Customer Reviews for

Dead Is Just a Rumor (Dead Is Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love this series!

I have been recommending this series since I first discovered it and the latest installment is a wonderful addition. I just don't know why it took me so long to read it. It was the first book I bought for my new e reader. Each book has Daisy solving a crime with her ...
I have been recommending this series since I first discovered it and the latest installment is a wonderful addition. I just don't know why it took me so long to read it. It was the first book I bought for my new e reader. Each book has Daisy solving a crime with her psychic powers, although her powers didn't really evolve until the second book in the series, Dead is a State of Mind. You can easily read this one without having read any of them, but I think it adds to them by reading them in order.

Daisy is the youngest of the Giordano sisters and each are paranormally gifted. Daisy's psychic and kinetic abilities are just now really beginning to develop and she makes full use of her limited powers in solving a blackmail mystery that has visited the town of Nightshade, CA. Daisy's father has recently returned to the family after being held by the Scourge, an anti-paranormal group. Her father is still recovering from the effects of his capture and he reacts to Daisy as if she is still twelve, her age when he disappeared. He disapproves of her were boyfriend, Ryan, who is also the chief of police's son.

Daisy wins cooking lessons with a famous television chef, Circe, who adds more than just ingredients to her famous food. Part of the story deals with the famous Jukebox, Lil, at Slim's Diner which plays songs to communicate with Daisy which leads to what will happen in the next installment, Dead is Not an Option, or at least I hope! Daisy helps unravel the blackmail mystery and maintains her loving relationship with her parents. There is only some kissing and nothing else much to worry parents. I highly recommend this to everyone since it is such an enjoyable series that will appeal to even the pickiest of readers.

posted by BookHounds on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dead is just a Rumor was an alright book to read for this six w

Dead is just a Rumor was an alright book to read for this six weeks. I’m not really one to read a lot of book but this book was enjoyable. It was hard to follow at the beginning, but then reading throughout the book was a little more interesting and exciting to read.
...
Dead is just a Rumor was an alright book to read for this six weeks. I’m not really one to read a lot of book but this book was enjoyable. It was hard to follow at the beginning, but then reading throughout the book was a little more interesting and exciting to read.
This book starts out with a rumor about Daisy and Ryan who are going to be shoo-ins for king and queen at the midnight ball. Daisy is very good friends with Samantha Devereaux who had been working really hard on the midnight ball. Samantha and Daisy have been having problems in their junior year at shade high school. Daisy was tired of winning queen at every event, so she wants her good friend Samantha to win this year for her hard work.
I would have enjoyed this book a little more if there was more mystery in the story. Other than this small difficulty it was a great book. The thrill of each page left me wanting to read more and more.
In conclusion, this book was very interesting to read for this six week. Having read this book has taught me to not believe every rumor that is told. I am not one to want to read but this book really caught my eye. Wanting to know the investigation for Samantha kept me wanting to know more. Also Daisy’s father being over protective and watching her every move while daisy trying to kept a secret.
All in all, for a fourteen year old girl it was very entertaining, but was hard to keep up with at the same time. This book has taught me to not believe every rumor. This book was very enetertaing and was breath taking at the same time. I would tell young girls my age if they enjoyed dramatic and romatic book that Dead is just a Rumor is a great book for them.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    I love this series!

    I have been recommending this series since I first discovered it and the latest installment is a wonderful addition. I just don't know why it took me so long to read it. It was the first book I bought for my new e reader. Each book has Daisy solving a crime with her psychic powers, although her powers didn't really evolve until the second book in the series, Dead is a State of Mind. You can easily read this one without having read any of them, but I think it adds to them by reading them in order.

    Daisy is the youngest of the Giordano sisters and each are paranormally gifted. Daisy's psychic and kinetic abilities are just now really beginning to develop and she makes full use of her limited powers in solving a blackmail mystery that has visited the town of Nightshade, CA. Daisy's father has recently returned to the family after being held by the Scourge, an anti-paranormal group. Her father is still recovering from the effects of his capture and he reacts to Daisy as if she is still twelve, her age when he disappeared. He disapproves of her were boyfriend, Ryan, who is also the chief of police's son.

