Customer Reviews for

Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I see dead people...and I like it!

    Terri Garey has captured me at once with "Dead Girls are Easy" the story of Nikki Styx and her unusual ability to see and converse with the dead. This was a laugh-out-loud riot that was both a refreshing and amusing.

    Nice easy read, story line flows well, and the characters are fantastically developed.

    I'd give this one a sixth star if that was an option!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Dead Girls Are Easy

    I loved this book! In fact all of Teri Garey's in this series are just a hoot to read. The characters are funny, the dialog is wonderful and it is just a FUN book to read. I would recommend it and have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Out of this world

    Wow! This book is awesome. It rocks. This was my first time reading Terri Garey, and I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised. She is awesome. Nicki Styx has had a near death experience. Now she can see the dead. Falling for Joe, the hunky doctor who brought her back to life, they come together to solve a mystery. The characters are all amazing. The story is flawless and fresh, with plenty of ghouls, laughs, and romance to keep you reading from beginning to end. It's a must read. Terri Garey is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Good paranoral story

    Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Great start to a good series

    I loved the start to this series. It was different than some of the paranormal book I have read in the. I wished the main character was a little "stronger" and not as wishy washy but overall it was a great beginning. I read all of the series in the course of a week. Fun light reads tat will keep you entertained at the beach, by the pool or on the plane. Enjoy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    What a fun book. There is a great mixture of fun and fear in this story. Ms. Garey has a likable heroine in Nicki Styx. She is a fun character that marches to her own drum. To my friends that like a love story within their story this is a good book for you.

    There were a fun group of supporting characters including Nicki's best friend Evan. It was just fun.

    The chemistry between the characters is great!! I think that I am not fond of her boyfriend in the book. I cannot tell you why but I do not like him.

    There is so much to like in this book and I do love it!! The bad guys are such fun bad guys and as with the good guys they are multi-dimensional and I really liked that.

    Read this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulously Fun book!

    My Review:
    This book is simply a fabulously fun book to read. After being declared dead by Dr. Joe Bascombe, Nicki has come back from the brink with a very special ability...the ability to see dead people whether she wants to or not.


    Nicki's a goth girl who owns a vintage dress shop with her gay friend, Evan. She's irreverant, snarky, and a bit of a rebel. She feels completely inadequate to deal with the emotions and layers needed to deal with ghosts who have just died and their family members who are grieving the death of their loved one. She's never been religious although her little trip into the "light" has definitely changed her views on religion.


    Not only does she have to deal with the complication of ghosts showing up in her life, but she also is dealing with a very complicated relationship with her HOT doctor, Joe. (Note: at page 112, I NEEDED someone to chat with about this guy....OMG!?!? shocker!!! So someone read this book for me so we can chat!) He's everything that Nicki's not...a doctor & fairly conservative, but OMG, he has a heart of gold and even though Nicki is spewing some really crazy stuff...he believes her and doesn't discount anything that is happening with her. I love their repartee...so much fun to read!
    "Sorry, Doc, but I don't let anyone inside my head
    without an expensive dinner and a bottle or two of wine."
    *****
    Joe unbuckled his seat belt, smiling.
    "Are you trying to tell me you'll break my heart?"

    I looked at him very seriously. "No, I'm trying to tell you
    that I like to play with my lovers and sometimes I play rough."
    I gave him a wicked grin, going from nice to naughty in a split-second.
    *****
    "Why is everyone I know such a smart-ass?"
    *****
    There was a streak of something white on his cheek.
    "Mmmm," I said, touching it with a finger and then licking it.
    "Whipped cream? Are we into the kinky stuff already?"

    Joe pulled me inside and locked the door. "Only if you ask
    me very nicely." He grinned wickedly obviously picturing something
    extremely naughty.
    *****
    "Oh my God." Joe sounded dazed, but happy. "What just happened?"

