Customer Reviews for

Dead Girls Don't Lie

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars 'Dead Girls Don't Lie' is a captivating and thrilling

4.5 Stars

'Dead Girls Don't Lie' is a captivating and thrilling young adult mystery novel that will have you eagerly turning the pages for more. The story is told by Jaycee, a teenage girl who's best friend, Rachel, has just been murdered. Things like that didn't happe...
4.5 Stars

'Dead Girls Don't Lie' is a captivating and thrilling young adult mystery novel that will have you eagerly turning the pages for more. The story is told by Jaycee, a teenage girl who's best friend, Rachel, has just been murdered. Things like that didn't happen in their small town of Lake Ridge. Although Rachel had been acting strange and they had a falling out a few months before her death, Jaycee is taking her friend's murder incredibly hard. She vows to herself and to Rachel that she'll find out what happened that night. Little does she know that looks can be deceiving, and the worst danger out there might be right in your own town.

I absolutely love thrillers and this novel did not leave me disappointed. The plot was written in a complex way that intertwined several smaller story lines, laced with questions and no answers. It was a complete enigma for me to unravel, unlike most other novels of the genre. Usually I like to figure out what really happened before the characters do, but I was taken completely by surprise with this one. The entire story had me guessing and just when I thought I had a piece of the puzzle in place - the author only shifted gears and proved me wrong. I loved that I couldn't solve the mystery until the end of the book along with the characters - the thrill of the chase and putting the pieces together was one of the things I loved the most about this novel. The characters were well written as well, especially that of Jaycee - our heroine. We get to see the entirety of her character - her strengths, flaws, intelligence, love for her friends, and her overwhelming guilt. Although she's broken and blames herself for not saving Rachel that night, Jaycee promises to find out who killed Rachel and why. The other characters in the novel were rounded as well, even the sideline characters and the memories of Rachel that Jaycee had were detailed. As I mentioned earlier, the writing was exceptional and the book had a naturally urgent pace that kept me eagerly devouring each page in the attempt to figure out what was really going on. There are tons of twists and turns that the reader won't see coming, which I think definitely adds to the appeal of the book. The entirety of the book - descriptions, settings, characters, occurrences - were so well detailed and vivid that I felt like I was right beside Jaycee as it was all happening. Needless to say, I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more books by this author in the future. Very highly recommended for fans of mysteries and thrillers!

Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

posted by StephWard on September 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Bits: Jennifer Shaw Wolf is the master of misdirection. I s

Best Bits: Jennifer Shaw Wolf is the master of misdirection. I suspected who the killer was more than once, but I kept second-guessing myself because all of the potential killers are so interesting. No one is grinning menacingly or anything, and each time a character sh...
Best Bits: Jennifer Shaw Wolf is the master of misdirection. I suspected who the killer was more than once, but I kept second-guessing myself because all of the potential killers are so interesting. No one is grinning menacingly or anything, and each time a character shows a dark side, they soon display kindness. Characters who have moments of goodness can't be murderers...right? So, when the killer was finally revealed I had an "OMG WHAAAAT" moment, and then went back and connected the dots. Jaycee weren't speaking when Rachel died, but little things trigger memories and guilt. I appreciated that it was a complicated situation, and that despite what had happened to their friendship, Jaycee was still determined to get some closure for someone who had a big impact on what kind of person she was.

Nit Picks: Much like my experience with another Netgalley read, this one had random letters throughout the book. It meant that I had to guess at what characters were saying, and occasionally what was happening. I can't fault the author's writing for this, but it's really hard to be engaged in a mystery and know exactly what's going on when you can't read all portions of the book. So, it gets calculated into the overall experience. I also would have liked some of the background characters to share a bit more of their histories in the story (assuming that wasn't in some of those sentences that I missed).

posted by acornucopiaoflove on October 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Dead Girls Don't Lie' is a captivating and thrilling

    4.5 Stars

    'Dead Girls Don't Lie' is a captivating and thrilling young adult mystery novel that will have you eagerly turning the pages for more. The story is told by Jaycee, a teenage girl who's best friend, Rachel, has just been murdered. Things like that didn't happen in their small town of Lake Ridge. Although Rachel had been acting strange and they had a falling out a few months before her death, Jaycee is taking her friend's murder incredibly hard. She vows to herself and to Rachel that she'll find out what happened that night. Little does she know that looks can be deceiving, and the worst danger out there might be right in your own town.

