Customer Reviews for

The Dead Man in Indian Creek

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love It!!!!

This book is AWESOME!!!!!!!!! My friend recommended it to me and im so glad she did! I wouldn't recommend it to 8 or younger because it has a few inapropriate words and actions in it though. Have fun reading it

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Adult Themes, Cocaine, and Rape in a Juvenile Independent Reader ???

My granddaughter picked out 5 independent reader books -- proud of her ability to now read chapter books. We started with "The Dead Man in Indian Creek". My 'spider-senses' went up when in an early chapter there was a reference to a man touching the protagonist's, Parke...
My granddaughter picked out 5 independent reader books -- proud of her ability to now read chapter books. We started with "The Dead Man in Indian Creek". My 'spider-senses' went up when in an early chapter there was a reference to a man touching the protagonist's, Parker, mother's skin. We jointly read a few chapters and then found something else to do. I read on by myself -- and not to be an ending spoiler -- found that Parker's mom spends the night (with the lights out) with her male friend, that she puts little white packets of cocaine in dolls' heads as part of her lover's drug sales operation, and that the locals have beer and drug parties near the quarry. There is even a gratuitous sentence about a school book report where the child giving the oral report likes the pirate book in spite of the fact that the pirate 'had his way' with the woman in the story. My jaw is still hanging on the ground ... I can't believe that tales of adult relationships, rape, and drug trafficking belong in a book labeled as an independent reader and that it is sold in the juvenile section. Zounds Batman ... what next? A sequel featuring exotic dancers and S&M? (P.S. I returned my copy for a full refund ... wrote this review everywhere I could ... and complained to the publisher about the rating. I hope you do the same.)

posted by Noanie on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love It!!!!

    This book is AWESOME!!!!!!!!! My friend recommended it to me and im so glad she did! I wouldn't recommend it to 8 or younger because it has a few inapropriate words and actions in it though. Have fun reading it

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Adult Themes, Cocaine, and Rape in a Juvenile Independent Reader ???

    My granddaughter picked out 5 independent reader books -- proud of her ability to now read chapter books. We started with "The Dead Man in Indian Creek". My 'spider-senses' went up when in an early chapter there was a reference to a man touching the protagonist's, Parker, mother's skin. We jointly read a few chapters and then found something else to do. I read on by myself -- and not to be an ending spoiler -- found that Parker's mom spends the night (with the lights out) with her male friend, that she puts little white packets of cocaine in dolls' heads as part of her lover's drug sales operation, and that the locals have beer and drug parties near the quarry. There is even a gratuitous sentence about a school book report where the child giving the oral report likes the pirate book in spite of the fact that the pirate 'had his way' with the woman in the story. My jaw is still hanging on the ground ... I can't believe that tales of adult relationships, rape, and drug trafficking belong in a book labeled as an independent reader and that it is sold in the juvenile section. Zounds Batman ... what next? A sequel featuring exotic dancers and S&M? (P.S. I returned my copy for a full refund ... wrote this review everywhere I could ... and complained to the publisher about the rating. I hope you do the same.)

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JenJen for TeensReadToo.com

    Parker and Matt decide to camp out one last time before the weather turns too cold - and stumble upon a dead man.

    Parker swears he saw George Evans (his widowed mother's boyfriend and his least favorite person) at the scene of the crime. This starts a wild, crazy, and somewhat scary adventure.

    Oh wow, this was action from the start! I enjoyed reading THE DEAD MAN IN INDIAN CREEK, and while it was supposed to be a big serious ordeal the boys find themselves in, it was also hilarious at times the fixes they got into along the way!

    A quick mystery for reluctant readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Mysterious

    This book is a really good book. this is a book that you won't waste your time reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    An amazing book

    The Dead Man in Indian Creek is a mystery about two boys named Parker and Mathew. One summer day the two boys decide to go camping at Indian creek. Parker decides to wake up early and go look for birds. But instead of finding a bird they find the dead man and they know he has been murdered because of the bullet hole in his head. They quickly run to the police and report it. Mathew¿s Parents are very worried and Mathew would like to just let it go and forget about the whole murder. But Parker will not hear it. He wants to find out who killed the man and why. But soon Parker is way over his head. Read more to find out the whole story. I really like this book because even after the mystery is partially revealed the book is still interesting. And also at the end of the book it gets very action packed. I also like this book because the plot is really believable and the characters are believable too. If I had to rate this book I would rate it five out of five stars because it is very interesting and fun to read. By Ben.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Great Book!!

    The Dead Man In Indian Creek was a great book because it really could have happened. Parker and his friend set off for a camping trip to Indian Creek. When they¿re there some mysterious twists happen and they find a dead man. At the same moment Parker sees his mom¿s his boyfriend whom he does not like. So he blames him. But things might not turn out like they seem. Opinion I thought this was a great book because it starts you off knowing who did the crime and you¿re sure of it. But different twists and turns get you thinking about it a little bit. If I could rate this book with stars I would rate it five stars, two thumbs up. Also liked that this book¿s real action happened on Halloween night. It probably wasn¿t the most fun Halloween for Parker and his friend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    SPOOKY!!

    This book is amazing it has so much mystery and suspense you have to read this it is great the characters are interesting and easy to relate 2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    This book is great for people who love to find out what will happen next!

    This book really makes you keep reading on and on, because you want to find out what will happen next. I think that it has a good plot, because it relates to real life situations. There is a boy named Parker, who is trying really hard to get his mother's boyfriend in trouble for killing a guy. But Parker isn't for sure but is trying really hard to find out. His friend Matt is also helping figure out who kiled the man in the creek.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    This book is very interesting and suspenseful. I love how a lot

    This book is very interesting and suspenseful. I love how a lot of the events take place near Halloween. This book is probably best to be read by readers about 10 or older. I do not really think it would be a good thing for a little kid that is 7, 8, 9, or less to read it. There is nothing too bad, just talk about drugs. Anyways, this is a great story by my favorite author. I have my own copy of it and i find myself reading it over and over. if you are 10 or over, I WOULD RECCOMEND THIS BOOK FOR ANY MYSTERY LOVERS! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great Book

    This book was sooooo great, I could barely put it down with all of the suspense and mystery. There are so many mysteries throughout each and every chapter. I love the main characters' personalities. It helps you understand who they are and what are like. It's just a must read!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Mary dowing hanh.......GEINUS!!

    I love this book.. so awesome... Iove Jennifer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Haun did it again!

    Mary downing haun has made yet another great book and is not afraid to show it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Book reader

    This book is very dramatic therefor one of the best ones i have read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Ead- A Twisted Classic

    It is preety much a classic 2 boys against a bad guy with a 'Romancitc' twist,modern day problems,and mixed up crushes. A total must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Cool

    I love the way the auhor wrote the story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    review for Rachel's Book Reviews

    I thought this was a fun, short, spooky read. It has drug abuse mentioned, and a small mention of underage drinking, but it isn't a main feature, it's talking about this remote area of the forest. I liked this book, it wasn't bone chilling creepy, but it was a good (and a little humorous) story on Halloween.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Pretty good

    I liked the book, overall. Sone parts of it were kinda boring, and it wasnt really a scary story to me....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    AWESOME

    My teacher read this book to us it is really great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    peace everybody

    i read this book and i like it it looks scary but it isnt and it is written by my favorite author and my favorite celrbrity is jaden smith and his sis willow smith like jaden cause he is hot and he is a good singer and actor and i like willow cause she is a good singer and actor

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    dead man in indain creek reveiw

    it was the best book i ever read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3