Customer Reviews for

Dead Ringer (Rosato & Associates Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very funny!

    I liked this book more so than Lisa’s other books. The humor and the one line remarks were funny throughout the book. When lawyer Bennie’s twin sister returns to Phili, she is in trouble as she is out to steal her life (the twin was brutal) and does so. Then one day a stranger shows u p and helps save her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging Mystery

    Bennie Rosato couldn't be better. Although her law office is struggling a bit financially, she just landed a new client that could end her money worries for years. She is making a respected name for herself in the Philadelphia courts. She has great friends and a great life.

    Then everything seems to go wrong at once. Her new account, which had the potential to bring in millions in fees, seems in trouble. Judges and lawyers who respected her are starting to avoid her. Her house is broken into and her dog's life endangered. Then her best client is murdered.

    Who could be behind all of these misfortunes? Could it be Alice, Bennie's twin sister who was given away at birth and who resents Bennie? She has caused trouble before and Bennie knows the scandalous behavior that has her peers turning away from her has to be Alice pretending to be her. Is it the most prominent lawyer in town, who is threatened by Bennie's professional success and who has a reputation for playing hardball? Or is it David, a gorgeous guy who turned up out of nowhere and worked his way into Bennie's life.

    Scottoline has written an engaging mystery. Readers not only get a puzzle to solve but a look into the internal workings of an independent business, and how lawsuits make their way through the courts from start to finish. This book is recommended for mystery lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Very exciting, needed to keep reading. Bennie and other lawyers were very interesting characters as usual. The entire series is excellent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    Good, but she has done better

    Dead Ringer too me was just ok and I love this author. Vendetta Defense and Courting Trouble were far better reads. In this book she starts off with too many subplots going at once and strangely there is just too much humor in places not needed, followed by lengthy lectures about class-action lawsuites. The characters are her saving grace and that is what keeps this book floating along. I know she will continue to write other fantastic books to come. If you've never read a book by Ms. Scottoline, read any of her other books first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    The Best!

    'Dead Ringer' is a dead ringer for a movie. The plots and subplots are woven with the touch of a master the author has become. Not to be missed. Or read only once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    KATE BURTON READS - SUPERBLY, OF COURSE

    Accomplished actress Kate Burton has a one of a kind stage voice. (Something in the genes, perhaps?) It doesn't really matter how she acquired her voice; it is simply there for all to enjoy. She can be soothing, menacing, comedic, whatever the role demands. Ms. Burton provides a superb reading of Lisa Scottoline's adventure starring Bennie Rosato, head of an all women Philadelphia law firm. As our story opens said firm is in financial straits. Things couldn't get much worse - the group is about to be tossed out of their offices onto the sidewalk and Bennie feels personally responsible for her partners, Mary DiNunzio and Judy Carrier. Being cash poor is one thing but to have someone trolling about Philadelphia impersonating you and raising all kinds of havoc is quite something else. Bennie knows there's only one person who could pull that off - her mean spirited twin sister, Alice. It's any port in a storm so when Bennie has an opportunity to represent a class-action suit that could be a real money maker she doesn't even think about it - she charges ahead. However, she hadn't counted on murder. Suddenly, the stakes are much higher than she'd ever dreamed. Listen, and be both entertained and surprised. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Great Book

    This book was a very good book. I couldn't put it down. A must read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    A good summer read, but not very meaty

    Liked the book, fast paced, likeable/loveable characters. Would want Bennie as a friend. This was read as a book club selection, and honestly, there isn't much to discuss! Ending a little hokey. But I would read another book in the series if I was looking for something light but enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    As usual, Scottoline shines

    Lisa Scottoline has produced another fine book. Scottoline at her worst (which has to be an oxymoron) is a great read, and this is one of her best. Her crisp dialogue, vivid characters and careful plotting appear to be effortless. The book's humour acts as a foil for its suspense. There do seem to be some loose ends at the book's conclusion but we know these will be dealt with brilliantly in her next book. Hurry, Lisa!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Lisa Scottoline is hysterical!

    I loved this book, as I do all her other works. She knows Philadelphia, acts Philadelphia, IS Philadelphia...with a heart of gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    NOT HER BEST

    OF HER EIGHT OR TEN I'VE READ, I HAVE TO RATE THIS NEAR THE BOTTOM. I HAVE 'RUNNING FROM THE LAW' TO READ NEXT. I'M TRUSTING IT WILL BE A LOT BETTER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    A Wonderful Story

    This is an enjoyable read. The story runs in a series and this book will make more sense and be more fun if you read them in sequence. The only negative comment would be the end fell a little flat, but the rest of the story was so good it's worth the flat ending. Have fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    The Best of Rosato

    A marvelous novel. Really enjoyed reading this great creation. A must read for all thriller-loving folks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Another great read from the creator of Rosato & Associates

    DEAD RINGER is another great legal thriller, one of those can't put it down stay up late to finish books. At the beginning I thought, 'oh no, not another thing can happen to Bennie'. I really enjoyed the build up of the relationship between Bennie & 'the kids'. And , ok, I loved the SEAL. At the end I thought ,'Rosato, you are soft as a grape ' --in a good way, as in-you are a better woman than I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great legal thriller

    Bennie Rosato built the all-female law firm of Rosato & Associates from scratch and thinks of it as her second child. It is tearing her apart that she might lose it because so many of her clients went bankrupt and no new clients are knocking at the door. When Robert St. Amien, a French lens manufacturer with an office in Philadelphia, wants to hire her in a class action suit she thinks that will be the saving of her law firm.<P> While she and the associates are working on the case, trying to be the lead counsel since her client had the most to lose, Bennie runs into some potential problems. Her sociopathic identical twin sister is in town, ruining her reputation and getting her arrested for robbing a jewelry store. While she is trying to find Alice, somebody kills Robert and Bennie¿s focus shifts into finding the perpetrator who killed her client.<P> DEAD RINGER is a little different (but just as good) from other Lisa Scottoline novels because it focuses on Bennie and is told from her point of view. There are a lot of thrills and chills in this legal thriller but there are more insightful explosions than usual into how Bennie thinks and feels. This is a fine addition to the Rosato and Associates novels, as it adds dimension and depth to one of the better legal thriller series on the market today.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2