BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 4301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1832)

4 Star

(1004)

3 Star

(707)

2 Star

(328)

1 Star

(430)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Chapter 1 available

Dear @FANGBANGER, Charlaine Harris as made available the first chapter of DEAD RECKONING through her website. I read it the other day and I find it simply awesome!!!!! We even get to read a bit of ERIC in the first chapter... hehehe

posted by 3484322 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

252 out of 325 people found this review helpful.

Insane price!

I find it very sad that the hardcover book is priced lower than an ebook ... I have not missed a book, nor an episode of trueblood yet, however, I will not pay that much for an ebook!

posted by DaniGirl1031 on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 217
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poor review before the books comes out?

    Are you serious? This book hasn't even come out yet, and you bozos are giving it a poor review? Shut up until it's out! THEN you can give whatever review you want.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As a stand alone book, creatively tapped out

    Reading a Sookie Stackhouse novel is like sitting down with an old friend. She's such a likable character. You feel like you know her even though she only exists on the page. A down home Southern girl, she enjoys her Dairy Queen ice cream while making sure her toenails are brightly painted at all times. At heart, she's a girly girl, yet she's real and easy to relate to.

    In Charlaine Harris' 11th installment of the continuing saga that inspired the hit HBO series True Blood, Sookie is once again running for her life against humans, vampires, werewolves, shape shifters and fairies. Merlotte's bar is firebombed leaving her with a singed ponytail and rattled nerves. She is repeatedly attacked by the newly released Sandra Pelt whose sister she killed. Her vampire "husband," Eric, is keeping a monumental secret that will affect their romantic relationship. Not to mention his club, Fangtasia, is struggling under the reign of the new Louisiana regent, Victor. Things are looking pretty bleak.

    Over the course of the series, Sookie has grown from a naive, socially isolated telepath to a pawn in a supernatural power struggle to a more jaded, cynical combatant. Still reeling from the effects of being subjected to fairy torture, Harris begins to portray her heroine as a hardened survivor. She realizes that she now belongs among the ranks of those who have taken a life. Her innocence is replaced by a skeptical and suspicious worldview.

    Yet underneath the surface, the same sweet Sookie remains. Her first vampire boyfriend, Bill, used her to advance his career. Her Gran never revealed her hidden fairy heritage. Her lover, Eric, tricked her into a blood bond. Yet, she still holds onto an optimistic outlook. That's why you keep coming back to these stories to see how she is going to battle though the next catastrophe.

    As the series progresses, I feel it has "jumped the shark" a bit. Dead Reckoning and the previous novel, Dead in the Family, are a tad jumbled and convoluted in storyline. It seems that there are just too many supernatural communities to keep track of - that it's hard to catch up with all of the pertinent characters in one book. Instead, they all tend to make cameo appearances. Sookie's brother, Jason, is briefly mentioned as he drives by in his truck. Amelia, the witch, arrives back in Bon Temps only to be thrown out of Sookie's house. Alcide, the werewolf, fulfills his shirtless scene requirement then exits stage left. There are too many people to touch base with in only 325 pages.

    And it's a shame because that's where Harris connects with her readers - through the memorable, distinctive personalities that inhabit her novels. Whether it is the town drunk, Jane Bodehouse, sitting at Merlotte's bar or Pam the vampire's sarcastic one-liners, we look forward to reconnecting with these characters when we pick up the latest Sookie Stackhouse book. Unfortunately, in this go-around, we're left with quick glimpses of the cast instead of any lengthy, back porch conversations.

    Overall, Dead Reckoning advances the narrative, of the Sookie Stackhouse series as a whole, setting up what looks to be an interesting book #12. However, as a stand alone book, it is creatively tapped out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    REALLY DISAPPOINTING!!!

    I bought the book today, I'm only on page 48 and can not find the patience to follow her inconsistency throughout the paragraphs. I have been a reader and follower of her books since the first day it has come out, I'm truly disappointed that her books no longer has passion in them and that her heart and mind is now set on making money.

