Customer Reviews for

The Dead Saint

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Definitely recommended..

As it happens, this book is like several of the free books from Nook that I have already read and enjoyed. The story line is, for the most part, not one of which I would have chosen, but something in the preview lured me in. For that, I am grateful. I loved it.

...
As it happens, this book is like several of the free books from Nook that I have already read and enjoyed. The story line is, for the most part, not one of which I would have chosen, but something in the preview lured me in. For that, I am grateful. I loved it.

To describe this book, I would not know where to begin. It is long, but the pages were absolutely needed and they never lose you on their way. It's a "want to get back to the book" treasure that nearly anyone can find themselves enjoying...even me.

Thanks again B&N NOOK, you remain a treasure in my life.

posted by mns4453 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Dead Saint

The cover is a bit misleading - when I see a Washington, D.C., building on the cover, I expect a political novel with D.C. as the focal point of the action. Although this novel does involve US political intrigue, little of the action is set there. Still, it is an inte...
The cover is a bit misleading - when I see a Washington, D.C., building on the cover, I expect a political novel with D.C. as the focal point of the action. Although this novel does involve US political intrigue, little of the action is set there. Still, it is an interesting story with interesting characters. It seemed to bog down in places, but perhaps that was my problem. It is worth reading. Although the main character is a religious figure, a bishop, the story is not overly religious nor is it preachy. The bishop is an interesting woman.

posted by pagemage on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    The Dead Saint

    The cover is a bit misleading - when I see a Washington, D.C., building on the cover, I expect a political novel with D.C. as the focal point of the action. Although this novel does involve US political intrigue, little of the action is set there. Still, it is an interesting story with interesting characters. It seemed to bog down in places, but perhaps that was my problem. It is worth reading. Although the main character is a religious figure, a bishop, the story is not overly religious nor is it preachy. The bishop is an interesting woman.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely recommended..

    As it happens, this book is like several of the free books from Nook that I have already read and enjoyed. The story line is, for the most part, not one of which I would have chosen, but something in the preview lured me in. For that, I am grateful. I loved it.

    To describe this book, I would not know where to begin. It is long, but the pages were absolutely needed and they never lose you on their way. It's a "want to get back to the book" treasure that nearly anyone can find themselves enjoying...even me.

    Thanks again B&N NOOK, you remain a treasure in my life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Excellent Read - Highly Recommend

    Loved this book. Great mystery, suspense, and intrigue. Charachters were interesting and had solid histories. Will look for more books from Marilyn.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    The Dead Saint

    Book Blurb
    It begins with a single gunshot, and Bishop Lynn Peterson watches in horror as a good friend, who is a member of the New Orleans Saints, collapses on the street.

    When a medal the player wore-a medal Lynn had promised to return to the man's family-disappears, Lynn is thrust into a suspenseful and fast-moving journey through four assassinations, an attempt on her life, conflicts with a mysterious and ancient society, and a behind-the-scenes conspiracy that reaches all the way to the White House.

    The turbulent, unstoppable intrigue challenges Lynn mentally, physically, and spiritually as she engages in a desperate battle with an opponent who is just as determined to kill as Lynn is to stop him even though she has no idea where-or who-he will strike next.

    My Review

    A good friend of Bishop Lynn Peterson and a member of the New Orleans Saints were shot and dies in a New Orleans street, right in front of her. Her friend wore a strange medal, which Lynn was going to return to the deceased guy's mom, but on her way to the moms, the medal was stolen. Could it be the killer who stole the medal? And what was so special about the medal anyway? Then Lynn was asked by the vice-president to take a message to a military guy while on a trip to Sarajevo, and the guy is murdered just after he gets the message. Are these things happening to the Bishop related in some way?

    This book is not a bad read, but not one of my favorites. I found myself skimming through a lot of the book because it was kind of boring and hard to follow. It was just not the action packed thriller I was expecting it to be.

    If you like anti war stories you will like this book, so get a copy and see what you think!

    I want say a big Thank You to Abingdon Press for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. The review and opinions in this book are mine only. I was not expected or required to write a positive review of this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    A real page turner!!

    This well-crafted mystery kept me up all night finishing it! The combination of political intrigue, gender considerations, and social issues sparked by the murder of a New Orleans Saint's football player who was originally from Sarajevo made this book a real page turner. The heroine, Bishop Lynn Peterson, witnessed the murder and promised to return a medal recovered from the victim to his family, when she attended a meeting of bishops in the Baltic. The twists and turns of the plot spanned two continents and she became involved in a plot revolving around an unknown conspirator in the administration of the first female President of the United States. After four murders and an attempt on both Lynn and her husband's lives the plot was finally resolved. I could not put the book down until I finished it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Unsuspecting partner in intrigue

    Bishop Peterson becomes an unspecting partner in a mystery that goes from New Orleans to Washington DC to Macedonia. In an attempt to complete a task not of her choosing, she becomes involved with the Patriot and those he employs to accomplish his own patriotic mission. Enjoyed the lead character and her "self conversations" with Ivy (her own inner voice). It was unusual to read a novel which took place largely in Macedonia. That was of particular interest for me since my paternal grandparents emigrated from Macedonia. Enjoyed this very much and hope there might be another book concerning Bishop Peterson and her adventures!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Worth the time

    I found much of the book interesting yet at times there was too much detail associated with characters or events not essential or even necessary for the plot The main character's meintal conversation with her self depracsting other personality was annoying yet when I got used to it vanished from the chapters,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Interesting

    Not bad.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Interesting

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Ray

    Good read, anyway!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I give the author one star for making the effort but this was so

    I give the author one star for making the effort but this was so boring I couldn't get past the first couple of chapters. On the plus side it was free so I simply deleted it. I'd recommend you download and read the free sample before buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Wonderfully written,

    It was nardtostop teading even to cook or to complete my daily tasks,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were fully developed

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were fully developed and the story was riviting. I was surprised to find I hadn't stepped into the middle of a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Great book.

    Loved the suspence and travels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good story line

    Good story line that could have been told in 239 pages, rather than 439. Much too much unneeded background and references to the main character's previously deceased daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    I didn't want to put it down.

    Great writing. Story flow is excellent. I didn't want to put it down. Not gross or scary, just good suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    An ok read

    A good read, action packed but at times the author used repetitive phrases, but it was still a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Conspiracies! Secrets!

    This kept me guessing which side was the good guys until the end...still not convinced. I loved all the twists and turns and interwoven characters, unaware of each other's cause and effect. I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    An Exciting Read!

    What a ride! "The Dead Saint" was an exciting thriller to read. It is always such fun to read a book that you can't put down. The bishop's quiet but strong leadership mixed with feminine relational qualities made the character someone you wanted to know personally. I particularly liked the way the author used the bishop's "Inner Voice." The short chapers made for a fast, moving read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Better Than Dan Brown!

    If you liked Dan Brown's DA VINCI CODE, with its secret societies and arcane history, you'll love THE DEAD SAINT, which out-Dan-Browns Dan Brown. Beginning with the death of a famous football player in New Orleans (the Saint), the novel spins us away to such beguiling international scenes as Vienna and Sarajevo, and keeps us breathlessly involved until a plot that is chock-a-block with intrigues and assassinations has run its course. In the end, there is deep satisfaction with the way everything works out, and a renewal of our faith in the God who presides over the destinies of both individuals and nations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2