Customer Reviews for

Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Wow! This was the first book I read by Randy Singer and I cannot

    Wow! This was the first book I read by Randy Singer and I cannot wait to read his other books. I have enjoyed reading John Grisham books in the past and this book was even better with a Christian perspective added.

    This story follows Landon and Kerri after Landon's release from prison through his quest to become a lawyer to starting work with McNaughton & Clay, working on the Elias King case, and the many bumps thrown into his life along the way. There were many unexpected surprises right up until the last page

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I'm not going to give anything away by saying there are surprise

    I'm not going to give anything away by saying there are surprises in this book. But wow, another page turning, lawyer thriller by Randy Singer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales was a good read! There were some twi

    Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales was a good read! There were some twists in the plot which took the story down many possible paths which was a bonus. The suspense was palpable as the story ramped up with different characters, the author did a good job of keeping the storyline somewhat hidden. I liked the underlying theme of Grace, not only from God, but amongst a few of the characters.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Excellent! That is my one word opinion of this book! I absolutel

    Excellent! That is my one word opinion of this book! I absolutely loved it! Randy Singer is one of my favorite authors. His legal thrillers are excellent! This book had me on the edge of my seat trying to solve the murder in this story. I would recommend this book to everyone! Just don't start it at night...it will keep you up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

      This is my second Randy Singer novel. After reading The Justic

      This is my second Randy Singer novel. After reading The Justice Game, I knew I needed to read Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales! {Thank you Tyndale Rewards and Tyndale Blog Network for these two books!}
     Randy Singer is a master at creating characters who are down to earth ordinary and utterly fascinating all at the same time... reminding me that the people I see every day have secrets and stories. Landon and Kerri Reed could be my neighbors, Harry McNaughten could be the lawyer next door.
    Once I met these people I had to keep reading, watching the choices they made and listening to the questions they asked, being pulled along by the story.

    This book begins with two main plots that merge and intertwine... Sean Phoenix, former CIA Operative with his own personal reasons to have a hate-list, and Landon Reed, redeemed sinner and rookie lawyer grateful for a second chance.
    These lives connect in Randy Singer's book, which most surely is a Legal Thriller. This book has kevlar vests, questions of ethics, snipers rifles, courtroom battles, explosions, and dead lawyers.

    Randy Singer's book make a "thinking reader" out of you as you read... the themes are drawn so naturally that you can't help but think about them. Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales lets us think about innocence and guilt, defense and prosecution, truth and deceit. (As well as absorb a fine mystery.)

    I will be adding this book to my read-again shelf, and recommending it to my Dad along with The Justice Game. Thank you Randy Singer and Tyndale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    A good read

    Being a Grisham fan, I thought I would give Randy Singer a try. I went back to this book after reading his latest, The Advocate, which is substantially different in style. Now I'm hooked. Good story lines with characters that you can care about. Will keep you guessing. If you enjoy this genre, definitely pick this book up and give it a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    4 stars

    Keeps you guessing until the very end. Did not predict the conclusion but neatly ties up all storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Ribbon and Tinsel

    Rookie lawyer Landon Reed's mentor dies, and two other of the firm's partners are targeted. This leaves him with the sole remaining partner, who hasn't been in a courtroom for years, to find out what his mentor knew and what his strategy was, as they try to do right by the clients who have stuck with them.

    The book chugs along until about the halfway mark, when the reader suddenly sits up at a reference to the assassin. Wait, what? The assassin?

    Singer spins a complex plot, but he can't seem to resist one more thing. The story is a package all tied up with a bow, and then the author decides it needs tinsel too. In particular, there may be one twist too many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    The Christian references are annoying

    If you're not a right to life Christian you won't enjoy this author. He can tell a good story but it's ruined for non Christians by the writer's constant referrals to prayer, God, and rights of the unborn. I'm only a quarter of the way through and mad at myself for buying this book since I had similar feelings about the first book I read of his. I enjoyed "Dying Declaration" in spite of the central role religion played. Now I'm just annoyed. If you're a Muslim, Jew, Hindu or a non theist you won't like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a real page-turner and kept

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a real page-turner and kept me guessing until the end. The twists and turns in the storyline kept me thoroughly engrossed in the story. I would definitely read more works by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great read

    The book was a hit from the first chapter. I highly recommend it if you like modern day mysteries with a bit of romance thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great read

    This book was a real page turner. It kept me guessing right till the end.
    You will not be dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Engaging Read

    This was a great book. At first I couldn't figure out how the different story lines would connect, but they came together in such an engaging way. It was a story with an unexpected ending. I was only able to read short parts at a time, but got so involved in the story towards the end I had to sit down and read the last 100+ pages at one time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    My husband read this book and told me it was very good. He told

    My husband read this book and told me it was very good. He told me that he would read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    This was the first book I read by Randy Singer. Thanks to Tynda

    This was the first book I read by Randy Singer. Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers, this was a free book. My initial thoughts were this book would have a lot of religion references. I was very wrong. There were references of grace and god, that were a perfect fit. The characters of Landon, Kerri, and Harry are understood. I don't want to be a "spoiler". This is an AWESOME book and I look forward to reading more by Randy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am reluctant to leave a review for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales,

    I am reluctant to leave a review for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales, because I didn’t finish it. I did, however, commit to reviewing books for the Tyndale Summer Reading Program, so I will.

    I requested and started reading this book because of a friend’s recommendation. This friend is male, and he reads sports/thriller/mystery-related stories, written by male authors. I don’t. Yet, I said I’d give it a try.

    The story is written well, the characters are compelling, and the story is layered with suspense. I’m just not as intrigued by these types of books as others (mostly male—I’m assuming) might be. I won’t deduct stars—because as I said, it isn’t fair to do so when I didn’t finish the book—but I will say it is well-written, and probably a great read for those who enjoy this genre.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy free from publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Randy Singer always provides a great read and this book is no ex

    Randy Singer always provides a great read and this book is no exception. In "Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales", he weaves several stories, all with strong and multi-layered characters together for a very satisfying ending.

    Landon Reed was in prison for two years as the consequence for his role in a point-shaving scheme when he was a college quarterback. Three years after his release, Landon, his wife Kerri. and their young daughter, Maddie are trying to restructure their lives. Landon has become a lawyer and Kerri is a local news personality.

    Colorful lawyer Harry McNaughten hires Landon as an associate and they begin to work on a high-profile murder case...which leads to a number of consequences no one could have dreamed of.

    Interesting characters, love, loyalty, murder, mystery, intrigue...all found here in one great book. Check it out for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    This is an Excellent Legal Thriller. It has murder, courtroom dr

    This is an Excellent Legal Thriller. It has murder, courtroom drama, suspicions, twists, and a great, unexpected ending. I agree with the cover of the book, which compares Singer favorably with John Grisham. I'm impressed with Randy Singer's writing. This book is absorbing, and I felt connected with the characters. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Has it all

    A really good, fun mystery, with very subtle religious undertones. Keeps you turning the pages as quickly as you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Landon was jailed for points shaving in football games. Now he i

    Landon was jailed for points shaving in football games. Now he is out of jail and looking for a job as a lawyer. An older lawyer hires him and soon Landon is involved in a case involving a murder.

    I thought this was a well written book with plenty of action. The ending was good with a twist that I didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2