Customer Reviews for

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 4292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1830)

4 Star

(999)

3 Star

(705)

2 Star

(328)

1 Star

(430)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Chapter 1 available

Dear @FANGBANGER, Charlaine Harris as made available the first chapter of DEAD RECKONING through her website. I read it the other day and I find it simply awesome!!!!! We even get to read a bit of ERIC in the first chapter... hehehe

posted by 3484322 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

252 out of 325 people found this review helpful.

Insane price!

I find it very sad that the hardcover book is priced lower than an ebook ... I have not missed a book, nor an episode of trueblood yet, however, I will not pay that much for an ebook!

posted by DaniGirl1031 on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1830 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 92
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I loved reading this series!They will keep you entertained for hours.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Chapter 1 available

    Dear @FANGBANGER, Charlaine Harris as made available the first chapter of DEAD RECKONING through her website. I read it the other day and I find it simply awesome!!!!! We even get to read a bit of ERIC in the first chapter... hehehe

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Sookie's the Woman!!

    I have never been a big reader! I had watched all three seasons of True Blood before I even knew about the novels! But, when I picked the first one up, I couldn't put it down! And so and so forth til I had read every one! They are just awesome! Sometimes I wish my life was as exhilarating and erotic as Sookie's!! I can't wait for the next novel and season!!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!

    I recommend this book for anyone who loves vampire stories and mysteries. Charlaine Harris is a very good writer, and when I read her stories, I feel as though I am there. In each book, Sookie goes on an adventure, but not always getting hurt or needing help to stay alive. Mrs. Harris gives lots of details about all the characters even though the story is told through Sookie's eyes and mind. 'Dead in the Family' was not as exciting as the other novels, but it gave us lots of information that we need for the upcoming story. Plus it left us hanging with an important question. I am very excited to get 'Dead Reckoning' in hopes that my question will be answered. This book and the next 2 in her series are destined to be worth the wait.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    As a fan of Charlaine Harris, I had to buy this book and it was fantastic. It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poor review before the books comes out?

    Are you serious? This book hasn't even come out yet, and you bozos are giving it a poor review? Shut up until it's out! THEN you can give whatever review you want.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Dead Reckoning

    "Dead reckoning (DR) is the process of estimating one's current position based upon a previously determined position, or fix, and advancing that position"

    Sookie spends this book doing just that. Pieces are falling into place for her. Ms. Harris is shoring up plot lines preparing for the series end (2 more books) Old plot lines are resolved. Sookie contemplates her relationships, and peoples motives. An Appearance is made by most every major player in the Sookie series. I thoroughly enjoyed the book in a very bittersweet sort of way. It's the first book where you can feel the series is ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    A great addition to the series

    I have been a fan of Sookie Stackhouse for years. I have waited what seems like an eternity for this book and now I will impatiently wait another eternity for the next one. My only complaint about this book, is the ending. I wish we had just an inkling of an idea as to what's next for Sookie and the gang...but I guess that's part of the selling point for the next one, huh? For those of you complaining about price, don't give the book a low rating, that's not fair to Ms. Harris. Just buy the actual book instead of the nook book if that's how you feel. Stop complaining and clogging up the review section. Thank you Charlaine Harris for this incredible series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    ANOTHER GREAT ONE!!!! Wow!!!

    I really loved this book...plenty of drama, and some surprising twists. Great addition to the series, although it kept me wanting more (as usual). Looking forward to the next book in the series. 8)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    just finished dead in the family

    cannot wait for this one! ready for the ultimate trubie contest to start I won last year got tickets to he premiere and all of the books for free!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Can't Wait!

    I have to say that I was not happy with the last book, "Dead in the Family"(#10). It was boring and nothing happened, but most of the other books in the series have been great. "Dead to the World" is definitely my favorite because I LOVE Eric. I have high hopes that Charlaine will write a much better book with "Dead Reckoning". Let me just say again that I absolutely LOVE Eric; he's always been my favorite character in the series. I really hope that Sookie and Eric end up together. I don't really care for Bill; he's kind of a jerk. Eric is bad, but in a good way. Anyway, looking forward to this new book. Can't wait!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    OMIGOSH

    OMIGOSH I THOUGHT THE SERIES ENDED WITH DEAD IN THE FAMILY OMIGOSH IM GOING TO FAINT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    It was perfect Sookie. I loved every page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Jacob

    Walks in locating samanthas crying running towards her

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    GREAT READ!

    LOVE THIS SERIES!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    YUMMY!

    Love me some Eric! Don't think twice about buying the book, it's worth it! Love the series, i just wish Mr. Ball would follow the books more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Loved it

    I loved this book. Last one was lacking pretty much everything. But I thought this one was great. Everyone I know that has read it also has loved it. Didn't have a conclusion for everything going on during the book but I didn't expect it would. I didn't buy it on nook book so I don't care about the price. It is a NEW book so it wont be cheap get over it. I don't like how almost all the negitive ratings are because of the price. They have not even read the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Great Read

    Poor Sookie, I'm surprised it's taken this long for that poor girl to start to crack...lol. Ms. Harris was born for this and this series is proof of her incredible writing skills. I've enjoyed every book in this series and am a True Blood junkie. I wish HBO was truer to the books, but it is very enjoyable in it's own right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Sookie is Back!

    the past few Sookie Stackhouse novels have been a little dark. This book brought back the Sookie that we all fell in love with. The strong young woman is back. There were quite a few humorous lines, especially observations that she was making to herself and I found myself laughing out loud at times. It was fast pased and tied up a lot of loose plot lines that have been hanging for the past 2-3 books yet still allowed for a new plot that will take the series in a different direction. As far as all of the poor ratings due to the price of the book, if you are a hard core fan you're buying no matter what. The price of everything is going up. It is unfair to rate a book based on the price and not the content. Those who have such an issue should wait for the paperback release. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend

    I feel like everyone is being way too critical of this book. This one was my favorite one since Dead to the World(4). It did start a little slow, but I really got into it around the third or fourth chapter, I couldnt put it down. There were some really funny scenes with Bill, and Alcide,and a huge cliff hanger with Sookie and Eric. My only complaint is that I wish she would bring Quinn back, he was my absolute favorite of everyone!! I am sorta bummed that the price went down after I already paid the 15; but whatever. I always know well in advance when a new book comes out in my favorite book series(and I do have plenty of them:)), so I make sure to save and put it aside. Sorry,but I would have spent another 30$ to read this book; and for the people who won't buy it because of the price; oh well, obviously you are not true Sookie fans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1830 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 92