Customer Reviews for

Dead Heat

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dead Heat By Joel Rosenberg

This is one of the best series of books, I have read in a long time. It is the last book of the series. I recommend this book and the others in the series. It will thrill you and surpirse you. It gives you a different look at the world today.

posted by 999769 on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Onward Christian Soldiers

Those who have been born-again, accepting Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior, will love this book as author Rosenberg takes us through nuclear war and various other forms of evil. This is an end times story wherein only those who truly believe, and that's not all Chr...
Those who have been born-again, accepting Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior, will love this book as author Rosenberg takes us through nuclear war and various other forms of evil. This is an end times story wherein only those who truly believe, and that's not all Christians by any means, are taken by the Messiah to greet their loved ones who have also been saved but preceded them in death. Even an Ethiopian doctor who worked tirelessly in the refugee camps and saved the wife of one of the books heros declines to accept Jesus just before a bullet pierces the windshield of the ambulance he is driving and kills him. But for his hesitation, he could have been saved, but now he burns in hell for eternity. As a thriller, this book lacks suspense as the pacing is quite disjointed. We go from the deaths of millions in the first 60 pages to an alternate story where one woman is at risk of death. It is not clear why we are supposed to care for her when we have just seen millions pulverized in a millisecond. I will give author Rosenberg credit, though, for a surprise ending that only leaves you guessing what happened next.

posted by KenCady on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dead Heat By Joel Rosenberg

    This is one of the best series of books, I have read in a long time. It is the last book of the series. I recommend this book and the others in the series. It will thrill you and surpirse you. It gives you a different look at the world today.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best thriller authors writing today

    President James Macpherson is on his way to Los Angeles to give a speech at the Republican National Convention at the Staples Center. His intelligence team killed a terrorist they has been hunting for years but in his computer they find a map of the Staples Center. They think the terrorists are targeting the president but are confident that they have him protected. The Secret Service is proven wrong when container ships launch scud missiles with nuclear warheads at D.C., Seattle, Manhattan, and Southern California killing the president and many others.---------------- Vice President Oaks is now the president and he and his advisors are in a bunker deep underground. He intends to make the country who launched the bombs pay for killing millions of Americans but he has no idea what country it is. North Korea is prepared to invade the South and could have done it as they had the means. The new president of Iraq who makes Saddam Hussein look like a choir boy hates the Americans and is in league with the U.N. Secretary-General. He is prepared to go to war to prevent the Kurdish providence from succeeding and joining the new Kurdistan. Israel builds the Third Temple to the consternation of other nations. It looks like intelligence is needed to figure out who killed America and since the infrastructure is destroyed, the US must depend on its allies and what little intelligence they have from contact with the field.------------------ Joel C. Rosenberg writes a political thriller think is based on today¿s headlines and most of the events in DEAD HEAT could conceivably happen. The action is non stop from the very first page and the politicians and elected officials feel lifelike. It is interesting to see what happens when a first strike hits America and how the country reacts to most of its land made wasted. Mr. Rosenberg is fantastic writer whose chilling and exciting novels make him one of the best thriller authors writing today.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    This is a book you cannot put down

    Written in a way that keeps you captivated until the last page - this one is a keeper! I started the book and read till 3am. I simply had to go on. I finished it in two days. My husband read it in just a bit long but it didn't take him long either. He usually falls asleep reading and it takes him forever to finish a book - not so with this one! He couldn't put it down either. I now have every book that the author has written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Dead Heat

    Container ships off the east and west coasts launch a devastating nuclear attack, destroying four major U.S. cities. To maximize the effect, the attack occurs during the Republican National Convention, resulting in global implications of unprecedented proportion. ¿There was no doubt¿someone was targeting the President of the United States. And they didn¿t just want to kill him. They wanted to annihilate him and his government.¿ The plot mirrors real-time headlines of surging oil prices, a pivotal American presidential election, and increasing political concerns in Iraq, China, South America, and North Korea. The book¿s fast-paced events and cliffhangers compel the reader to find out how the world would respond to such an attack. Joel Rosenberg blends imagination with first-hand military and political knowledge to write this bone-chilling scenario of why the United States is not mentioned in end time prophecy. There are enough real-time events and historical facts in the story to make it a frightening, yet plausible, scenario. The characters in the book were caught by surprise that ¿evil had regathered while the world slept.¿ This is more than Rosenberg¿s fourth compelling political thriller. It is an individual and global challenge to pay attention to the headlines of a rapidly changing world through the lens of Biblical prophecy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Great conclusion to the five book series!

    I have read all of Joel Rosenberg's books and recommended them to others. His books are fast moving geo-political thrillers revolving around the crisis in the Middle East. He writes from a Jewish- Christian perspective. So far something from everyone of his books has happened in real life. Dead Heat begins with America being attacked by nuclear bombs in five large cities. I hope he is wrong but the way he portrays it seems very possible. Read it for yourself and draw your own conclusions. His story line is based on the current situation and Biblical prophecy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    This book was awesome! So sorry the series is over!

    This book was awesome! So sorry the series is over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    End of Time

    Your Call: Knowing of God or KNOWING God.
    Start with Rosenberg's series Last Jihaid through Dead Heat.
    A Jew, who now follows Jesus, Rosenberg sems to be a modern day prophet. His gift is knowing Biblical scripture
    While revealing a high sence of white knuckle reading that will keep you up all night long. GREAT WORK Joel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    This is a downright scary book. The real scary part is that it

    This is a downright scary book. The real scary part is that it is a very probable scenerio.

    This is without doubt, the best series of books I have read in a darn long time and I read an awful lot of books.
    You need to read all five of them to understand the characters and be able to put of the pieces together.
    If I could give these any more stars - I surely would.!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly recommend all his books

    He keeps you on the edge of your seat. I couldn't wait to turn the page or open the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Terrific

    This is one of the few books I've read that has kept me on the edge of my seat the entire way through. It was a simply amazing book, and I wholeheartedly suggest it to anybody who's a fan of thrillers, political thrillers, or just a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    must read book

    mouth opening suspense from beginning to ending. Didnt want the book to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Best series

    I have read all his books and soooo eager to see what he writes next. 12th Imam was fabulously written. I highly sugest reading them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2