earlier life. I was so very wrong. Very, very wrong.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I ordered this book despite all the negative reviews, but I stil

    I ordered this book despite all the negative reviews, but I still ended up disappointed. The writing was poor and the plot convoluted. Ms. Harris seemed determined to dissolve any positive feelings readers have developed for characters she has developed for over a decade. I would have honestly preferred the series to have been left alone or at least ended ambiguously, instead of the abrupt and unnatural ending that was delivered. I would recommend that if you have not yet read this book that you refrain from doing so, and instead fashion an ending for Sookie that you find befitting. I will do my best to strike this book from my memory and do the same. It is a disappointing ending for a much beloved series, and despite Ms. Harris' obvious impatience to end the series, I feel she did not do her work or her fans justice with this poorly constructed finale.  

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    I expected nothing and that's what I got! Had to read it becau

    I expected nothing and that's what I got!

    Had to read it because I'd read the rest of the series but it's been going downhill for several books. This however, outdid the rest - poor story line, no continuity from previous books, just all around bad! If you must read it, find a library...

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    dont waste your money horrible on every level

    I am never embarrassed about what I read.I am ashamed that I not only paid money but finished this crap. I have read all of the other books this one makes no sense. Dead to me

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    The sex between Sam and Sookie is so very very bad she says he p

    The sex between Sam and Sookie is so very very bad she says he put on a condom and plunged in..... yep that's how bad this book is these other bad reviews are being too kind.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Don't waste your time or money.

    Don't waste your time or money.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Why so negative?

    SPOILER ALERT

    Everyone on here seems to hate the ending to this series, but i love it. Yes, Eric gets dropped-but was Eric ever really going to be happy with the quiet life? I think its clear that he just wanted to turn Sookie-that is stated several times. And CH always said that she wouldnt allow Sookie to be turned. Eric chose power over love, which is not a big surprise. I'll admit, I've had a Sam crush for quite a while, so maybe I'm biased. I did not feel that this book was poorly written, or even rushed- at least no more than mosr of the other books have been. I DO feel like Sookie has too many enemies, but that isnt anything new either. I wish that the book had been longer, but thats just because I will miss these books. It was a good end to the series, and a nice beginning to Sookies more peaceful life.

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    What a waste of money never again will i read anything she write

    What a waste of money never again will i read anything she writes most of the 5 star reviews are before published. I know the saying  waiting sucks but reading this sucks even more.!!!!!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    worst book of the series

    worst book of the series

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Last Sookie book

    What vicious creatures are so-called fans! Eric stayed in character, as did Sam, as did Sookie. What a bunch of tantruming babies, because they didn't get the ending they wanted. How many people conveniently ignored Eric's basic nature...no, he was not out of character. SPOILER: If you remember back to the beginning as you claim to, you know that Sookie wanted nothing more than peace in her head and in her life, and love. And thats what she ended up with. SMH at these hurtful, vicious ex-fans.

    18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Ending seemed completely appropriate....

    I really enjoyed the book, and think the series ended the only way that made any sense. Book Eric stayed true to book Eric.

    I love the Skarsgard version of Eric as much as anyone. He is awyesome! And on the show the character has evolved differently than in the books... Book Eric did not have the attachment to his maker...that had such an impact on TB Eric... He and Pam have a deeper relationship... None of that applies to the books. Book Eric is still a favorite--but is open about putting himself first, always.

    A huge THANK YOU to Charlaine Harris for a really fun ride!

    17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    0 stars if that was possible!!! SPOILER The story felt rushed an

    0 stars if that was possible!!! SPOILER The story felt rushed and poorly written. Charlaine destroyed Eric just so she could put Sookie and Sam together, and that wasn't even written well. It comes out of left field at the end. And to compare them having sex to seals.....what were you thinking? Sookie reverts back to the girl we met at the beginning of the series who just wants to fit in at any cost instead of the woman who grew into someone who we respected and cheered on. Charlaine gave up on Sookie and just wrote what she wanted to no matter that it didn't make any sense. If she really wanted Sookie and Sam together then she should of ended the series a long time ago instead of writing extra books making us fall in love with the relationship that Eric and Sookie had. But no she did it because Eric is what sold her books. He was ok enough for her to make money on but not good enough to make the HEA. And even worse he wasn't even good enough to give a proper ending to. Sold into sex slavery for 200 years with no contact with anybody! And she expected us to be ok with this!  This book was a waste of money and a slap in the face to most of her fans. I would of been ok with the book if it was a good story but the whole thing felt like a filler book instead of the end of a 13 book series. Complete disappointment and I will never buy anything from her again. 

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This book was an absolute waste of time and money. After the dis

    This book was an absolute waste of time and money. After the disappointment of the last 2 books, i was really hoping Harris was going to redeem herself. Instead, she made it worse. The book was sloppy, hard to follow, and just down right awful. I agree with the previous reviewer who said if she was going to let it end that way, why even write ANY of the books after Living Dead in Dallas. All along, I have been wanting her to end up with Eric because I truly felt like he cared for her. In this book however, Ms. Harris makes him seem like an overbearing twit. Also, if she hated the blood bond so much because it made her have doubts about her true feelings for Eric, why is she suddenly ok with the fact that the cluvial dore made her fall out of love with Eric and into bed with Sam? A complete waste of money and my time. I will not be reading ANYTHING Ms. Harris has to write in the future. If this is what she spent a decade planning, then she did a pitiful job.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    One of the best book series ever

    :)

    16 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Let me start off by saying that I am a true blue fan of this ser

    Let me start off by saying that I am a true blue fan of this series. I started this book way before True Blood.  I can’t imagine watching True Blood first and then reading the series.  I stopped watching True Blood after season 3 because I thought if drifted too far from the heart and soul of the books. 




    In the 13 books I can honestly tell you I LOVE Charlaine’s storytelling style. I am always sucked right in. I love the down to earth feel in a crazy supernatural world. 
    Some books I loved more than others (4 was my favorite)




     It was a roller coaster from start to finish in every book.   I believe this last book was true and authentic to the Sookie we have come to grow and love.




    This was not Twilight…I never believed Sookie wanted to become a vampire. Even though Eric was my dream Vampire, I never thought that is who she should end up with. I felt like Sam was HOME to Sookie and it was the perfect ending. When I picture her future it will always be in her Grandma’s house in a lounge chair in the sunshine with Sam. I loved it. Thank you Charlaine for staying true to the roots of this series.  

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    A disappointing, badly written ending to a once-great series. It

    A disappointing, badly written ending to a once-great series. It came through very clearly to me in the last few books that Ms. Harris was tired of writing these characters and was only fulfilling a contractual obligation. If that is the case, then I am glad the saga is finished.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I finished the book last night and was highly disappointed in ho

    I finished the book last night and was highly disappointed in how this series ended. The plot was nonsensical and seemed as though she was trying to make it overly complicated in order to extend the book as well as throw in some of our favorite characters that for the most part do little to aid Sookie. From previous books I feel the use of the CD was handled incorrectly. Wasn't is suppose to change the person that the CD was used on not the entire story. Anyway, I really felt like I wasted my time and money reading this book. I was disappointed in the writing and they didn't make it believable for me to be okay with the outcome. So, Eric and Sookie lovers beware.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I was very disappointed. I wished I never spent my money on it.

    I was very disappointed. I wished I never spent my money on it. It seemed like it was a rush job that she just wanted to get it over with. I have never been disappointed about a book and author before. Please all your friends not to buy it. It is a waste of time and money. I will think twice before buying and recommending a another book by CH.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awful

    Geez what a let down really 265 pages for the final book so disapointed....

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1185 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 60