Customer Reviews for

Dead Is a State of Mind (Dead Is Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dead is a state of mind

OMG RYAN SOUNDS SOOO HOT AS A WEREWOLF!!!!!!

posted by 9867586 on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pinks review

Dead is a state of mind is a good book and the authour really picks up from what happens in dead is the new black. The conflict of this story is differnet from the first book and it kept me to want to read more. Cant wait to read the next book! If you want to contact me...
Dead is a state of mind is a good book and the authour really picks up from what happens in dead is the new black. The conflict of this story is differnet from the first book and it kept me to want to read more. Cant wait to read the next book! If you want to contact me you know what to do ;) thanks for reading my review.
- pink

posted by Daddyof5greatkids on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Dead is a state of mind

    OMG RYAN SOUNDS SOOO HOT AS A WEREWOLF!!!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    Dead Is A State Of Mind

    I really enjoyed the first book in this series(Dead Is The New Black) and was anxious to move onto the second and I'm so glad I did. This series so far has just been a lot of fun to read. Daisy is such a great teenager to read about mostly because, for the most part she acts like a teenager. Duke Sherrad shows up at Nightshade High and instantly sets his sights on Daisy. This definitely causes some teenage male jealousy for Ryan, Daisy's best friend gone boyfriend. Of course Daisy is feeling more and more insecure about her relationship with Ryan because he has been very secretive lately. Plus prom is coming up quick and Ryan still hasn't asked Daisy to go with him or mentioned it at all. Now throw in a ghost disrupting the Council meetings and a new murderous werewolf in town and you've got another great Dead Is novel. I checked this book out from my fabulous local library and received no compensation for my glowing report of this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but not great.

    It's a good read for just whatever, but it doesn't really challenge you so you can enjoy everything. However, I think Perez does a good job with her characters which I find pretty believeable which is nice. I think that story would be better if it were more in depth, but it seems to be meant as a quick little interesting read, which it is. It's worth reading. I suggest reading it if you've read the first one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I found this to be a cute quick read. It is YA book so you hav

    I found this to be a cute quick read.

    It is YA book so you have young dating drama which appeals to that audience. The quirky, enjoyable blend of paranormal, romance, mystery, and light-hearted life experiences is engaging. The main character, Daisy is likeable, sassy, and relatable. I did get a bit annoyed with her clueless assumptions about her boyfriend and how long it took her to figure things out. (they have been friends for too many years for this to happen in real life) She does get it in the end though and all is well.

    It is clean with only vague references to High School locker room topics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Awesomeness Bookv

    Do you like thrills and chills books? Well this is a book for you!!!!!! It's called Dead is a State of Mind, and the author is Marlene Perez.
    There is a school dace coming up, and Ryan wants to ask Daisy to the school dance. But strange things are happening to Daisy. Like when Daisy went to the funeral home, there was a ghost. And the vase was shaking but no one was near it. When a few weeks went by it was Daisy Birthday!!!!!!:) Also she had broke up with Ryan.:( Also a few days later Daisy friend's mom was getting divorced. Do you want to know if Daisy and Ryan went to the dance? Well you got to read this book!!!!
    I like this book because it has lots of mystery, and it's a little scary. Also I would recommend this book to girls and boys ages 10 and up. You better read this book, or you are going to miss the best book of your life!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    This is...

    A good book i think it should have been alot longer to tell the rest of Daisy's story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    dead is a state of mind

    this book is emotional and has action. this book is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Daisy Giordano is back for another installment of Nightshade, CA, weirdness.

    This time, a beloved teacher has been murdered - and it looks like a werewolf is to blame. To top off everything else, a new and handsome student named Duke Sherrad moves into town proclaiming to be a fortune teller descended from Gypsies.

    Daisy doesn't believe he is authentic and hopes to prove he is a fraud. She suspects he is connected to the teacher's death in some way and works with her sisters to solve the case.

    Daisy's relationship with Ryan is put to the test and Poppy finds love in a very strange place. All of this takes place while Daisy is in charge of planning the Prom's After Party.

    DEAD IS A STATE OF MIND is just as enjoyable as the first book in the series, DEAD IS THE NEW BLACK. While you will probably enjoy this story if you were to pick it up first, it would be better if you had the back-story from the previous book.

    Also, be sure to look for the third in the series, DEAD IS SO LAST YEAR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    My review

    i liked how the books were very good, they wanted me to keep me reading. although it really isnt that challenging, i still enjoyed it. i am looking forward to reading any other new books you come out with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2