Customer Reviews for

Dead Is the New Black (Dead Is Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

DEAD IS SO IN!!

I loved this book so much my friend was not that into it but I loved it so much. Its something you can relate too. I cried at maybe 1 or 2 parts because Im one of those girls who read a book and cry about something happy and sad. This was such a great book!!! I got the ...
I loved this book so much my friend was not that into it but I loved it so much. Its something you can relate too. I cried at maybe 1 or 2 parts because Im one of those girls who read a book and cry about something happy and sad. This was such a great book!!! I got the second one yesterday and ooooooo I read the 1st 2 pages and WOW! Read it, its awesome!

posted by fanpirebookworm on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cute Mystery

Dead is the New Black was an interesting paranormal mystery. It is also a spoof on the popularity of vampires recently, and I commend it for being tongue-in-cheek about the whole subject. The story is narrated by Daisy Giordano, the only non-psychic in a family of psych...
Dead is the New Black was an interesting paranormal mystery. It is also a spoof on the popularity of vampires recently, and I commend it for being tongue-in-cheek about the whole subject. The story is narrated by Daisy Giordano, the only non-psychic in a family of psychics. Her mother is a psychic who uses her powers to help the local sheriff solve cases, and her powers have never failed her before. But now Daisy's mother is stumped by a case, and Daisy is determined to take matters into her own hands and solve it for her. With the help of her friend Ryan, her sisters Poppy and Rose, and her frenemy Samantha, the most popular girl at school who's been looking a little dead lately, Daisy discovers the plot of an evil vampire. Daisy's search becomes frantic as more and more girls in her town get sick and die. The book has suspense, but the plot is very predictable. We know from chapter one that Daisy and Ryan will end up dating. The vampire's identity is pretty obvious for most of the story and I felt that Daisy could have been more of a rounded character. Many of the characters were flat and bordered on stereotypes, and I felt Marlene Perez could have developed them more. However, this novel is a cute and fast-paced mystery that is worth the read. And it left me willing to read the next installment in the series.

posted by dholland08 on February 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    DEAD IS SO IN!!

    I loved this book so much my friend was not that into it but I loved it so much. Its something you can relate too. I cried at maybe 1 or 2 parts because Im one of those girls who read a book and cry about something happy and sad. This was such a great book!!! I got the second one yesterday and ooooooo I read the 1st 2 pages and WOW! Read it, its awesome!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paranormal Book #1

    This book is the first in the "Dead Is..." series by Marlene Perez. She begins her stories with perfect audience grabbing technics. This book has so much paranormal activity in it that you just can't forget it!!! And if you love mystery, then I suggest you buy and read the series. It is only a series of 3 books right now, but they are just too good to not read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Addmost helpful

    This story was amazing! I absoultly loved it!, great beginning and endding i finished it in a day. Easy read about 123 pages long. Very intresting book with good imagination. You will love this book no matter what kind of person you are! This book is litterly worth every penny!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great series

    This series is the best. Romance,psycics,paranormals,ad a missing dad. Wat more can you want. My frend showed me to them and i love for it. Daisy Girodano has 2 sisters, Rose and Poppy. Their mom is psycic- so are Rose and Poppy-and does detective kind of work. People die and things happen. A great series thats a must read. TAKE IT FROM A 12 YR OLD! YALL WILL LOVE IT MIGHTY STRONG!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Great book!

    Sweet read. I loved it. Lots of action, romance. Bad thing....it's over 6 bucks for 123 pages. Wish it was longer or cheaper.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Dead is

    This book was great! The books in the series are kind of short though. I think it would be better if they combined some of the stories into a book, but seperated so you could tell if they were different stories. But overall, it was a great book!!!!!!!!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    CG reviews #3

    When i first bought the book i thought im not going to likit that much. Turned out i LOVED IT! Read this series better each book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Love

    I luv the series.its a must read for everyone

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Did I like it ? Did I like it so you ask...

    I loved it! This whole series is amazing it keeps you on your toes! Marlene is a terrific author. It keeps you to where you just want to keep on predicting and its so good your predictions probably wont be right, atleast mine werent haha. The book can begin to get scary but then it is so good. Everyone was saying how good of a book it is so i picked it up and agreed with them. I actually read the paper book before i had my nook. Im on the last book right now. Well the nook dosent have the next two so I guess im not going to read them. But other than that Id have to give them 5 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Dead is the New Black is an awesome book!!

