Customer Reviews for

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 1163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(158)

2 Star

(131)

1 Star

(376)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now a

Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, lea...
Sookie Stackhouse has been a fictional friend for 14 years now and it is with great sadness that this was the conclusion of this series. I realize it is time but still Charlaine Harris leaves me wanting more.

Dead Ever After starts right after Sookie has saved Sam, leaving Eric angry that she didn’t use her wish to release him from his duties to the marriage with the queen.

Sookie is framed for a crime she didn’t commit and slowly all the supes from her past return to help her out of her bind and I do mean everyone that is still living and undead! Ok, I did miss Bubba, he was absent from the plot but everyone else returns.

To keep from giving any spoilers that is all I’m writing about the summary of the story.

Let me say that I don’t understand all the controversy over this book, Mrs. Harris provided another fabulously written, action packed adventure. By including all the characters we’ve come to love and enjoy from previous adventures, she gave us the closure to all their stories as well. Maybe it wasn’t the closure you wanted but it truly was fitting. Sookie seemed stronger and in the end made the decision that could lead to true happiness...leaving her exactly where and how she always said she wanted to be.

I loved sharing in the world Charlaine Harris created and am thankful for her wondrous ability to take us along on this journey. She touched our lives with characters we loved and loved to hate. She gave me books that were re-read worthy and will stay on my shelf forever. Thank you for putting your extraordinary talents into words so we could all share in your fabulous creativity.

posted by Sailon on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

217 out of 242 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS! I think we all know now why Harris won't be tourin

SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor ...
SPOILERS!




I think we all know now why Harris won't be touring to promote this book, because honestly, is ANYONE besides Harris herself happy with this book? Very few I would wager. Even Sam's pathetically small fan-base can't be terribly excited about Harris's poor execution of the HEA.




I think one other reviewer summed it up best when she noted: "It's too bad Harris didn't care as much about her characters as her fans did." As many others have noted, the writing had declined over the past few books, but I had held out hope that Harris would put out her best efforts into the final volume, the conclusion to Sookie's beloved and long-running saga. Alas.




It took 14-15 years and 13 books to have Sookie come full-circle, albeit bearing considerable physical and emotional scarring from her adventures? Is Sookie any better off now than she was in the beginning? No, definitely she is worse off. She's settled for second-best in her love life and hasn't expanded her life circle much at all. I can appreciate that someone like Sookie prefers the simple things in life, but at the same time, the supes opened up her world to so many more exciting possibilities than had ever existed for her previously (and she says as much, notably to Sam, in the 8th or 9th book). At the end of her journey of self-discovery, she's in the same place, having rejected what all along has been painted as something that energized and completed Sookie.




I strongly favored Eric-Sookie, but I could have been happier with the actual resolution if Harris had painted Sam as a convincing alternative all along. While the reader has sensed throughout the series that Sam had interest in Sookie, she has never thought of him as anything other than boss and friend. I also think it's unfortunate that Harris opted to have Sookie TELL the reader about her friendship and bonds with Sam far more often than she SHOWED it in the previous 12 books.




All of Harris's writing energy went into the larger-than-life character and fan favorite, Eric. And, in the end, she thumbed her nose at the vast majority of her fans and gave Eric a terrible ending, truly assassinating his character in a way I would never have dreamed possible. If Harris and I were having iced tea around the kitchen table, I'm sure she would tell me that Eric is HER character and that she was entitled to do what she wanted with him and that she understood him best, being his creator. But, I would counter that once a character is shared with others, that character belongs to us all, and thousands of fans (at least 75% of the Sookie fans were Eric/Sookie fans in poll after poll) can't be all wrong. Harris leaves most of her characters in a reasonably happy spot in the end (though I would quibble whether Sookie herself falls into that category). But Eric? Sold into sex slavery for 200 years, forbidden to have any contact with Sookie and exacting jealous vengeance by trying to thwart Sookie and Sam before that ever got underway so that Sookie can't even have fond memories of him? Really? That's the best you could do for the most beloved character you're ever going to create, Ms. Harris? That's your response to the years of devoted readership and loyal following from so many fans? Even if you truly did always intend Sam to be the HEA (and had to insert numerous deux ex machina and create inconsistencies galore and ignore completely much of what's been written in the last 8 or 9 books to get there), why would you leave Eric himself in such a terrible situation? You couldn't get creative and come up with a scenario wherein Eric and Sookie come to some heartfelt recognition that their differences were too great to overcome and have them part on good terms? Eric was the one who "got" Sookie - they shared the same sense of humor and the same exuberance for life, as Bill and others had pointed out and noted. Their relationship had taken books of gradual and sustained build-up. To have it end in such an out-of-character way was sloppy, small-minded and unfair in the extreme. It showed no respect whatsoever for the bulk of your fan-base, and I have no respect for you as an author as a result.