    I don't like her Trueblood series, they do not follow the books are ridiculous to watch. I don't know if I will finish this book or if I will purchase the rest of her series. I'm really sad, I guess I'll stick to other good writers like Laurel Hamilton. :(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    AFRAID SOOKIE'S TRAIN HAS LEFT THE STATION!

    Anxiously awaited this novel and bought too soon. If I buy the next one, it will be long after in comes out in paperback. This book is drowning in the shallows of the author's lack of imagination and the depths of the publisher's greed.

    Why are publisher's charging such enormous prices for books that don't even require paper? Wouldn't be so bad if the item were worthwhile. I feel used. Ms. Harris should give the next one free to everyone who had the misfortune to purchase this one.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Ok not great

    ok first I want to say how unfair it is to change the price so soon after release I spent 14.99 for the ebook on the 2nd and now its only 12.99 Im not pre-ordering or buying new releases in the first month any more if that's how it works.

    This book was a disappointment I have to say the last 2 books have been a let down they don't have the same feel or flow to them that the series used to have. I feel they are thrown together fluff just to get books out there every year. I'm willing to wait 2 years between books if that means I will be getting a good book again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Disappointing - Worst book of the series

    I love this series, but this book was a huge disappointment. All the personal growth Sookie has developed in previous books is gone. She's narrowminded and Sam comes across just as pathetic. At one point she makes a comment that only "Christian people" can be good to children, which is a crappy way to say that fairies can do things for Children that will hurt them without realizing it. Also, abstracted DOES NOT MEAN distracted. This book feels like it was churned out for a profit with no intention of sticking to the story development thus far, especially the naked scene with Bill... just plain stupid. After this, I don't think I'll continue with the series. I was just too disgusted.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Not worth the money, hope the next book is better

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    :( disappointed in price and story

    First, I am ashamed that I caved and paid the $15 to get this nookbook but have been a fan of the series and couldn't wait to get it. The book itself was mediocre- as I felt the last one was and I am really bummed about it. I have been a Sookie/Eric fan from the beginning and even though there are moments that should be touching/passionate/satisfying I feel that Charlaine has lost the soul of these characters somehow. There was a serious lack of excitement and the ending was abrupt- I actually had to scroll back and forth a few times to make sure I didn't miss something. I really hope the next book lives up to the earlier books of the series and I hope that Charlaine can satisfy Sookie/Eric fans with a love story they deserve! I would be really disappointed if the "arrangement" that Erics maker set into motion is a build up to break up Sookie/Eric before us fans ever get to enjoy the relationship that has been built up over so many books!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Not Recommended - Huge Disappointment !!!!

    How do I begin? Well I am a huge fan of the series! I have reread it serveral times. I can't figure out how the author who created the characters could of written this book. It is a complete mockery of the characters, and Charlaine's writing style. What a farce. In exaggeration I told one of my friends at work, that Charlaine must have passed away, and in order to get all the money from the sales, the publishing company had someone else write the book. As ridiculous as that statement is, What else could explain a writer not knowing how her own characters speak or interact?? What an insult to the readers. Are we not supposed to notice? Seriously !!!! I want my money back. We should be able to return Nook books that are no good, just like we could return a regular book! So I guess the series is ruined ??!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Dead Reckoning

    "Dead reckoning (DR) is the process of estimating one's current position based upon a previously determined position, or fix, and advancing that position"

    Sookie spends this book doing just that. Pieces are falling into place for her. Ms. Harris is shoring up plot lines preparing for the series end (2 more books) Old plot lines are resolved. Sookie contemplates her relationships, and peoples motives. An Appearance is made by most every major player in the Sookie series. I thoroughly enjoyed the book in a very bittersweet sort of way. It's the first book where you can feel the series is ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    One disappointed fan!

