Customer Reviews for

Dead Ringer

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I wasn't prepared for the visceral impact it would make on me in

I wasn't prepared for the visceral impact it would make on me in the first chapters when Allen Wyler's protagonist, Dr. Lucas Macrae unwrapped his "fresh head" specimen for his brain surgery demonstration in Hong Kong and found the head of his best friend star...
I wasn't prepared for the visceral impact it would make on me in the first chapters when Allen Wyler's protagonist, Dr. Lucas Macrae unwrapped his "fresh head" specimen for his brain surgery demonstration in Hong Kong and found the head of his best friend staring up at him. Wow! Huge impact for a novel and a great way to start this one running. It never stopped tearing down the proverbial tracks from that moment. Fast paced and relevant, this one had me on my toes. I've never experienced or heard of any of the matters this book covers so I was reading wide-eyed and riveted!

Allen Wyler doesn't let go of his readers. He's not prepared, evidently, to let anyone up for a breath. "Dead Ringer" is non-stop thriller material. The story of body parts delivered for medical study and instruction is as creepy as it is fascinating. The mystery of how the body parts are procured is down right gory and spine shivering. I couldn't get enough of the book. Made me wonder about myself at times to be so fascinated! LOL

His characters are crisp and charming...even the criminals are interesting and absorbing. The criminals sit right on the edge of disgusting, but were engaging enough to have kept me wanting to follow everything they were planning and doing. The young police woman was heroic as well as being brilliant and brave. Great role model for the prostitutes she championed. And, Dr. Mcrae was the epitome of a great friend, unrelenting in his search for truth; and, with the unstoppable curiosity of a scientist. Each of these characters was easily worthy of a book of their own so carefully were they drawn for the reader.

Allen Wyler is an accomplished writer who takes us to the edge of reality and drops us into a horrendous scenario. Makes you wonder about cremation and donor programs and choosing your mortuary very carefully!

This is a medical suspense novel that will find you tearing the pages off as you read it...so scary and moving along so quickly that you can't help gripping the book with blue fingers. Even when I put it down, I was thinking about it and having to talk about it with my husband. A book you have to talk about with others!

I highly recommend this one. Can't believe a major publisher hasn't picked it up!

posted by Humbee on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book I have read by Allen Wyler. It was an int

This is the first book I have read by Allen Wyler. It was an interesting story and does make a reader think about how easy it could be for someone to harvest body parts for medical schools for the purpose of teaching.

Neurosurgeon Lucas McRae discovers his best friend ...
This is the first book I have read by Allen Wyler. It was an interesting story and does make a reader think about how easy it could be for someone to harvest body parts for medical schools for the purpose of teaching.

Neurosurgeon Lucas McRae discovers his best friend Andy Baer’s head is on his demonstration table in Hong Kong. At first Lucas thinks he is imagining it but when he gets home he is unable to locate him. His wife and Andy’s ex-wife could care less about what has happened to Andy; Lucas owes Andy to find out what happened. Also on the case is Detective Wendy Elliot who is already hot on the trail of a corrupt funeral director who might just have something to do with not only Andy’s disappearance but a whole slew of prostitutes. How can a small time funeral home be able to provide the amount of cadavers demanded by these huge corporations?

The reader is aware just who the killer is and this does not take away from the plot but instead adds intensity. Wyler never goes in depth with the medical details making it appealing to novice readers yet a somewhat complex plot line that will attract even the advanced readers of medical thrillers. The characters are relatable to an average person and while I thought that some parts were a bit weak and the flashing back and forth from past to present to explain some relationships was distracting, I did enjoy the overall story.

(ebook was provided by publicist for an honest review)

posted by kopsahl on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I have read by Allen Wyler. It was an int

    This is the first book I have read by Allen Wyler. It was an interesting story and does make a reader think about how easy it could be for someone to harvest body parts for medical schools for the purpose of teaching.

    Neurosurgeon Lucas McRae discovers his best friend Andy Baer’s head is on his demonstration table in Hong Kong. At first Lucas thinks he is imagining it but when he gets home he is unable to locate him. His wife and Andy’s ex-wife could care less about what has happened to Andy; Lucas owes Andy to find out what happened. Also on the case is Detective Wendy Elliot who is already hot on the trail of a corrupt funeral director who might just have something to do with not only Andy’s disappearance but a whole slew of prostitutes. How can a small time funeral home be able to provide the amount of cadavers demanded by these huge corporations?