The adage "readers like to be fooled but not deceived or conned or cheated" applies to you too, Ms. Harris. It was not a clever "aha!" twist to suddenly shoehorn Sam into the HEA. It required a good bit of cheating to get there, and doing so at the expense of the best character you're likely to ever create and his legions of fans was certainly not honorable or worthy of you. 

posted by pennyL1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    I hve been a fan of Sookie since the first book. It did not surp

    I hve been a fan of Sookie since the first book. It did not surprise me who she ended up with and I can understand why but still disappointed. I feel although most issues was tied up there is still stories that could be told so I am really sorry this is the end of the series. Hate leaving a series I loved feeling not quite satisfied.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Cleaned Up a Few Loose Ends

    I actually enjoyed the way this ended. That being said, the first few books in the series were the best and the last few were the worst.

    However; I appreciated the way Sookie embraced falling back into a more human existence and I've always rooted for Sam. Who doesn't love a happy ending. It's chick-lit afterall.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I liked this book, very much-have already read it twice. While i

    I liked this book, very much-have already read it twice. While it wasn't my favorite in the series (that would be Dead Until Dark) , it had a terrific mystery, lots of returning characters, and a hopeful future that makes sense for a favorite heroine. Certainly worth reading!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I was VERY hesitant to read this book after I heard all of the b

    I was VERY hesitant to read this book after I heard all of the bad reviews, but my husband bought it for me for Mother's Day so I decided to read it as a light read.  That being said, I found to be very enjoyable and if you keep up any interviews with Charlaine Harris you know that Sookie will never be a vampire or end up with a vampire.  I think the readers who don't realize that before going into this book are the ones who are giving the book such a bad review and hate the book.  I thought the book was very enjoyable and exactly what I needed in a light read.  The ending was very typical of Sookie Stackhouse and I thought it tied things up very nicely.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    All of the nay sayers that do not like the last book, it appear

    All of the nay sayers that do not like the last book, it appear to have never taken a writing course. The secret to good writing is to have a generalization circle, meaning the beginning ties to the end and Ms. Harris did exactly that. This was my favorite Sookie book, but it had a lot of great wrap up (closing the loop) with many of the supporting characters that made the series so popular and fun to read. There are a few loose ends which she I'm sure will wrap up in the October release.

    Also, if you could not tell that Sookie would end up with Sam since book 1 then how sad for you. You really believed that a vampire would end up married and living with a human??? The vampire's believe they are better than humans, shifters, and other sups, to take a human wife even as extraordinary as Sookie would be marring too far beneath their self. Look at the issues the Fae have with humans...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    LIKED IT!

    I am surprised at how many people disliked this book and the ending. I thought it had a good ending and was just how I hoped the author would end the series. This book held my attention thoughout.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    * spoiler alert ** I'm different than everyone else I wanted her

    * spoiler alert ** I'm different than everyone else I wanted her to end up with Sam. He's her best friend, has never tried to selfishly use her for her "gifts", so that is a big plus. He adores her and is her protector. It only makes sense to me that she would end up with him, thus allowing her to have someone to grow old with. Someone who accepts her for who and what she is: A Sup. If she ended up with Eric, she would have to give up a part of herself to be with him. And, she would be used as a toy and pawn to further the Vamp world. Her natural instinct to save Sam showed her true love for him -- not the stupid lustful crap she had with Eric and Bill. Sure the sex was great with them, but the sex with Sam ain't bad !!! Eric is narcissistic and selfish. He will never be able to put Sookie first. Which is why I am so Happy she ends up with Sam.

    I am Sad with it ending but Happy with how it ended......

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    I enjoyed the book.  I liked that it brought back some character

    I enjoyed the book.  I liked that it brought back some characters that you haven't seen in a while.  Good ending, though I though some characters could have made more of an appearance. Overall I'm pleased with the last book. 

