Customer Reviews for

Dead Man Rising (Dante Valentine Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    PB/Urban Fantasy: Book 2 of the Dante Valentine series.This book

    PB/Urban Fantasy: Book 2 of the Dante Valentine series.This book was a poor sequel to the first book "Working For The Devil".
    Even though she has more cash than she can ever spend, she didn't quit her day job, bounty hunting. This series takes place in the future so it's like a anti-Stephanie Plum in an Eve Dallas setting, oh yeah, with demons.
    Dante gets a job by the police and she and her sidekick Jace go off to solve some murders. Sounds good....well, it's not.
    The first part of the book was how Dante lives her life without Japhrimel. I had to fast forward over her massage therapy and fight training to get over her depression. There is constant references to Japhrimel, her aching shoulder, she never has to work again, and her immortality. By the time we get to the morgue, I tired. The author constantly has one piece of dialog with two or three paragraphs of a description of how what the person said made Dante feel. OMG: I had to start skipping paragraphs and start looking for quotation marks to find an answer to a simple question. There was no real dialog or banter. I hated it. Then when Japhrimel does show up, it sounds like he may be a apparition of her mind. I LOVED THE FIRST BOOK SO MUCH! What happened? The first book had a better plot, betrayal, lust, and a hole lot of Lucifer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great follow up!!!

    This book was a must read!! After reading Working For The Devil it was a must to read this. I am so in love with Japh. And Dante is a work of art. I felt as if i was in a movie and Dante and I was in this together. I definitely recommend for anyone curious to read the first book so that you can fully appreciate the story between these 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Second edition in an exciting new series!,

    Welcome back Japh! I loved this book, it was a solid read. Very entertaining and action packed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    If you Love Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake and Princess Meredith - read the Dante Valentine novels!

    I agree, if you have not read Working for the Devil which is the first book in the series, you have to start there. You won't fully appreciate the story if you don't. I'd read my way through all of the available Anita Blake and Princess Meredith books by Hamilton and was hungry for a good read, so I took a chance on Working for the Devil and was immediately hooked! Dante Valentine is a Necromance-for-hire, but it's a whole different take and world. Demons, the Devil and a post semi-apocalyptic world - it's a fun ride!! Don't be afraid to check it out, you won't be dissappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    In instant favorite!

    The second book in the fabulously addicting Dante Valentine series that started with Working For The Devil, this book captures everything one could ask for in a dark fantasy: magic, action, romance and attitude. With characters that are at once easy to relate to and larger than life, and a voice that is full of sharp wit, Dead Man Rising is as good as it gets! If your looking for a book with Demons, Necromancers and Shamans (oh, my) or simply an immersive story that is impossible to put down, look no farther, you¿ve found it! In this series, I would say, it¿s almost imperative you read in order, other than that, the only done side is the next one doesn¿t come out until September. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    An Awesome Read!

    Before I say anything about how incredible this book is, I insist you read the first book in this series, WORKING FOR THE DEVIL, to set the stage for the characters involved, their background stories, and the questions left unanswered at the end of that first book. This is important, because it makes DEAD MAN RISING even more satisfying, since every cliffhanger from WORKING FOR THE DEVIL is satisfied completely by this second book in the Dante Valentine series, which picks up after the first one without skipping a beat. The only warning I would give is that this second book is much more violent than the first one, but that is in keeping with its plot. I would also recommend DEAD MAN RISING to anyone struggling with childhood ghosts from an abusive or dysfunctional past. Danny also struggles with this issue, and the way in which she finally resolves and overcomes the pain of these childhood memories would be very helpful, I think, for anyone dealing with a painful past. I would love to say more, but can't without giving away any of the surprises in the book, and there are many. I can say the writing, plotting, and characterization are superb. Lilith Saintcrow is truly a masterful novelist, and this series is my favorite in the urban fantasy genre. Read it and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed. I'm hopelessly hooked and can't wait for the next Valentine book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    great urban fantasy

    Necromance Dante ¿Danny Valentine¿ goes from one bounty job to another knowing not to remember the death of her lover, the fallen demon Japhrimel. He is fallen because he had tied himself to a human female and to save her life he turned her into a half demon who is almost invulnerable, doesn¿t age, is beautiful beyond anything human and has black on her aura. Her ex-lover Jace, who walked out on her years ago, is back in her life a Shaman who works with her and lives in her home waiting for the day she will turn to him as a lover. --- Danny¿s running comes to a halt when her closest friend, a police detective and Necromance asks for her help on a case where psionics are being tortured and killed in a similar manner. Their wards were penetrated from the inside and they all went to the magic school for orphans Rigger Hall, run by an abusive sexual predator, the same school Dante went to as a child. She must find the link that binds the victims but in doing so she puts herself and those she loves in danger. --- Readers who love the works of Charlaine Harris, Laurel K. Hamilton and Kim Harrison will be totally bewitched by DEAD MAN RISING as Lilith Saintcrow is one of the best urban fantasists writing today. Her characters are well drawn and totally realistic and her heroine is a strong woman with powerful magic who wonders if she is still human even while she grieves the death of her demon lover and feels guilty for not being able to love Jace the way he needs her to. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    4.5 stars! I want more!

    She is THE Dante 'Danny' Valentine, world-class Necromance who retired at the top of her game after a hush-hush bounty hunt that nobody can dig up any information on except for the Nuevo Rio Mob War. (Previous book 'Working For the Devil'.) She was genetically altered by a Fallen demon, Japhrimel 'Japh'. Danny still has the mark upon her left shoulder, where Lucifer made Japh her familiar. No one would have ever believed it had they been informed that there was one thing that terrified Dante almost to the brink of death - Rigger Hall. ................. Until the age of thirteen, Dante had her caseworker, Lewis. When he died, Dante's life became a living nightmare. She was a collared girl pushed into the Hegemony Psi program. An orphan sent into Rigger Hall. Headmaster Mirovitch ruled Rigger Hall with an iron fist. No one knew he was a Feeder. He was well-camouflaged. The school was his private playground filled with disposable psions. ................... To keep her sanity, Danny has blocked out everything about that time. But now psychics all over are being brutally murdered. The school is the only link. Dante must face her past or there may not BE a future. ................. Things get even worse when Lucifer calls her. He is looking for Dante's lover - the one he has already killed. As strange as that sounds, Danny has no time or urge to contemplate the Devil's lies. She has no idea which fiend or friend to trust. Her time is running out, in more ways than one. .................... ***** Almost as excellent as the first. Readers who pay close attention will (sometimes) see some clues as to what will happen in Dante's near future. Since Dante is secondarily gifted with precognition, I thought these flashes to be a brilliant addition to the story. BRAVA! Author Lilith Saintcrow fleshes out her main characters even more in this novel. Danny was made even more believable to me when I learned that she actually has some flaws. New characters are introduced as well. Danny makes some powerful new friends that may come in handy during the next episode. On that note, according to the teaser chapter at the end of this story, the next Dante Valentine novel will be released in July 2007 and titled 'The Devil's Right Hand'. Highly recommended reading! *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    Could not put this down.

    This book had me so inthralled that I actually jumped when someone came into the room. The attention to detail was such that I actually felt that I was there. Definately worth the wait! Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4