Customer Reviews for

Dead Sexy Dragon

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed

I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed it immensely, but missed the fact that it was so short! I loved the characters and their chemistry just would have loved to have seen so much more!! There was an excerpt to book 2 at the end of this one tho...
I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed it immensely, but missed the fact that it was so short! I loved the characters and their chemistry just would have loved to have seen so much more!! There was an excerpt to book 2 at the end of this one though and short or not, I will definitely be checking it out too!! If you are looking for a quick read about a HOT man that turns a little scaly, then this is definitely the book for you. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

posted by hcollins1 on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dragon Heat in Spades!

Would the world be a better place without dragons? For ages a group of knights have battled to eradicate the dragonshifters that secretly live among us. Is their cause just or born from hatred, or perhaps love? The battle has come to Stig’s door, via his late best frien...
Would the world be a better place without dragons? For ages a group of knights have battled to eradicate the dragonshifters that secretly live among us. Is their cause just or born from hatred, or perhaps love? The battle has come to Stig’s door, via his late best friend’s sister, Cora, a beautiful and tantalizing human female. Cora has always had a special place in her heart and her fantasies for the distant, quiet and sexy Stig, but he hasn’t shown the slightest interest. She is now in desperate trouble and it couldn’t be at a worse time for Stig. His dragon is running hot, his hormones are raging and Cora is too tempting to resist, but not only is love between a dragon and a human forbidden, Cora has NO idea what Stig really is. How could she possibly accept him once she knows he is an immortal dragon?

Dead Sexy Dragon by Lolita Lopez is novella length, but does not lack in attention to detail. Clearly Dead Sexy Dragon is meant to sensual and erotic with some story thrown in. For me, the “encounters” between Stig and Cora were a little too detailed or graphic. There wasn’t much in the line of sensual nor was there much left to the imagination. Each sexual move was detailed again to the point that I felt Masters & Johnson wrote part of the script. That said, Stig’s character WAS developed well with considerable attention made to his background and his life, fleshing him out and making him likable and realistic. Cora was almost flat as a character and not so easily identified with.

The plotline of dragons versus knights is intriguing and I hope to read more of that idea in the next book. Is this a battle of good over evil or a tragic mistake that has gone on for too long like the Hatfields and McCoys?

A review copy was provided by NetGalley and Forever Yours in exchange for my honest review.

posted by DiiMI on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dragon Heat in Spades!

    Would the world be a better place without dragons? For ages a group of knights have battled to eradicate the dragonshifters that secretly live among us. Is their cause just or born from hatred, or perhaps love? The battle has come to Stig’s door, via his late best friend’s sister, Cora, a beautiful and tantalizing human female. Cora has always had a special place in her heart and her fantasies for the distant, quiet and sexy Stig, but he hasn’t shown the slightest interest. She is now in desperate trouble and it couldn’t be at a worse time for Stig. His dragon is running hot, his hormones are raging and Cora is too tempting to resist, but not only is love between a dragon and a human forbidden, Cora has NO idea what Stig really is. How could she possibly accept him once she knows he is an immortal dragon?

    Dead Sexy Dragon by Lolita Lopez is novella length, but does not lack in attention to detail. Clearly Dead Sexy Dragon is meant to sensual and erotic with some story thrown in. For me, the “encounters” between Stig and Cora were a little too detailed or graphic. There wasn’t much in the line of sensual nor was there much left to the imagination. Each sexual move was detailed again to the point that I felt Masters & Johnson wrote part of the script. That said, Stig’s character WAS developed well with considerable attention made to his background and his life, fleshing him out and making him likable and realistic. Cora was almost flat as a character and not so easily identified with.

    The plotline of dragons versus knights is intriguing and I hope to read more of that idea in the next book. Is this a battle of good over evil or a tragic mistake that has gone on for too long like the Hatfields and McCoys?