    The reader is aware just who the killer is and this does not take away from the plot but instead adds intensity. Wyler never goes in depth with the medical details making it appealing to novice readers yet a somewhat complex plot line that will attract even the advanced readers of medical thrillers. The characters are relatable to an average person and while I thought that some parts were a bit weak and the flashing back and forth from past to present to explain some relationships was distracting, I did enjoy the overall story.

    (ebook was provided by publicist for an honest review)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Good book but horrible language

    This was a fast and interesting read. The reason I gave it three stars was because of all the vulgar language on almost every page. I will be the first to admit that i drop the occassional f-bomb and that my language is far from stellar but this book goes above and beyond the boundaries of what is appropriate. The language is appalling and I find it funny that the filthy language starts about one or two pages after the sample ends. Other than the horrible language, it is a fast and easy read. I did feel like some ideas werent fully developed in the book and that the author didnt fully explain things a few times as well. Neat ideas though and quite a fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't prepared for the visceral impact it would make on me in

    I wasn't prepared for the visceral impact it would make on me in the first chapters when Allen Wyler's protagonist, Dr. Lucas Macrae unwrapped his "fresh head" specimen for his brain surgery demonstration in Hong Kong and found the head of his best friend staring up at him. Wow! Huge impact for a novel and a great way to start this one running. It never stopped tearing down the proverbial tracks from that moment. Fast paced and relevant, this one had me on my toes. I've never experienced or heard of any of the matters this book covers so I was reading wide-eyed and riveted!

    Allen Wyler doesn't let go of his readers. He's not prepared, evidently, to let anyone up for a breath. "Dead Ringer" is non-stop thriller material. The story of body parts delivered for medical study and instruction is as creepy as it is fascinating. The mystery of how the body parts are procured is down right gory and spine shivering. I couldn't get enough of the book. Made me wonder about myself at times to be so fascinated! LOL

    His characters are crisp and charming...even the criminals are interesting and absorbing. The criminals sit right on the edge of disgusting, but were engaging enough to have kept me wanting to follow everything they were planning and doing. The young police woman was heroic as well as being brilliant and brave. Great role model for the prostitutes she championed. And, Dr. Mcrae was the epitome of a great friend, unrelenting in his search for truth; and, with the unstoppable curiosity of a scientist. Each of these characters was easily worthy of a book of their own so carefully were they drawn for the reader.

    Allen Wyler is an accomplished writer who takes us to the edge of reality and drops us into a horrendous scenario. Makes you wonder about cremation and donor programs and choosing your mortuary very carefully!

    This is a medical suspense novel that will find you tearing the pages off as you read it...so scary and moving along so quickly that you can't help gripping the book with blue fingers. Even when I put it down, I was thinking about it and having to talk about it with my husband. A book you have to talk about with others!

    I highly recommend this one. Can't believe a major publisher hasn't picked it up!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Gripping novel

    From the premise alone I was excited to read Dead Ringer, and I’m glad to report that I wasn’t left disappointed.

    You’re pulled into the story from the first page. There isn’t a horrific back-story info dump, or drawn out, worthless descriptions of the setting. From the first page you’re met with a story in motion, nicely blended with description, dialogue, inner monologue, and setting. It was a pleasant change to read a book that moved at a good pace from the beginning.

    Writers write best when they write what they know, and Wyler did a superb job of doing just that. He has taken his expertise as a neurosurgeon and his love of thriller novels and used it to help craft a fantastic novel. The characters were wonderfully sculpted from the first page, showing us just enough to have the sense that we know them, without boring us with their entire life story. They all have their own voice and mannerisms, their own history and pain. They’re diverse, yet not so much that it would seem impossible for people like that to ever actually interact with each other.

    The plot pace was spot on, and that of a pro. Never once did I feel a lull in the plot or a moment where I lost my focus on the story. Not having read any of Wyler’s previous works, from his writing I can tell you that he’s a man that studies the craft, and puts what he has learned to good use. The twists come at the precise moment, and some even managed to surprise me.

    Overall this was a fantastic read. Wyler is a lover of this genre, and has the potential to rise above the rest as an author of the genre. I loved the character development, the plot twists, and idea of the story as a whole. Wyler has taken what, done poorly, could be a very cheesy idea and molded it into what should be a bestselling novel. I would recommend this book to any fan of thrillers, suspense, and even mystery.

    **I received a free copy for review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Dead Ringer is one of those books that grabs you right from the

    Dead Ringer is one of those books that grabs you right from the beginning and does not let you go until the last page has been turned. I started reading Robin Cook many years ago and got hooked on this type of story. Dead Ringer is about the body part business and how a good thing that can help many people with legally donated body parts, turns to something sinister and evil. All for someones greed for money. Allen Wyler is a gifted writer who is able to tell a great story with the knowledge that comes from experience. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as a matter of fact as soon as I finished it, I went and bought the author's first book. Definitely a 5 star in my book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Great story!

