Customer Reviews for

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 4290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1830)

4 Star

(998)

3 Star

(704)

2 Star

(328)

1 Star

(430)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Chapter 1 available

Dear @FANGBANGER, Charlaine Harris as made available the first chapter of DEAD RECKONING through her website. I read it the other day and I find it simply awesome!!!!! We even get to read a bit of ERIC in the first chapter... hehehe

posted by 3484322 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

252 out of 325 people found this review helpful.

Insane price!

I find it very sad that the hardcover book is priced lower than an ebook ... I have not missed a book, nor an episode of trueblood yet, however, I will not pay that much for an ebook!

posted by DaniGirl1031 on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 217
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book, Too Short

    I bought the Nook book version of Dead Reckoning and read it pretty much straight through. Though it is another fun installment, I feel like there wasn't enough plot and character development to really warrant this book (or the price). This book occurs around two weeks after the end of the last. Too much felt like a re-hash of previous books; Eric's preoccupied, Jannalynn is vicious, Tara's pregnant, Claude is an ass. Editing was sub-par, things were repeated several times using practically the same words. Dead and Gone had a lot going on, and now the last two books were sort of slow. I understand that Ms. Harris can't have really crazy stuff happening each time, like vampire summits and fairy abductions, and maybe this is just a "set-up" book for the next installment and we'll get a jump forward next time. I certainly hope so, because character development has come to a screeching halt between Dead in the Family and Dead Reckoning.

    162 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Sadly Lacking...

    I've been a devoted fan of the Southern Vampire series since began. I've waited anxiously for each new book and developed a sort of trust in Charlaine Harris; I knew there was going to be a thrilling and fun adventure between the covers. I wish I could say this book was a continuation of long term happy relationship between reader and author, but I can't. I don't know what happened here--but this book was just okay. True there are some brilliant spots, moments of terrific imagination. The twist regarding Eric's maker and the maker's meddling certainly makes the outcome of a happily ever for Sookie and Eric anything but a certainty--It's a big time OMG! revelation. There are always questions as to what will happen next at the end of a Sookie book, however, this is the first time I'm both vexed and frustrated by the ending. The story was story arc was so weak, I felt like my order for a rich descendant dessert had been snatched away leaving me with a hard granola bar, it was a huge let down. I missed the Bon Temp rhythm of everyday life that always hums under the clashes. For me those little background stories tug my mind's eye and make Sookie's world real. Perhaps this was a rush book or a bridge book as in one that begins to lay the foundation for the big finale. Who knows? But at a cost of 14.99 for 274 pages in an e-book I expected more. I'm not ready to throw in the towel, I'll be back for the last installments, disappointed I may be, but I still want to know how the story ends. I'll also be hoping the promise of ebooks being cheaper is a reality and not marketing hype for the publishers.

    93 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    not up to par

    It seems ms. harris isn't as passionate to the sookie stackhouse series as she had been in the past. If she has grown bored with the series, she should just end it. The book was too short, could have been more developed, and while authors tend to leave books in cliff hangers, this one lacked a resolution. It was definitely not up to par with other books from the series, I was pretty disappointed. Just because a book is popular, doesn't mean the company should be milking it with these expensive prices that only result in resentful customers.

    61 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Disappointed

    I don't think I've ever been disappointed in a Sookie book, but this one definately made me feel like I wasted my money and time. Yes, we learned about Sookie's past, and there were changes, but overall this book did nothing to really advance the storyline in a positive way. I really hope Charlaine Harris puts more into the next book.

    52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    No resolution

    Too many subplots without any apparent connection between them. There isn't a climax, the novel just ends abruptly. I've been a fan for many years, but this is the second novel in a row that was subpar.