    A review copy was provided by NetGalley and Forever Yours in exchange for my honest review.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    My beef with this book it that it was to short. It is only about

    My beef with this book it that it was to short. It is only about 120 pages so I got through it quickly. Cora is a hot mess but in a fun way and Stig is brooding but he has PMS so he’s excused. Speaking of Stig’s PMS I liked that he was in heat, which is usually a female issue. I also liked that Cora and Stig already knew and cared for each other, it made the intensity of their romance make a lot of sense. Also for such a short book so many things about these Dragon’s and their history and biology was explained, while leaving plenty of mystery and drama for future installments. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I love my paranormal romance books, but this book was too short

    I love my paranormal romance books, but this book was too short for me. I liked shape shifters and there's not very many with dragons. She gave it a good go at it, the story was good but short, and some steamy sex scenes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest rev

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    The sun is setting and Stig is minutes from transforming into a dragon—a dragon in heat. His dead friend’s little sister knocks on the door. She’s crying and desperate. He can’t send her away, especially not considering he gave her a key to the house and promised to help if she needed. But letting her stay during the worst eight days of the next three years isn't smart. Cora has stumbled into some trouble since her brother died. Stig is the only person she can think of to go to. It’s an added bonus that she’s had the hots for him for ages.

    This was a quick, light read that pretty much unfolds the way you imagine it will. I liked the premise but the execution wasn't anything spectacular...though the author does manage to pack a good amount of conflict plus several sex scenes into a scant 25k. If you're looking for some sexy times with dragon shifters that is easy to get through and actually does have a plot, grab this one. I give it 3-stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Deep in trouble, Cora Cardenas heads to the one person she hopes

    Deep in trouble, Cora Cardenas heads to the one person she hopes can help her. Stig Wyvern is a loner and the last thing he needs is his dead friend’s kid sister showing up asking for help. Stig let her stay but he knows with him entering his mating phase, the woman he has lusted for should stay far away from him. Cora has also wanted Stig for a long time and will do anything to convince Stig to let her stay…including cooking everything in his kitchen. Stig needs to get her out, Cora desperately wants to stay. Luckily his inner beast has his own ideas. He’s found his mate and she’s not about to let her go anywhere.




    I actually liked this story. I find Stig and Cora a sweet couple.. The sex scenes between them were hot but still tastefully done. I think the author did a good job on giving just enough history in this novella to let me know what was going on and what to expect. Very sneaky of author Lolita Lopez giving Stig the last name of Wyvern. (FYI…a wyvern is a dragon). That tidbit definitely helped put a mental image in my head of what he looked like in his altered state. It certainly perked my interest enough to want to continue reading the series. To me, the most interesting part was the twist on the whole mating process. For once, it’s the male going into heat. Sound like a bit of payback time boys! Stig and Cora definitely got they HEA but it is left just open enough that their story could continue into the next book. 




    Having had a preview of the next book I can see it is not about Ignatius. The dragon needs his own story! Overall I was very pleased with Dead Sexy Dragon and look forward to the next book in the Dragon Heat series. 




    I received this book from Net Galley for the express purposes of an honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated.




    Stars – 3.5, Flames – 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first picked up this book I had a preconceived notion tha

    When I first picked up this book I had a preconceived notion that this book was about a sexy guy with dragon tats who got the girl and lived happily ever after. But…..this book was as far fetched to that notion as possible. You can say I was partially correct; sexy guy who was really a dragon incognito. Add to that, dragon slayers who want him DEAD and you have Dead Sexy Dragon. This is a really good fantasy that I would recommend all to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Too short! Cora runs to her brother's friend, Stig, when she ge

    Too short!

    Cora runs to her brother's friend, Stig, when she gets in trouble with the wrong people.  He said that she could always
    come to him if she needed help, so she's surprised when he's resistant to her staying with him.

    She's always wanted him.  He's always wanted her.  Hijinks ensue, some of the sexual variety.  The connection
    between the two brings up an interesting dilemma for each of them, and its resolution makes waves in the dragon
    community to which Stig belongs.

    Fun.  Too short, in my opinion.  Big plus - I don't remember finding any errors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    While I usually enjoy the paranormal books, even ones about drag

    While I usually enjoy the paranormal books, even ones about dragons because there doesn't seem to be a lot of them out there, this one I think felt left a lot hanging. I was disappointed because I was expecting more from the story itself and I felt it was lacking.


    Don't get me wrong, I still enjoyed the story with how it went but I think that the characters could have used a lot more building, as well as Stig's past. It felt like there was a lot thrown at us at once, without learning what exactly was going on during the story.


