Customer Reviews for

The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 590 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(385)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Teens Read Too

Hold on to your fish-net stockings because the action in THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE starts on the first page and never lets up. The story begins exactly where the first book in the Morganville Vampire series, GLASS HOUSES, left off. Claire, Eve, and Shane are in shock ov...
Hold on to your fish-net stockings because the action in THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE starts on the first page and never lets up. The story begins exactly where the first book in the Morganville Vampire series, GLASS HOUSES, left off. Claire, Eve, and Shane are in shock over what Shane's father and his buddies have done to Michael. Shane's father has returned to Morganville with one thing in mind: He wants to kill as many vampires as he can, even if he gets killed in the process. After the trauma Shane's family went through with the loss of his sister, and, subsequently, his mother, Shane and his father have cooked up a plan for revenge. Shane's phone call to his father sets the plan in motion and once his father arrives, Shane realizes what a mistake he's made. The protection Claire, Eve, Shane, and Michael have under the Founder is in jeopardy now that Shane's dad is causing problems. If they are thought to be involved in any kind of plan to kill the vampires, their protection will be removed and it will be open season on the occupants of the Glass House -- and believe me, there are plenty of vampires and people in Morganville who want to see them dead. When one of the most powerful vampires in town turns up dead, Shane is accused of the crime and sentenced to death, and it is up to Claire and Eve to find a way to save him. Readers will enjoy it when Claire's nemesis, Monica, gets a little of what's coming to her when the tables are turned and she is put in the victim role. Also be looking for relationships to blossom over the course of THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE, both in love and friendship. We also meet a new, likeable character named Sam. He offers aid to Claire and Eve when they are in desperate need of help. The only drawback with this book is that it isn't a stand-alone story. In order to understand the reasoning behind much of the action it would be better to read the first book in the series, GLASS HOUSES. However, in my opinion, this isn't a major drawback at all since it leads you to another great book by Rachel Caine. THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE is one of the best books I've read, and the shocking ending will leave you panting and begging for the next installment. **Reviewed by: Karin Perry

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eh...Okay

This particular breed of vampire novel might not be for me... there seems to be a lot of emotional turmoil, but not much else going on. The redeemable qualities are the characters and the overall feel of the story. My opinions aside, I've heard from many vampire lovers ...
This particular breed of vampire novel might not be for me... there seems to be a lot of emotional turmoil, but not much else going on. The redeemable qualities are the characters and the overall feel of the story. My opinions aside, I've heard from many vampire lovers that this is their favorite series, so it is definitely still worth your time! If you liked this one, you will also like the "Vampire Academy" by Richelle Mead, "Wicked Lovely" by Melissa Marr, and "Marked" by P.C. and Kristin Cast.

posted by BluHawk on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 594 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Hold on to your fish-net stockings because the action in THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE starts on the first page and never lets up. The story begins exactly where the first book in the Morganville Vampire series, GLASS HOUSES, left off. Claire, Eve, and Shane are in shock over what Shane's father and his buddies have done to Michael. Shane's father has returned to Morganville with one thing in mind: He wants to kill as many vampires as he can, even if he gets killed in the process. After the trauma Shane's family went through with the loss of his sister, and, subsequently, his mother, Shane and his father have cooked up a plan for revenge. Shane's phone call to his father sets the plan in motion and once his father arrives, Shane realizes what a mistake he's made. The protection Claire, Eve, Shane, and Michael have under the Founder is in jeopardy now that Shane's dad is causing problems. If they are thought to be involved in any kind of plan to kill the vampires, their protection will be removed and it will be open season on the occupants of the Glass House -- and believe me, there are plenty of vampires and people in Morganville who want to see them dead. When one of the most powerful vampires in town turns up dead, Shane is accused of the crime and sentenced to death, and it is up to Claire and Eve to find a way to save him. Readers will enjoy it when Claire's nemesis, Monica, gets a little of what's coming to her when the tables are turned and she is put in the victim role. Also be looking for relationships to blossom over the course of THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE, both in love and friendship. We also meet a new, likeable character named Sam. He offers aid to Claire and Eve when they are in desperate need of help. The only drawback with this book is that it isn't a stand-alone story. In order to understand the reasoning behind much of the action it would be better to read the first book in the series, GLASS HOUSES. However, in my opinion, this isn't a major drawback at all since it leads you to another great book by Rachel Caine. THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE is one of the best books I've read, and the shocking ending will leave you panting and begging for the next installment. **Reviewed by: Karin Perry

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Fun Read

    I have enjoyed all the books in the Morganville Vamp series. This book was a good mix of real life (spiked drinks, college) and vamp life. I have enjoyed the series so much that I've forward the books to friends and family. It is an interesting and fun read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love the Series

    Rachel Caine has something going. I love the Morganville series so far. I have read Glass House (Book1) and The Dead Girls Dance (Book2) and enjoyed each the same. Each book has a new and interesting twist. Just when you think things are working out , something else stirs up. Can't wait to get the rest of the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome series so far!