    49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I loved reading this series!They will keep you entertained for hours.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Chapter 1 available

    Dear @FANGBANGER, Charlaine Harris as made available the first chapter of DEAD RECKONING through her website. I read it the other day and I find it simply awesome!!!!! We even get to read a bit of ERIC in the first chapter... hehehe

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    kinda let down

    I really felt this book went nowhere. This could have been a short story in regards to content. The story did not progress much and nothing too exciting happened. It was pure character developement with little plot. I really hope the next book returns to the usual wonderful level of writing I have come to expect from Ms. Harris.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    kind of dissapointed

    i have all of sookie stackhouse stories and loved them! this book seemed incomplete. it had many possibilities but other than a look at sookie's past..... that's it. what about her crazy relationships with her lovers? alcide again? where did that come from? i felt there was no depth to the story and read the book because i'm a true fan...... maybe the next one will be better......

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Let's give REVIEWS, not price complaints!

    What I find sad is that people are reviewing a book based on the PRICE, most of them before it was even released, which isn't fair to others who base their reading material off reviews that are supposed to be about the BOOK. Everyone can see what the price is, we don't need reviews on it. If you don't like it, get the book from the library or wait for the price to go down!

    With that said, I will say that this is probably one of my favorite Sookie books. A lot of questions are answered and a lot of new questions arise. This won't be the last book. There were times I was laughing out loud and times I about wanted to cry. Can't wait for the net one!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Sookie's the Woman!!

    I have never been a big reader! I had watched all three seasons of True Blood before I even knew about the novels! But, when I picked the first one up, I couldn't put it down! And so and so forth til I had read every one! They are just awesome! Sometimes I wish my life was as exhilarating and erotic as Sookie's!! I can't wait for the next novel and season!!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!

    I recommend this book for anyone who loves vampire stories and mysteries. Charlaine Harris is a very good writer, and when I read her stories, I feel as though I am there. In each book, Sookie goes on an adventure, but not always getting hurt or needing help to stay alive. Mrs. Harris gives lots of details about all the characters even though the story is told through Sookie's eyes and mind. 'Dead in the Family' was not as exciting as the other novels, but it gave us lots of information that we need for the upcoming story. Plus it left us hanging with an important question. I am very excited to get 'Dead Reckoning' in hopes that my question will be answered. This book and the next 2 in her series are destined to be worth the wait.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    As a fan of Charlaine Harris, I had to buy this book and it was fantastic. It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Skip this one. What a waste of $15.00

    This whole book of 245 pages was just a jumbled waste of time. I have been a fan of Sookie and have read every book and watched all three seasons of TRU BLOOD. After waiting for one year for this book, I am sorry I did. This was like eating cardboard when you wanted chocolate

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Incomplete

    I just finished reading this and am walking away saying "Ms Harris didn't get the book done before her publishing deadline." Without spoiling the book I can't go into details, but will say Sookie hasn't come to any resolutions in this one there are hints but everything seems to hang for her. Eric gets to resolve some issues, and Bill comes to some realizations- but what does poor Sookie get--- nothing. Ms. Harris please take the time, write a longer book and give us some resolutions to some hanging questions next time!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    B&N doesn't set the price!

    Book publishers -- not Barnes & Noble -- set the prices on their books (hardcover, softcover, audio, and digital). Tell the publisher -- in this case Penguin Group USA -- that you object to the ebook price and will not pay it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    STOP while ahead

    Sorry the last book of this Series # 10 was HORRIBLE. Mrs. Harris is just writing to write, the first 9 series where great. But now I think it's time to STOP.. Mostly what she is writing now is ridiculous rubbish, Sookie is becoming a bit annoying and the story has no plot.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To expensive, too slow, and too short... I'm a bit dissapointed!

    This book was just OK. So you get only 247 pages on this book. All the action and important parts of the plot are in the last 30-47 pages. I really hope all stuff in the first 200 pages of the book leads somewhere in the next book and that the issue between Sookie an Eric gets resolved.

    This book should not have been priced more than $5.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Sad

    This book did not justify the price. It is a short book that did not move the story forward- sad.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Not as Good

    I found this book to not be as good as the first 10 books in this series. I went out and bought the hardcover copy this morning and read it by tonight. I did not want to put it down hoping something in it would peek my interest. I can say I am disapointed in this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 217