Customer Reviews for

Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    4 stars

    Keeps you guessing until the very end. Did not predict the conclusion but neatly ties up all storylines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great read

    The book was a hit from the first chapter. I highly recommend it if you like modern day mysteries with a bit of romance thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    My husband read this book and told me it was very good. He told

    My husband read this book and told me it was very good. He told me that he would read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am reluctant to leave a review for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales,

    I am reluctant to leave a review for Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales, because I didn’t finish it. I did, however, commit to reviewing books for the Tyndale Summer Reading Program, so I will.

    I requested and started reading this book because of a friend’s recommendation. This friend is male, and he reads sports/thriller/mystery-related stories, written by male authors. I don’t. Yet, I said I’d give it a try.

    The story is written well, the characters are compelling, and the story is layered with suspense. I’m just not as intrigued by these types of books as others (mostly male—I’m assuming) might be. I won’t deduct stars—because as I said, it isn’t fair to do so when I didn’t finish the book—but I will say it is well-written, and probably a great read for those who enjoy this genre.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy free from publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Landon was jailed for points shaving in football games. Now he i

    Landon was jailed for points shaving in football games. Now he is out of jail and looking for a job as a lawyer. An older lawyer hires him and soon Landon is involved in a case involving a murder.

    I thought this was a well written book with plenty of action. The ending was good with a twist that I didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Landon Reed is a college football player who did time for a poin

    Landon Reed is a college football player who did time for a point-shaving conviction. After becoming a Christian in prison and doing his time, he is released, marries his girlfriend who remained loyal to him, and becomes a lawyer. He is given an opportunity by an older lawyer who becomes a mentor to him to join his firm and is quickly embroiled in a murder trial.

    This story takes many twists and turns and has a lot of characters to keep track of. Additionally, there are some flashbacks to the past to give readers more information about characters. Because of all the information coming to the reader, this is not a light fluffy book to read in a Sunday afternoon. It takes some concentration and thought while reading to fully appreciate this book, which I enjoyed.

    I love books that offer surprises and twists and turns. Singer offers that as well as a well-thought out plot and believable characters. If you like courtroom drama, mystery, suspense, and real characters that struggle with everyday challenges, this book is for you. I enjoyed this book and will read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales by Randy Singer As the story opens,

    Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales by Randy Singer

    As the story opens, we meet Landon Reed. Sentenced to 2 years in prison for his part in a college football point-shaving scandal, he is about to be released. The first thing Landon wants to do his marry his college sweetheart. And, after that, get his law degree.

    But, who's going to hire an ex-con-turned-lawyer?

    Oddly enough, the same man who sat on the board that judged Landon's fitness to take the bar exam, and defended him in court over a bar brawl started by a drunk. Landon may be sorry.

    His life is about to get very, very complicated. When his employer and mentor is murdered, when two other partners die in a plane crash, it is up to the first-year lawyer and the sole remaining partner to conduct a murder trial, hold the law firm together, and not become the next victims.

    At the same time, Landon's reporter wife becomes involved with the, possibly shady, owner of a security company who is leaking stories to her about corporate misconduct and secret government missions. As Kerri's career options increase, so does the danger to her family.

    ~*~*~

    This is the first book I've read by Randy Singer. Always a fan of legal thrillers, I was moderately concerned that the pastor-slash-lawyer would be heavy-handed with his 'message'. I needn't have worried.

    The characters lead by example, making them all the more powerful in their subtlety. And the ... bad guys ... aren't so irredeemably bad that they aren't, in some ways, slightly sympathetic.

    The legal twists and turns were riveting and kept me flipping pages until I couldn't keep my eyes open, only to wake up 4 hours later and reach for the book again. Not everyone is what they seem; and, yet, they are.

    Though I was fairly certain where the author was going, I missed some very subtle signs that, in hindsight, were obvious. But, even looking back, the ending was a complete surprise.

    Nicely done, Mr. Singer. Nicely done.

    ~*~*~

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the Tyndale Blog Network book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1