    Just went and picked up the rest of the series after reading book one yesterday. Dead Girl's Dance did not disappoint, it was even better than the first. The only problem is pacing yourself so you don't go through the whole series in 5 days.
    From the first page to the last it was edgy, suspenseful, sweet, romantic and well written. The main characters are all interesting and likeable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh...Okay

    This particular breed of vampire novel might not be for me... there seems to be a lot of emotional turmoil, but not much else going on. The redeemable qualities are the characters and the overall feel of the story. My opinions aside, I've heard from many vampire lovers that this is their favorite series, so it is definitely still worth your time! If you liked this one, you will also like the "Vampire Academy" by Richelle Mead, "Wicked Lovely" by Melissa Marr, and "Marked" by P.C. and Kristin Cast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series

    This is the second book of the series and I absolutely love it. All the main characters are great and they are good reads, quick reads as well but still good, I highly recommend this entire series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    First Dance

    I really love this series. Caine really capture the essence of a young mind and the challenges of growing up quickly. Claire is faced yet again with the ongoing challenges found in her new town. No spoilers here :) You will want to read them all :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TO ALL THE VAMP LOVERS OUT THERE!

    the dead girls dance is the second in the morganville vampires series, the only thing i have to say about this book is that it lives up to, and goes beyond the first! if you have read the first two or are just picking this one up buy them all at once and save yourself time, and stress. trust me on this i speak from exsperence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The building of a vamp-empire

    The Dead Girls Dance is a flawless continuation of Glass Houses. With the combination of the residents of the Glass House and the house itself there is an unstoppable force in Morganville. The Dead Girls dance is action packed and suspenseful. Rachel Caine does an amazing job guiding you through the twists and turns in the life of Claire Danvers and her newly formed friends. With alliances being formed and deals being made all over town things are growing to a head in this small Texas town and the reader is left on the edge of their seat wounding with each turn of the page what direction that trouble will come from. Fantastic read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Vamp Read

    The Dead Girls Dance was a little more thrilling and fast paced then the first book, Glass Houses. Claire is a lot stronger and Eve shows a feisty side that was not seen in Glass Houses. This book will really have you hooked to the climbing thrill of events. The Vamps seem to be more alive in this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Hold on to your fish-net stockings because the action in THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE starts on the first page and never lets up. The story begins exactly where the first book in the Morganville Vampire series, GLASS HOUSES, left off. Claire, Eve, and Shane are in shock over what Shane's father and his buddies have done to Michael. <BR/><BR/>Shane's father has returned to Morganville with one thing in mind: He wants to kill as many vampires as he can, even if he gets killed in the process. After the trauma Shane's family went through with the loss of his sister, and, subsequently, his mother, Shane and his father have cooked up a plan for revenge. Shane's phone call to his father sets the plan in motion and once his father arrives, Shane realizes what a mistake he's made. <BR/><BR/>The protection Claire, Eve, Shane, and Michael have under the Founder is in jeopardy now that Shane's dad is causing problems. If they are thought to be involved in any kind of plan to kill the vampires, their protection will be removed and it will be open season on the occupants of the Glass House -- and believe me, there are plenty of vampires and people in Morganville who want to see them dead. When one of the most powerful vampires in town turns up dead, Shane is accused of the crime and sentenced to death, and it is up to Claire and Eve to find a way to save him. <BR/><BR/>Readers will enjoy it when Claire's nemesis, Monica, gets a little of what's coming to her when the tables are turned and she is put in the victim role. Also be looking for relationships to blossom over the course of THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE, both in love and friendship. We also meet a new, likeable character named Sam. He offers aid to Claire and Eve when they are in desperate need of help. <BR/><BR/>The only drawback with this book is that it isn't a stand-alone story. In order to understand the reasoning behind much of the action it would be better to read the first book in the series, GLASS HOUSES. However, in my opinion, this isn't a major drawback at all since it leads you to another great book by Rachel Caine. THE DEAD GIRLS' DANCE is one of the best books I've read, and the shocking ending will leave you panting and begging for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    I was immensely looking forward to reading this book, and I very

    I was immensely looking forward to reading this book, and I very much enjoyed it, but I didn’t love it. Compared to the first book, it wasn’t as exciting. There was a lot of action and mystery in the first book, and for me it felt as though The Dead Girls Dance focused only on the romance between Claire and Shane, and not much else happened. I’m not all for the I’ll-give-up-my-life-for-you-even-though-I’ve-only-known-you-a-little-over-two-weeks romance. Sorry. That sort of romance is not believable and just not my thing. This book definitely also lacked that wow factor that got me so hooked on the first book. I already have books three and four lined up, but if the pace doesn’t pick up soon, I probably won’t waste my time on the rest of this series, which would be disappointing for me because I REALLY LOVED Glass Houses. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great read! I just love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    WOW !!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK

    This book is just so good i want to re-read re-read this over and over again live it i so want to read the rest of the books!! And you are never too late to read a serices

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Wonderful

    I can't put this book down. One of my favorite series so far. I would defintaly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Fun

    This book is a really fun read. It's like an entertaining mmixture of scooby doo meets a young sookie stackhouse. There are mysteries to be solved and lives to be saved but through it all our 16 year olld heroine keeps us laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Shane!!!!!

    Kay. I just LOVED this book!! Was kinda skeptical, but i just finished glass house. I just wanna k 1 thing: DO SHANE AND CLAIRE STAY TOGETHER!?!?!?XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I love this book

    My frrind kew i was into vamps and gave me the seris up to dead girls dance i love this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Flint

    The elf watches from the shadows"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good book

    I really like this series and recommend them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 594 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30