    All in all, because of the tease at the end of this novella for the next one, I would be very interested in reading that one. I am unsure if I would recommend this book to friends just because there was so much lacking in the story.

    Review provided by Crystal's Many Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    3.5 stars:  DEAD SEXY DRAGON is the first storyline in Lolita Lo

    3.5 stars:  DEAD SEXY DRAGON is the first storyline in Lolita Lopez’s new paranormal dragon shifter Dragon Heat series of novellas. This is Stig and Cora’s storyline and because it is a novella, the world and character building are limited but the information revealed is enough for an introductory novel.
    Stig is entering his mating cycle and the last things he needs is the woman who has called to his heart for the last number of years. As the sister of his deceased best friend, Stig has always kept a hands off policy with regards to Cora, but on this night, his heart as well as his dragon know only one thing-that Cora will be his.
    But to add complication to the scenario, Cora is basically on the run. Following the death of her brother and her grandmother, in a short time span, Cora found herself facing a few problems including a large amount of debt and some nasty people willing to make her work to pay off the money that she owed. Running to Stig seemed like the only viable option and Cora would discover that there is more to the man that she loves than the mysterious and guarded former soldier.
    Dead Sexy Dragon is a fast paced, introductory storyline that reveals some of the background information about the dragon history and the Knights trying to end their lives. At war for centuries, the Knights are closing in on the few remaining dragons and Stig and Cora are their latest targets.
    We are quickly introduced to a few other dragons including the leader Ignatius, Madoc and Grif who will each have a story of their own to tell.
    The sexual tension is high as Stig refuses to allow his dragon the need to mate. But something inside Cora calls to Stig and not only do they dance around each other but their nightly psychic visits are as real as any fantasy can get. The sex scenes are hot and steamy and, in the end, you will discover that Cora and Stig were made for each other.
    Lolita Lopez blends the paranormal with the contemporary and allows the reader to experience the terror of losing one’s mate all in the name of a war fought to keep the memory of a forbidden love alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dead Sexy Dragon (Dragon Heat #1) by Lolita Lopez  3 of 5 Stars

    Dead Sexy Dragon (Dragon Heat #1) by Lolita Lopez 
    3 of 5 Stars

    Dragon shifter, Stig Wyvern, is a loner.  He is part of the Brotherhood of the Green Hide a group of dragon shifters that protects its kind against the Knights of St. George, a group that dedicates itself to the bringing the extermination of dragon shifters.

    Stig has always been attracted to Cora Cardenas.  He has stayed away from her because not only was she his deceased best friend’s little sister, but she is also human.

    Every three-year dragon shifters go into the mating phase.  During this time, unmated dragons sequester themselves from society.  Just as Stig is about to go into his phase a distressed Cora shows up on his door step.  Unable to turn her away, Stig takes her in hoping he can evade her.

    Meanwhile, Cora has gotten herself into trouble, and that trouble is looking for her.

    If you want a quick, easy, adult read about dragon shifters, this is your book.

    ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Dragon Shifter Erotica  I am always excited to discover a ne

    Fun Dragon Shifter Erotica 
    I am always excited to discover a new dragon shifter series.  And this one looks like it is going to be full of all kinds of fun dragons.
    We have a latina heroine and an ex marine dragon shifter who was her deceased brother's best friend.  We have a lot of the plot spent
    on the physical relationship and not as much spent on the emotional and cultural aspects of the book. In this way, its a fun frothy
    paranormal erotic read. 

    However, I wish this book had a little more length to it so it could have balanced out the world building, erotica, romance, and character
     development aspects.  It might have been very captivating then and rereadable instead of a popcorn read. 

    As it stands, this book was a nice quick read and I look forward to the rest of the series.

    I was given this book for my honest review. So, there you have it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Stig is one hot dragon and he's going through mating season. No

    Stig is one hot dragon and he's going through mating season. No problem, he's in a cabin in the woods and he has a nice safe underground lair to ride out his hormonal tempest, right? Nope, sexy Cora shows up, in desperate trouble and she needs Stig in the worst way. This is a fiery little novella that would be best handled with gloves, so you don't get burned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1