    Daisy wins cooking lessons with a famous television chef, Circe, who adds more than just ingredients to her famous food. Part of the story deals with the famous Jukebox, Lil, at Slim's Diner which plays songs to communicate with Daisy which leads to what will happen in the next installment, Dead is Not an Option, or at least I hope! Daisy helps unravel the blackmail mystery and maintains her loving relationship with her parents. There is only some kissing and nothing else much to worry parents. I highly recommend this to everyone since it is such an enjoyable series that will appeal to even the pickiest of readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Dead is just a rumor

    I just started this book and it is great you guys should try it.At first i wasnt to sure of getting it but i read the first chapter and as i was reading it just kept pulling me in to chapter 2. Try it it's great!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Dead is just a Rumor was an alright book to read for this six w

    Dead is just a Rumor was an alright book to read for this six weeks. I’m not really one to read a lot of book but this book was enjoyable. It was hard to follow at the beginning, but then reading throughout the book was a little more interesting and exciting to read.
    This book starts out with a rumor about Daisy and Ryan who are going to be shoo-ins for king and queen at the midnight ball. Daisy is very good friends with Samantha Devereaux who had been working really hard on the midnight ball. Samantha and Daisy have been having problems in their junior year at shade high school. Daisy was tired of winning queen at every event, so she wants her good friend Samantha to win this year for her hard work.
    I would have enjoyed this book a little more if there was more mystery in the story. Other than this small difficulty it was a great book. The thrill of each page left me wanting to read more and more.
    In conclusion, this book was very interesting to read for this six week. Having read this book has taught me to not believe every rumor that is told. I am not one to want to read but this book really caught my eye. Wanting to know the investigation for Samantha kept me wanting to know more. Also Daisy’s father being over protective and watching her every move while daisy trying to kept a secret.
    All in all, for a fourteen year old girl it was very entertaining, but was hard to keep up with at the same time. This book has taught me to not believe every rumor. This book was very enetertaing and was breath taking at the same time. I would tell young girls my age if they enjoyed dramatic and romatic book that Dead is just a Rumor is a great book for them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Anomymous

    One word : awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Amazing

    Ive read the whole eries and I love them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    LOVE IT

    Love this series. Best one yet! Cant wait to read the next one :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Wow

    This is a great book thank

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Wow

    This is a great series its not to grown up but its still not to kiddy! Im 11 and i reccomend this series for all ages\grades 4th-7th i really loved this book and i hope you do to!!!!" :))))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Amazing

    Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    This is a great, light-hearted and fast-paced YA series of books

    This is a great, light-hearted and fast-paced YA series of books! It is a YA book so you have young dating drama which appeals to that audience. The quirky, enjoyable blend of paranormal, romance, mystery, and light-hearted life experiences is engaging. The main character, Daisy is likable, sassy, and relate-able. I think the characters are well developed and likable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Magges books

    My review to this book is that its a great book to sit and read for hour. It is a book that you could read over and over and it would still be funny and not boreing. When i read this book i can not put it down! This book is that kind of book that u stay up all night want to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Awesome

    Ive read the first 3 books in the series i wonder if this will be good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    **bewtboo ever

    This is a quiclk easy read. It is a vert good book. But reafa all te ohers first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    **Awesome Book**

    I have read all the books in the series. I love them! They are light hearted, quick, fun reads. This book is fantastic and thrilling. In the book people are being black mailed and the main character, Daisy, investigates her town to find the black mailer. I recommend this book if you like mystery and fantasy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Amazing book

    Im a huge fan of the dead serious , and this was outstanding and i absoutly loved it! So ready to start reading Dead is not an option. Can not wait for more. This book is my favorite out of all of them. Just can't stop talking about it. In love with book. THE DEAD SERIES IS AMAZING! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    OMG

    I have been reading the series and cant wait to find out wat happens but my book won't download! Urg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Okay quick question

    IS SHE WRITING ANYMORE THE SERIES SORT OF STOPS AT A DEAD END PUN INTENDED I MEAN I WAS DUMBFOUND I THOUGHT IT WAS circe at first or even penny cuz penny is sort of a blackmailer if u no wat i mean hopefully shell write more ill cry if this ends oh and these shud totally be made into a movie and if i cudi wud rate this 10 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Read it

    You have to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Best book in the series!

    this book of their senior year together was just amazing. It was the best book of the series so far. I can't wait to see how Ryan and Daisy are coming along in the next book, "Dead is Not An Option". TTYL :D Oh and check out my profile and add me as a friend.LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    these books are great!m

    I totally love this series!! I just love how she writes! So much detail and so frisky!! Definetly good for teenage girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6