Customer Reviews for

Dead Reckoning

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This Book = Awesomeness!

I have never really been a reader of suspense fiction, it just wasn't that interesting to me until I discovered author, Ronie Kendig. I first read her second release, Nightshade a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! She kindly offered to send me a copy of her debut novel Dead...
I have never really been a reader of suspense fiction, it just wasn't that interesting to me until I discovered author, Ronie Kendig. I first read her second release, Nightshade a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! She kindly offered to send me a copy of her debut novel Dead Reckoning and I finished it on one day, staying up till the wee hours of the morning.

From the first page I was hooked! Being a lover of history I've always had a respect and interest in archaeology so it was easy for me to like underwater archaeologist, Shiloh Blake and her best friend Khalid Khan. There is also a hunky ex-Navy SEAL turned spy, Reece aka Brutus, who will give you heart palpitations! Did I mention that from the very first chapter there is enough "edge of your seat" action to give a body a heart attack? Seriously. It is so good!

A lot of the suspense that I've read has had one or two scenes that made my pulse race but Dead Reckoning does not let up, it's nonstop action from start to finish. Assassinations, kidnappings, nuclear weapons, spies, and terrorists all in the exotic setting of Mumbia, throw in not one but two romances involving our main character, Shiloh and you have a suspenseful and thrilling read that will knock your socks off! I highly recommend this book to anyone (guys that means you too) who loves a great story!

posted by steelergirl83 on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too long, could be a lot shorter!

Although this book provides a lot of action this book is too long. The author uses a lot of descriptives words and paragraphs to set the scene but the story dragged. Around page 100 I was wondering when the book will end. I skipped most of the descriptive sections and r...
Although this book provides a lot of action this book is too long. The author uses a lot of descriptives words and paragraphs to set the scene but the story dragged. Around page 100 I was wondering when the book will end. I skipped most of the descriptive sections and read the dialogue between the characters. I don't plan to read other books by this author.

posted by 7990616 on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This Book = Awesomeness!

    I have never really been a reader of suspense fiction, it just wasn't that interesting to me until I discovered author, Ronie Kendig. I first read her second release, Nightshade a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! She kindly offered to send me a copy of her debut novel Dead Reckoning and I finished it on one day, staying up till the wee hours of the morning.

    From the first page I was hooked! Being a lover of history I've always had a respect and interest in archaeology so it was easy for me to like underwater archaeologist, Shiloh Blake and her best friend Khalid Khan. There is also a hunky ex-Navy SEAL turned spy, Reece aka Brutus, who will give you heart palpitations! Did I mention that from the very first chapter there is enough "edge of your seat" action to give a body a heart attack? Seriously. It is so good!

    A lot of the suspense that I've read has had one or two scenes that made my pulse race but Dead Reckoning does not let up, it's nonstop action from start to finish. Assassinations, kidnappings, nuclear weapons, spies, and terrorists all in the exotic setting of Mumbia, throw in not one but two romances involving our main character, Shiloh and you have a suspenseful and thrilling read that will knock your socks off! I highly recommend this book to anyone (guys that means you too) who loves a great story!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Great on so many fronts!

    This book had a bit of everything- action, adventure, travel, faith, and love. This isn't your typical Christian fiction, but the message of faith is woven, at times imperceptibly, throughout the whole book.

    I can't wait to read more by this author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Action-packed Suspense Novel for the Christian Soul!

    I definitely LOVED this book! It is a suspenseful Christian thriller/mystery book, that had me on the edge of my seat from page one. It was a page turner, for sure! I love the style of writing that Ronie Kendig uses...she adds humor with all the mystery and page turning suspense, really making this a "jump out and capture me" kind of book. I also love the fact that she used God throughout the whole book, not just a little of Him in the beginning or at the end, but through the whole book. Wonderful!

    I love all the characters, but I really felt a connection with Reece....he feels a connection to Shiloh from the start but he really tries his best to ignore those feelings....and Shiloh was such a great character, too, with her air of mystery about her! Beautifully done!

    I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a good, clean thriller novel. It will have you captured from the beginning and you won't want to put it done until you have reached the end! This author has a talent for bringing a book to us that is filled with action, intense twists to the plot and unforgettable characters. I will recommend this book with the highest of 5 star praises and I anxiously await the release of Ms. Kendig's next book, the first in her  Discarded Heroes series--Nightshade--a wonderful sounding Military suspense book, due out July 2010!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    recommend

    Great book. Loved the suspense and thrill this book offered

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Too long, could be a lot shorter!

    Although this book provides a lot of action this book is too long. The author uses a lot of descriptives words and paragraphs to set the scene but the story dragged. Around page 100 I was wondering when the book will end. I skipped most of the descriptive sections and read the dialogue between the characters. I don't plan to read other books by this author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Fast Paced Christian Romance fiction

    This is a good debut novel and the religious references are not overwhelming. It is well written and fast-paced. I would have liked more time spent on character development for Shiloh and Reece but the thrilling action in the book keep me turning the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Great First Novel!

    This is a great book! I am not much into spy books, but I couldn't put this one down. From the first page to the end you will be taken on an adventure where you find yourself holding your breath more than once. If you like spy thrillers you will love this one. If you like suspense you will also enjoy reading Dead Reckoning. Be sure and put this on your TBR list. Great job on your first book Ronie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    Action-packed and heart-touching

    Ronie Kendig has an amazing ability with words. She is able to paint vivid pictures upon the pages of her book, making it an easy read. Dead Reckoning is an action/romantic thriller that will keep you turning the pages until late at night. If you enjoyed the Mission Impossible movies, then you will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Wow - great read

    This book is just plain fun to read. It kept my interest from page one and never stopped surprising me with twists and turns that I wasn't expecting. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Riveting!

    Ronie Kendig provides a wonderful balance of story elements-characterization, dialogue, plot, setting-and serves it up with movie-screen clarity and pacing. Reading one of her novels is like being plunked down in the middle of an action/adventure film.

    Dead Reckoning is memorable both for the richness of setting and the vividness of her characters. Shiloh and Reece are unforgettable ... and so is a certain motorcycle chase. I could feel the speed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved the chemistry between the characters. This is a book I w

    I loved the chemistry between the characters. This is a book I would read again.
    You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    This is not my usual type of book to read, but I thought for fre

    This is not my usual type of book to read, but I thought for free I would read it anyway. I loved this book!!! It was constant gripping suspense, and very hard to put down. I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Looovvveee

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!! It was very well written and you grew to love the characters especially Reece! Great christian book that you will want to read over and over again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great Read

    This book was hard to put down. I loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Lll

    I thought it was about the undead this is so lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm llllllllol

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    highly recommend

    Great book fastpaced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Dead Rekoning

    Great suspense! Couldn't wait to see what would happen next. Ronie writes very vividly and you can put youself into her story. I love it when I can lose myself in a book.
    Everyone will love this book no matter what your faith is - even though it is wonderful Christian fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Keeps you wonting more

    This book is so good you will not put it down! I can't wait to read more from this auther.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Christian Thriller Romance? Not sure how I would exactly classify this book, but it was an excellent read! If you like action/thriller books it is a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Jeanie D

    Worth the read I give few 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4