    In Dead is the new black it was first talking about how every one fallowed the doings of Samantha Devereaux, and ever since she came back dead was the new fashion, and she just came even more popular, and everyone started waring what she wore. Everything usually revolved around her in the school, they admire her. Daisy and Samantha were best friends before high school began and before Samantha told rumors about Daisy. Ryan Mendez was the closest friend she had in Night Shade High. When Daisy finds out that her sister is dating a werewolf, a soul sucking vampire is on the lose, and finally dates her best friend, Ryan Mendez, her life turns crazy.
    As all of this stuff starts to get to Daisy, with her new cheer leading life, practice feels weird for her because at first it seemed that none of the other cheer leaders liked her, but they were just warming up to her because of Daisy being a temporary replacement for the other girl. Her and Ryan were taking it slow, mostly because Daisy still couldn't believe that Ryan liked her. As far as the new creatures she found out about goes, she is still trying to figure out why some of the cheer leaders are getting hurt or dying, but she knew it had something to do with her psychic family and the not ordinary life she'd been living.
    I enjoyed this book because of the suspense it brought me. Marlene put visuals in my head and I could always understand what she was talking about. I would recommend this book to any one who likes suspenseful fairy tales with vampires, where wolfs, and other scary creatures. Also to people that like to have drama mixed with love and romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Avalon

    If u ove the Dead Is series a lot, go to tail fin res one and welcome to Nightshade!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Sweet!!!!!!

    Awsome, lov it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Wow

    I brought the hard cover book and loved it and then brouht the whole series! Daisy and Ryan have such a good story and goes through the ups and downs of a relationship but with paranormal activity going around in their town. Whats not to love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Mystery

    Dead is the New Black was an interesting paranormal mystery. It is also a spoof on the popularity of vampires recently, and I commend it for being tongue-in-cheek about the whole subject. The story is narrated by Daisy Giordano, the only non-psychic in a family of psychics. Her mother is a psychic who uses her powers to help the local sheriff solve cases, and her powers have never failed her before. But now Daisy's mother is stumped by a case, and Daisy is determined to take matters into her own hands and solve it for her. With the help of her friend Ryan, her sisters Poppy and Rose, and her frenemy Samantha, the most popular girl at school who's been looking a little dead lately, Daisy discovers the plot of an evil vampire. Daisy's search becomes frantic as more and more girls in her town get sick and die. The book has suspense, but the plot is very predictable. We know from chapter one that Daisy and Ryan will end up dating. The vampire's identity is pretty obvious for most of the story and I felt that Daisy could have been more of a rounded character. Many of the characters were flat and bordered on stereotypes, and I felt Marlene Perez could have developed them more. However, this novel is a cute and fast-paced mystery that is worth the read. And it left me willing to read the next installment in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I thought that this book would be boring about a killer. But I was wrong, death is one of the many things in this story. I have read this series about 20 times, and each time it is diffferent

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    This book was amazing!
    Daisy Giordano lives in Nightshade, California, a town where things aren't always as they seem. When Samantha "the Divine" Douveraux arrives back to school looking, well, dead Daisy can't help to wonder if Sam, her ex-best friend, might be turning into a vampire. Ryan Daisy's best friend (who is turning into something more) helps Daisy solve this mysterious case.
    This is a book that should be read by everyone! Although it wasnt that long ( a finished it in one sitting ) it was very ejoyable! I instantly fell in love with Nightshade!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the greatest book ever

    i am a person who dose not like to read but i could not put the book down there is so much going on in the story u just can put the book down until you are done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Dead is AWESOME

    Daisy Giordano is a Junior at Nightshade High School. Nightshade, California is not only a weird name, but it's a REALLY weird place. Daisy, who lives with her mom, who works for the police as a physic, and two sisters, Poppy and Rose, are a physic family. Except, Daisy is a "norm", meaning she has no physic abilities. Ryan Mendez, her best friend, helps her figure out why all the Cheerleaders are getting sick. Samantha Devereaux is the head cheerleader and as of last summer was a total prep, but after she comes back she looks almost, dead. Everyone starts following her trends and becomes, fake Goth. The book twist turns and the culprit of the disappearing cheerleaders is. a Vampire.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Cute

    3.5 stars for this.

    First off, that cover is eye catching. Who doesn't love black nail polish. The pink background was a nice touch.

    Second, this had some cheesy and somewhat eye rolling moments. But its part of the charm in a way. It took me a little longer than I thought to finish this.

    Just saw it on the shelf one day at the library when I was bored and looking for something new and in a way, random to read. This caught my eye.

    The summary sounded like my kind of read and noticed the length of the book and thought, this'll be interesting. And it was, even cute at times. That's how I'd describe this. Cute.

    I did like the sister bond the three had going later on. At first I was like uh oh, is it going to be one of those where they don't like each other? But alas it wasn't so that's good. And the mystery was okay but had its moments as well.

    Near the end, seemed to wrap up pretty quickly. Still, a quick but interesting cute read none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Amazimg

    I read and fell im love with the characters and couldnt get enought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11