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I was so worried by all the comments.  I almost didn't buy the l

    I was so worried by all the comments.  I almost didn't buy the last book!  But how could I not after years of getting every book the day they come out.  Because the last few books sucked.  They were borrying to me and I was worried the last book would be the same, but I felt if was one of the best so far written.  The last few books, I skipped pages filled with information I already new, this book maybe skipped a paragraph, and mystary in it was page turning.  However, I was very dissappointed by the end.  First, she went through everthing with Eric, I will never forget the Fairy wars were he says, 'this is my woman and mine alone.'  And he can just leave her life forever.  The relationship with Sam I felt was not magnificent, and Claude coming back was kind of lame.  Here is how I would have ended it:  Due to the charm saving Sam it made him crazy over Sookie, and he was the one who tried to put her in jail so she was kept in a sence.  Erics whole break up with Sookie was a rouse between them in order to fool everyone, they waited for their moment, giving Pam his seat made him less of a man and the queen uninterested.  Which I don't get, a hot vampire woman makes Eric be her husband, so she is known for making men hers that don't love her, I would not want that reputation.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    I disagree with mist of the reviews here

    I actually enjoyed the ending
    Not to be a spoiler but Sookie went through so much only to be unsure of how the vampire world would treat her as a human. She deserved a shot at being normal and having a future that involved maybe creating her own family. I wanted this type of closure for her vs danger ad chaos forever! Well done to charlene harris for not following the rest of the vampire type story lines out there and choosing a sensible outcome with a future!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Re read the series

    When I found out through a spoiler alert that Sookie was going to end up with Sam, I was so depressed, I was really hoping for Quinn. Anyways i decided to re read the series and pay more attention to Sam, and really I didn't give him enough credit. He was always there and there was always a chemistry between them that really went unnoticed to me because I was always in such a rush to get to the parts about Bill or Eric or Quinn. I have to say that I'm glad she ended up with Sam, I just hate that it was at Eric's expense

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Decent ending

    I read all the other reviews before buying this book and i'm glad I bought it anyways. The book was great. The only reason it was given bad reviews was, because of the outcome. Not everything can end the way you want.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Pretty good!

    Ending really didn't work for me. But over all pretty good!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I have read all of this series and though I understand that it e

    I have read all of this series and though I understand that it ended the way that Charlaine intended, I
    felt like I didn't get the closure that I was looking for with some of the characters. This has to be one of
    my favorite series' ever and I'm sorry to see it end. Very quick read and went far faster than I hoped.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Good read

    Well the end has finally arrived. Can't say I am very pleased with the direction she took the story. But I'm just a reader and not the author. I don't imagine she could have pleased us all. I haven't enjoyed now the last three books. But overall I have loved the Sookie Stackhouse series. Would I read them all again? Yes! I am actually happy its finally over tho. But I would recommend this series to everyone.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Good series. A definite escape from reality!

    Good series. A definite escape from reality!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Finally it is over!

    Yes it was great, time to move on to a new world of things to do. My next goal is to go outside and see if spring is here.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Don't be so let down

    I read horrible reviews that kept me from reading this book for months!

    This book wraps things up the way it was suspected all along. It may not fullfill all the things you may of hoped it too. Though u have to respect Charlaine Harris as she said... she ended it the way she had always planned it to end. Despite the popularity of the books as well as the following from the show. She was not swayed to please anyone in particular, but to set out to finish what she had started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Bye bye Sookie :(

    I was sad to hear this was the final book. I honestly refrained from reading it hearing the poor reviews. However being a fan of Mrs. Harris and reading her other series, I could not leave this open and not know what happens with Sookie. I did not love the last 2 books before this, I felt they were very jumpy with too much going on. They could have got a book or two of their own in the series Anyhow, this book had to tie up all the loose ends and characters and I enjoyed it. I liked the plot with the murder and of course Sookies love life. I am happy with the way its been ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Enjoyed the book, sad the series is over

    Glad that Mrs. Harris pullled back many old characters to play a role in this book. Amelia and Bob were fun characters. Quinn was one of my favorites throughout the series. We knew years ago that Sookie was not going to be turned, or end up with a vampire. The Sookie/Erik relationship got old a few books back. It was time for a new and final love interest. Will miss anticipating a new book. Would be great to have short stories or a novella in the future published about the progression of their lives . Do they have children? How does Hunter adjust growing up? Thank you for many hours of entertainment, Mrs. Harris.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10