    After reading all the books and waiting patiently for the next installment I was completely disappointed with this book. Was Ms Harris writing for a deadline? Is she sick of Sookie? This book just doesn't deliver! For those who are fans of Sookies relationships, there is very little of Eric and Sookie. Some major things happen, he pops in and out and that's it! Former lovers are thrown in as cameos for no apparent reason. In general more questions are raised than are answered and the ending resolves nothing. There is not enough build up or reasoning behind some of the main action in the book and I was left with a bunch of question marks and another year or more to give this series another chance. Ms Harris, take your time, tie up loose ends. We love Sookie and we want more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    High on price, low on content

    This book was a big disappointment. After paying an enormous amount for the e-book, I am re-thinking ownership of my device and allegiance to this author! For years now I have been wowed and charmed by the characters and writing style in this series of books. This latest entry is so devoid of plot advancement that I now believe Charlaine Harris' intent was to add one more book with just enough content to warrant another one, and another one, etc. This seems to be, unfortunately, the way things are going in the world of continuing series book writing. Rather than expend the effort to put out a really good next book in the series, writers are breaking up their stories into drawn out chunks of blather with just enough information to warrant a book. I hope I am proven wrong and Harris' next effort is back on track with what we have come to expect from Sookie Stackhouse novels: good characters, good story, a really good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Just so-so

    While a good book, this one is not up to the high standards set by the rest of the Southern Vampire series. What a shame because, I've come to expect more out of Ms. Harris and her writing. Was this book rushed to publication, I'll let you decide after you read it. My opinion is-that it was. While there are parts that show brilliance, the majority of the book fell short. I missed the humor that other books in this series had and missed the local color that past books had. Of course, leaving Sookie's future up in the air is expected at the end of these books but, I really felt let down by the ending of this book. In addition, I agree with others about the price of this e-book. As a devoted Sookie fan, I took the bullet and bought the ebook but really-B&N must be making major profits with this price. I hope the next book in this series is far better because, one more book like this one and Ms. Harris will find herself losing some of her fan base.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Disappointed.

    I love the series, however it seemed to drag forever around nothing. It looks like the author is running out if ideas to make Sookie's life interesting so she is bringing up issues that only try to keep Sookie worried and manless and don't make the book a better read. It was easy to forsee when the book was going to end, mostly because the plot was thin, like she is running out of good material, therefore we, the readers, are punished with 247 pages with marely 4 good chapters to enjoy. Not too mention the ridiculous $$.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    i am so sad and broken hearted

    I am so disappointed in this book. I dont understand why the author has been pushing these two people together from books 4-9 to rip them apart in one book. i know everyone was thrilled that they ended up together in book 9 and was happy they were in love in book 10 and now its ruined in book 11.....sad choice of direction. I understand you need drama in the relationship but bad direction.
    I felt that she was throwing too many plots at us to fill space. I am a huge Sookie fan but not sure i will rush out to buy book 12 when it is released next year. I dont like the direction the book series is going.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    has anyone actually read the book

    i dont care about you complaining about the price i can see that for myself. a review is talking about the actual contents of the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    A great addition to the series

    I have been a fan of Sookie Stackhouse for years. I have waited what seems like an eternity for this book and now I will impatiently wait another eternity for the next one. My only complaint about this book, is the ending. I wish we had just an inkling of an idea as to what's next for Sookie and the gang...but I guess that's part of the selling point for the next one, huh? For those of you complaining about price, don't give the book a low rating, that's not fair to Ms. Harris. Just buy the actual book instead of the nook book if that's how you feel. Stop complaining and clogging up the review section. Thank you Charlaine Harris for this incredible series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    ANOTHER GREAT ONE!!!! Wow!!!

    I really loved this book...plenty of drama, and some surprising twists. Great addition to the series, although it kept me wanting more (as usual). Looking forward to the next book in the series. 8)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Just OK

    I love this series but this was expensive, short and didn't really seem to accomplish anything of a storyline. Felt like a snippet between books. Save your money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    just finished dead in the family

    cannot wait for this one! ready for the ultimate trubie contest to start I won last year got tickets to he premiere and all of the books for free!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 217