    "If I have to explain it to you, then I must not have done it very well."
    *****
    Oops, sorry, I got a little carried away with the quoting there....this book is just so much fun. I love Nicki's off-beat sense of humor and the way that she is constantly harassing Joe. There is a ton of really serious stuff going on both in their relationship and in Nicki's life, but they have such a fun time together through it all. (BTW, that last quote took place in a graveyard...see, fun! hehe)

    Another fabulous character in this book is Evan, Nicki's friend and business partner. He is a great secondary character and their friendship adds a lot to the book. He is as snarky as Nicki so his comments left me giggling the whole book!

    This was a great first book. I can't wait to keep reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Very Unhappy with this book

    I tried. I really tried to read this book. I couldn't make it past 112 pages and about 100 of those pages were torture. I love paranormal romances. I enjoy quirky characters. I crave book series. Now that I got that out of the way, I have to say that I kept thinking some (too much)of the concept and characters was nabbed from Victoria Laurie's "Ghouls" series (which are much better than this book)and Nicki Styx is from Motley Crue. In terms of the book, I have to actually like the characters; an interesting plot does not keep my interest if the characters are unlikeable, and all of the characters in this book are REALLY unlikeable. Nicki is a shallow, self-centered, conceited, somewhat stupid, ill-mannered, immature, amoral person and Joe is boring, unrealistic, somewhat stupid for an ER doc, weak minded, shallow, amoral and frankly uninteresting guy. So, having to "interact" with these two while trying to absorb the storyline was really tough. Evan and the others were just boring. I found myself so annoyed by Nicki and Joe that I stopped paying attention and started skimming through the story hoping the author's writing would improve as the story developed. Didn't happen. The characters didn't mature and become likeable. I was hoping Nicki would improve especially given the edict of "do unto others...", but that didn't happen. The story was jerky and fragmented at times and I finally just gave up. I have no idea how it ends and frankly I don't care. I am returning the other books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    I was a bit hesitant about reading this book but I'm glad I did. The characters are a lot of fun, the story is creative and it def has some thrills. It's not the best book I've ever read, but it def kept my attention so I finished it in one day, and it is in my top ten. I recommend this series to all paranormal romance lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly Fun

    This is book ONE, Like everyone else i've been on the vampire kick, so i wasn't sure if i could get into this series because there weren't any vamps! BUT...i was so into this book that i finished it within a day and a half. Very well written with enough action and romance to keep you hooked. Nikki Styx is a fun character who's spunky and can see dead people after a brush with death herself. It brings her into the world of voodoo (which i find very exciting) and all the while her hottie doctor boyfriend Joe thinks she might have something wrong upstairs and tells her he thinks his missing wife could be her twin! I'm about to start the next book and i'm excited to see where her life takes her next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I really enjoyed this fun paranormal read!<BR/><BR/>When Nicki Styx has a near-death experience after suffering from heretofore unknown heart problems, she's sent back with the message "do unto others as you would have them do unto you."<BR/><BR/>That sounded great, and the doctor who saved her life in the ER looks pretty dang good, too. But soon Nicki finds out just exactly what that whole "Golden Rule" stuff was about. The spirits of people recently departed, who have unfinished business on Earth, seem drawn to Nicki. And they all want her to solve their problems.<BR/><BR/>Some of these ghosts/spirits are friendly, some are funny, and some, like the spirit of Caprice Dumaine, seem downright evil. It seems Caprice was involved in some truly witchy voodoo, and now it's up to Nicki, along with Caprice's Granny Julep, to set things right.<BR/><BR/>This was a fast, breezy read that has some laugh-out-loud moments, along with some truly creepy ones. Although the issues with Dr. Joe, Nicki's savior/boyfriend at first seemed a little too far out there (even more than seeing dead people!!), I was interested in this side plot by the end of the book.<BR/><BR/>I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book rules! I had so much fun reading this book - I loved the humor and well just the entire feel of it! Pick it up - you won't be sorry! If you love a good story with laugh out loud lines - this one is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fans of paranormal romantic satire will appreciate this amusing contemporary

