Customer Reviews for

Dead Man's Walk

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    A Fitting Follow Up to LONESOME DOVE

    This is a harsh tale of the earliest partnership between Woodrow Call and Gus MaCrae, the marvelously heroic anti-heroes of LONESOME DOVE. In this tale the two, as young men, stumble into the early Texas Rangers, drawn by the naive love of adventure which rangering promises the two youths. But they soon find that they and the rangers they lucklessly attach themselves to are no match for the harsh country they confront. The Commanches and the Apaches are harder and smarter in the ways of the wilds and the Mexicans are more numerous and better prepared. The Texans are bunglers, led by charlatans and self-interested adventurers. Worst of all, none of them, from the lowliest ranger, to the officers, to the whores who trail along behind them, know what they are letting themselves in for. It is a hellish passage which they undertake, rife with the sudden violence and grotesqueries which characterize McMurtry's vision of the west. There is the oversized whore, Mattie, who alternately mothers and fornicates with the young rangers she finds around her; the simpering easterner who has set himself up as an officer in the rangers; the pirate turned soldier of fortune who leads his troop of adventurers into country he neither understands nor is prepared to encounter; the sudden lightning storms and tornadoes; the misshapen Commanche war-chief who hunts the white men like buffalo; the deadly Apache who culls the white herd in the night through a long and arduous desert death march; the overly proud Mexican Captain Salazar whose life, in the end, depends on the goodwill of his remaining captives; the old mountain man and the scout who travels with him; the brain damaged quartermaster whose luck it is to live while other, more complete men, must die. All of these rush blindly toward that strange fate which awaits them in the end and which will overwhelm those who will survive, in a moment of surrealistic beauty and dread which somehow wipes away the harshness and suffering which have gone before. In the end, MacCrae, the carefree instinctive man of action, and Call, the careful and thoughtful planner, are forced to see that they, as they have been, callow and inexperienced youths, are no match for the country and the people they have found in it. But, unlike most of their comrades, they miraculously survive their trek. And are changed and enlarged by it. Country bumpkins and veritable greenhorns at the outset, they are fast on the way to becoming the tough rangers we will meet once more, in the books which tell of their subsequent adventures, by the end of this tale. This one does not quite rise to the resonant strains of its precursor LONESOME DOVE, but it is a fitting prequel. We get to see how the country and the experiences of a harsh youth began to form the two men whose tale this ultimately is. And if there is not much plot here, there is a vividness in the description and the dialogue that make you feel like you are there with these men. True, the tale is so grotesque as to seem utterly unreal at times. But McMurtry's writing is sharp and evocative and fresh so that, despite a certain predictability in the events, you want to stay with the characters, to experience this harsh and nightmarish world along with them. Not up to LONESOME DOVE. But that was a hard act to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Book one of a four book western masterpiece that does not pander

    Book one of a four book western masterpiece that does not pander to cliche. I'm glad I read the series in chronological order. McMurtry merges real history and his story into one ineresting and real read. This series of books Dead Man's Walk, Comanche Moon, Lonesome Dove, and Streets of Loredo has become the standard I measure all westerns against.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Fascinating!!

    Dead Man's Walk by Larry McMurtry is an awesome history lesson on the early ages of the United States. Anyone that enjoys learning about the past should consider deeply about reading this book. I could not put it down. The story line and the amount of detail used will really capture any reader who has interest in Western's. This book should be read because by everyone because it will teach the value of hard work and show everyone what a near death experience is like. I know that now I appreciate everything in life, even if it wouldn't normally be wanted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    Good read

    I never thought I would enjoy this type of book but after visiting Wyoming and going through museums, I decided to read. Pretty graphic but overall a good book. I like how the characters were developed and have now moved on to the Commanche Moon. Gus and Call are very luck but just the endurance is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Barnes&Noble error John Wearden 832-859-4386

    I am new with Nook & do not know how Dead Mans Walk or how Pride & Prejudice got on my device. Guess it is a "learning" process. I read & have these books & was not aware I even purchased them. You may be able to see that I have not even opened them to read. Is it possible to exchange for books I have never read? As I say this is new to me. If not possible I will mark it up to experience take the hit use the library & be "sure" I know what I'm doing before using Barnes & Noble again if ever. I have no ill feelings as --it happens. I did see some books I would like to exchange if possible or as I said be careful or use the library & just take the loss as experience & see what happens. I don't want to sound like a "dead beat" but I made an honest mistake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Lonesome Dove Part I

    This book takes you back to the beginning of how Gus and Call became Texas Rangers. It's tough to put this book down and it reads quickly and leaves you wanting more, so I jumped right in to Comanche Moon!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great read!

    One of the best books I've ever read. I am a huge western fan and this book had it all. The characters were great and plot never dulled. There was always something exciting happening. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    loved it

    Great book, a total must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No lonesome dove!

    Very weak character development for call and Gus, no real build up, basically a boring read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Xavier

    Bye to this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    A little disappointed in Gus's development but still a good read

    The novel starts out fast with a 200-lb. whore slinging a snapping turtle and largely keeps the action going throughout. I found it an enjoyable read, particularly since I am such a fan of Lonesome Dove. Having said that, I felt like Gus's character tended toward the one-dimensional with his fixation on fun, most particularly whores. Of course, he had much the same interests in Lonesome Dove, but at times with Comanche Moon, I felt like his character was a caricature of his Pulitzer Prize-winning double.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Another great western read.

    I had seen portions of Lonesome Dove on TV, finally sat through it one weekend. That spurred (pun intended) me to read the paperback, something I thoroughly enjoyed. Stumbling over this prequel lead to my devouring it on the Nook. This portion of the saga is a must read and I have already purchased the next chapter.

    Larry McMurtry certainly has a way with a saga..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Great book!

    Outstanding book to read! Long book but great! Larry McMurtry is a great writer! Really enjoyed the whole story of the western of Gus and Call. It is also a funny book, but also sad and emotional. This would be a great book to read for those who like western or need a book for their assignment. It is not a diffcult book to read but little confusing when it is a 3rd person view. I would read this book again on my spare time or on my next assignment. I would also recommed this book to other people to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    A Outstanding book to read !!!

    Dead Mans Walk by Larry McMurtry. Is an outstanding book to read.It tell you how people survived off luck ,and the bad enviroment ,and what they had to go through.To survive off that enviroment back then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Great

    'Dead Man's Walk' I like the book because it is a book that makes you want to keep reading. I think this book is a great book for someone who enjoys Westerns stories and like Cowboys. I think others should read this book because it teaches you a different feel of things.How they survived and delt with others in the tribe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Dead Man's Walk

    Wonderfull book. Best book in the series. I should have read 'Dead Man's Walk' first but I did not. I am on Chater 27 and I can not wait to have the time to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Should be the original, the best ever written

    I love how this book perfectly explores the old West and how anyone who lives out here should respect those who made it safe for us all. I couldn't help but fall in love with both Gus and Call. Theya re such perfect characters with interesting personalities. Everyone should read this book and I guarantee you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    Gus and Woodrow begin their adventures

    After seeing a bit of 'Lonesome Dove' on the television I thought I'd try to read a bit about the lives of the Texas Rangers Woodrow Call and Gus McCrae. I wasn't disappointed and plan to buy more of their story. I enjoy reading this type of adventure series in the chronology of the hero's life as I've done with the Hornblower series. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4