    This was a new author for me. This was a very scary, exciting story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Stimulating!

    I read this book and unfortunately for me I couldn't put it down. Fours hours later I was ordering the next book. The point of view of a neurosurgeon is an interesting one. The problems with government oversight and being mainpulated by law enforcement happens so often now, I could relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Great read!

    Really enjoyed this book...a fast page turner and keeps one wondering. I will be reading more of his books for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Anonymous

    To the writers of the reviews on Sept. 3, 18, and January 8, I love your reviews. So well written without giving away the story. People take notice, this is how a review should be written. I read every word and they convinced me this would be a good read. It was like a breath of fresh air reading a review the way it should be written. Thank you, thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    It was okay

    It was kinda dull and repetitive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Medical Thriller - Creepy!!

    We start when Lucas is preparing to use a cadaver’s head to teach other neurologists a specific technique. When he uncovers the head, he is looking at his best friend, Andy. Becoming obsessed, he questions the courier about where the head came from. He also tries to get his wife and Andy’s ex-wife to check on Andy since he cannot seem to get him on the phone. When Lucas gets back to Seattle, he keeps looking for Andy. Not finding anything, he finally goes to the police to report a missing person.

    Detective Wendy Elliot used to work the streets as an undercover prostitute to catch John’s. While on the street, she become close to one of the girls, Lupita, when she was saved from a possible rape. Something has happened and Lupita has disappeared. There was a strange SUV that was called in to the police in an alley by where Lupita was working. The SUV belongs to Ditto’s Funeral Home. After interviewing Robert Ditto, something about him catches her eye. Wendy knows he had something to do with Lupita’s disappearance and is going to find out what.

    Robert Ditto came from a family of undertakers that had little. He is obsessed with not wasting anything and money. Since he runs a funeral home, he discovered that you can get good money for a cadaver. He has a plan where people can sign up to have the body donated to science for whatever experiment. When done, the body will be returned and cremated for free for the people. He targets low-income people with little money to help build business. But business is good and he has more requests for bodies than he can fill.

    This is a really good thriller. I feel for Lucas and Wendy. They are both trying to find someone that they care about that no one else does. Lucas also has been fighting with his wife and this just adds more fuel to the fire of things that are pushing her away.

    The only thing that I didn’t really like was the ending. It was very abrupt and probably would happen in real life. But it felt too abrupt. It almost felt like there was no other option to end the book.

    Beyond that, this is a really good book. I read Dead End Deal and really liked it. I enjoyed Dead Ringer and will probably read more of Allen Wyler’s books. If you like medical mysteries/thrillers, check out both of these books.

    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book opens with gifted Neurosurgeon Lucas McCrae at a confer

    The book opens with gifted Neurosurgeon Lucas McCrae at a conference in
    Hong Kong. He is there to demonstrate a new procedure he developed and
    perfected. However, he gets a severe jolt when he discovers what
    appears to be his best friend’s head on his demonstration table. Lucas
    returns home only to find his friend Andy missing and nobody but Lucas
    seems concerned about this disturbing news. This story was easy to read
    and highly addictive. Once I began I did not want to put the book down
    because I was kept fully engaged. Lucas quickly became obsessed with
    finding Andy. This obsession led him finally to put together enough of
    the puzzle that one police detective began to suspect a correlation
    between a case she was investigating and Andy’s disappearance. Before
    long, Lucas and Sergeant Wendy Elliott are working jointly to unravel
    the baffling case. Meanwhile, Lucas must also contend with an unhappy
    marital situation that is swiftly deteriorating. The main villain in
    this story is positively inspired. Never have I encountered a fictional
    character so utterly slimy. Bobbie Ditto is an odd duck who works out an
    ingenious money-making system that perfectly fills a high-demand niche
    service. He takes recycling seriously and believes whole-heartedly that
    he is actually providing a much-needed service to society. He will
    terrify you. Lucas is a loyal friend, and as the narrative unfolds bits
    of his past come to light that help us understand his tenaciousness. In
    fact, all the main characters get similar treatments. Not to excess, but
    enough so that motivations and personality conflicts do become better
    understood. The story ended well; I felt satisfied and replete by the
    end. I received this book free from the author’s publicist in return
    for my honest review. Except for the free digital book, I received no
    additional compensation of any kind. Reviewed by Laurie-J

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1