    In Atlanta only the incredible efforts and refusal to quit by ER Dr. Joe Bascombe (and her lack of change for the ferryman) saved the life of Nicki Styx after she was rushed to the hospital following a heart attack. The rest of the ER crew was ready to take her to the morgue when she flatlined, but Joe brought her back from the dead.----------- However, the clothing store owner¿s return to the living includes a slightly difference perception of reality. She can see ghosts who also know about her new skill. The spirits begin visiting Nicki at her store and her apartment as they want her help to resolve messes that prevent them from entering the light. The biggest pain in the butt is her late friend Caprice, who demands Nicki solve her homicide mystery be entering the mysterious realm of voodoo. Joe, who researches near death experiences, is attracted to Nicki and her to him, but rejects her contention that she communicates with the dead still threats on her life are real.--------- Although at times the ghosts show more life than the living, fans of paranormal romantic satire will appreciate this amusing contemporary with the prime relationship emphasis being between Nikki and her spirits. The story line is fast-paced as Nicki seems to jump from one ghostly demand to another. Although the romance with Joe takes a back seat with motives not explored as he insists she his estranged wife¿s identical twin sister, fans of lighthearted supernatural romps like Michael J Fox¿s The Frighteners will want to read this humorous tale of the Atlanta¿s afterlife.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    The same Cliches copied from almost every other book on the subject I've ever read. Nothing original or memorable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    Awesome!

    I got the advanced reading copy of DEAD GIRLS ARE EASY, and it's an awesome book! :) Here's my review: Terri Garey's DEAD GIRLS ARE EASY is pitched as 'Mary Janice Davidson meets The Sixth Sense' per Publishers Market Place. So my expectation as I opened the book was that it was going to be a funny book about a protagonist who saw ghosts. And I was right. The book's humorous, and the author has a lovely breezy voice that is sleep-over gossip delicious. The book starts out with Nicki Styx's near-death experience and meeting a hot ER doctor, Joe Bascombe. Things get sticky when Nicki begins seeing ghosts who want her to do things for them, and her murdered friend demands that she wreak vengeance upon the real killer. And Nicki's attraction to wholesome and normal Joe complicates her life because her dead friend isn't above hurting people Nicki cares about to get what she wants. Unlike most paranormal with shapeshifters, vampires, witches, etc., the book's central paranormal elements deal with voodoo. Garey avoids using Hollywood voodoo clichés and instead focuses on her theme of doing the right thing, bringing closure to people who can't rest in peace. My only quibble with the story is that the author's light voice and tone worked perhaps too well. There were two scenes in which Nicki is supposed to be in life-or-death danger, but I never felt the heart-pounding nail-biting tension I usually do because I didn't believe even for a second that anything bad or gruesome would happen to our smart-mouthed heroine. Despite the tiny flaw, DEAD GIRLS ARE EASY is an excellent start to a new series. Terri Garey's debut novel is sure to delight fans of light paranormal, and I'm waiting eagerly for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Four Roses From Romance Readers At Heart

    DEAD GIRLS ARE EASY by Terri Garey is laugh-out-loud funny! Without straying from a strong romantic plot, this author brings the idea of 'happily-ever-after' to a whole new level. Nicki Styx has had a near-death experience, one that leaves her with a startling new ability: she can communicate with the dead. In most cases, this is more touching, and sometimes hysterical, than creepy. But when a friend is murdered, things take a decidedly scary turn. Fortunately the doctor who pulled Nicki back from the dead isn't an apparition, and together they attempt to put Nicki's 'friend' to rest. I loved this book. Well written and witty, it brings humor to the macabre and gives life to the recently deceased. The characters in this book are full and rich, and although I wouldn't want to meet some of them on a dark street corner, I cared about what happened to them. Terri Garey has written a delightful book, and I look forward to reading more from her. Kay James

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4