    I absolutely love thrillers and this novel did not leave me disappointed. The plot was written in a complex way that intertwined several smaller story lines, laced with questions and no answers. It was a complete enigma for me to unravel, unlike most other novels of the genre. Usually I like to figure out what really happened before the characters do, but I was taken completely by surprise with this one. The entire story had me guessing and just when I thought I had a piece of the puzzle in place - the author only shifted gears and proved me wrong. I loved that I couldn't solve the mystery until the end of the book along with the characters - the thrill of the chase and putting the pieces together was one of the things I loved the most about this novel. The characters were well written as well, especially that of Jaycee - our heroine. We get to see the entirety of her character - her strengths, flaws, intelligence, love for her friends, and her overwhelming guilt. Although she's broken and blames herself for not saving Rachel that night, Jaycee promises to find out who killed Rachel and why. The other characters in the novel were rounded as well, even the sideline characters and the memories of Rachel that Jaycee had were detailed. As I mentioned earlier, the writing was exceptional and the book had a naturally urgent pace that kept me eagerly devouring each page in the attempt to figure out what was really going on. There are tons of twists and turns that the reader won't see coming, which I think definitely adds to the appeal of the book. The entirety of the book - descriptions, settings, characters, occurrences - were so well detailed and vivid that I felt like I was right beside Jaycee as it was all happening. Needless to say, I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more books by this author in the future. Very highly recommended for fans of mysteries and thrillers!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bits: Jennifer Shaw Wolf is the master of misdirection. I s

    Best Bits: Jennifer Shaw Wolf is the master of misdirection. I suspected who the killer was more than once, but I kept second-guessing myself because all of the potential killers are so interesting. No one is grinning menacingly or anything, and each time a character shows a dark side, they soon display kindness. Characters who have moments of goodness can't be murderers...right? So, when the killer was finally revealed I had an "OMG WHAAAAT" moment, and then went back and connected the dots. Jaycee weren't speaking when Rachel died, but little things trigger memories and guilt. I appreciated that it was a complicated situation, and that despite what had happened to their friendship, Jaycee was still determined to get some closure for someone who had a big impact on what kind of person she was.

    Nit Picks: Much like my experience with another Netgalley read, this one had random letters throughout the book. It meant that I had to guess at what characters were saying, and occasionally what was happening. I can't fault the author's writing for this, but it's really hard to be engaged in a mystery and know exactly what's going on when you can't read all portions of the book. So, it gets calculated into the overall experience. I also would have liked some of the background characters to share a bit more of their histories in the story (assuming that wasn't in some of those sentences that I missed).

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Bad Girls Don't Lie

    Good book,just read sample and already hooked.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Awesome book so far cant wait untill more comes out

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Great

    Great book! Very suspenseful and excellent story! Wow! The element of who did it had me thinking I knew who did it for the whole read! I love it when I can't figure out who the killer is, that makes the read so much more exciting! This book was excellent and the ending was stellar! I loved the plot and characters and not knowing who to trust! This book was so well written I felt like I was there with Jaycee! Excellently written! Great book! Loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Good

    I really enjoyed this.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Shocked

    The plot is incredible and the ending was a shock. Had I been younger I would give five stars, but I am not so it was weird reading from a teens viee. Great for young adults.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Amazing

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    So amazing!

    I fell in love with this book and the characters. I finished it in under 5 hours because I could not put it down! Cannot wait to see more from this author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Quite a good novel for a new author.

    The plot line made the story a very good mystery. The one objection is that the main character is made out to be an indecisive, vacillating, and self-flagellating person who cannot cease "digging her own grave" due to her penchant for meddling in matters over her head.

    All in all, DEAD GIRLS...... is a book worth reading.

    -------Leonard

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    the fault between our stars

    It was a spectacular book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Bad horrible

    Wish i didnt even look at the cove

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Serena

    Love this book . Hope u guys like it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Hey guys!

    Hey guys! If you want a tomboy gf...reply to me as Mollie! Reply soon!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Wonderful

    I like the mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Ruby

    Moans and nods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    J

    Question you r on your period right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Erica

    Love the mystery in the book and the twist and turn of the murder. The book is one of the gretest i read from this author this book is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Amazing

    This book I could not put down. It is so captivating. She is a great author. The details and everything were perfect i will never forget this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Bree's review

    Okay, I just finished this book and I have to say that Jaycee was very...naive at times. She went against almost every clue that Rachel left for her and I'm dissapointed in that. During her searches, I felt like it was that part of thr movie where some idiot says "let's split up" and the audience knows thats a bad idea. Jaycee made me feel like that. In all the book was entertaining enough, but it left some questions unanswered such as why did Evan and Skyler fight so much. This book would've most likely ended in fewer pages but I would have liked Eduardo and Jaycee to beoe a couple but it seems him too is hung up on Rachel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4