Customer Reviews for

Dead Sexy Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed

I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed it immensely, but missed the fact that it was so short! I loved the characters and their chemistry just would have loved to have seen so much more!! There was an excerpt to book 2 at the end of this one tho...
I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed it immensely, but missed the fact that it was so short! I loved the characters and their chemistry just would have loved to have seen so much more!! There was an excerpt to book 2 at the end of this one though and short or not, I will definitely be checking it out too!! If you are looking for a quick read about a HOT man that turns a little scaly, then this is definitely the book for you. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

posted by hcollins1 on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

My beef with this book it that it was to short. It is only about

My beef with this book it that it was to short. It is only about 120 pages so I got through it quickly. Cora is a hot mess but in a fun way and Stig is brooding but he has PMS so he’s excused. Speaking of Stig’s PMS I liked that he was in heat, which is usually a female...
My beef with this book it that it was to short. It is only about 120 pages so I got through it quickly. Cora is a hot mess but in a fun way and Stig is brooding but he has PMS so he’s excused. Speaking of Stig’s PMS I liked that he was in heat, which is usually a female issue. I also liked that Cora and Stig already knew and cared for each other, it made the intensity of their romance make a lot of sense. Also for such a short book so many things about these Dragon’s and their history and biology was explained, while leaving plenty of mystery and drama for future installments. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

posted by Eloise_In_Paris on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed

    I was so excited to find a book with Sexy Dragons and I enjoyed it immensely, but missed the fact that it was so short! I loved the characters and their chemistry just would have loved to have seen so much more!! There was an excerpt to book 2 at the end of this one though and short or not, I will definitely be checking it out too!! If you are looking for a quick read about a HOT man that turns a little scaly, then this is definitely the book for you. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    I like this series, and was glad to get this book. I really lik


    I like this series, and was glad to get this book. I really liked it! What I didn't like was the abrupt ending. All in all, it was a good last chance story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dead Sexy Dragon was my first read by this author, and I enjoyed

    Dead Sexy Dragon was my first read by this author, and I enjoyed it. The book has an excerpt from book #2 in the series, Red Hot Dragon (TBR February 4th, 2014), and I may actually enjoy that one even more by the sound of it.

    The characters had great chemistry due in large to their history/connection. There wasn’t exactly a gradual progression of discovering feelings, but rather Stig was the only obstacle because of his secret. Cora was outgoing and brazen enough to make the first move (something I admire in heroines). If you want it, go for it. There’s no use being timid and constantly wondering “what if?” I wouldn’t say I connected with Cora, but I felt her reactions to each pivotal moment in the story was realistic, both the good and the bad. Stig had a lot more layers to him: his part in the Brotherhood, the duties he fulfilled in the Marines, his very close friendship to a human (Cora’s brother), and the vow to keep an eye on her if anything ever happened to her brother. He was a man of honor and a beast with a hint of vulnerability.

    I liked the plot too which was interesting in terms of the code of honor among the Brotherhood of the Green Hide. Aside from the secret Stig was keeping from Cora was the added burden that a Brother couldn’t stray across species lines. The Brotherhood’s duty was to protect other dragons from the Knights (of St. George), a band of dragon slayers. The sex was hot, but I preferred seeing the hero vulnerable to heartache and having the heroine come to an important fork in the road. I wish the hero and heroine had had a little more time to come to terms with the drastic changes in their budding relationship. It just seemed like the bubble burst a bit too soon. Other than that, the rest of the story kept a decent pace and was easy to follow.

    A fun, sexy read and if you love dragon shifters, you’ll enjoy this.

    Rating: 3.5 rounded up to 4

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am always happy to find a new author. Especially when she has

    I am always happy to find a new author. Especially when she has a new outlook on my favorite-Dragons. These are shifters and men who change when they get hot and cranky when they go into mating heat. It's not every month but now they know how we feel. Stig is flummoxed when his late best friend's sister comes to him for help. Cora' s had the hots for Stig since she was a girl. It gets interesting to watch them fight against each other for what they want. Of course the bad guys show up. Insert lots of action here! But who wins? Is it Stig or Cora or the Big Bad Boss Dragon? Ooops! No spoilers here you must read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Chris to rose

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Im holy fuc

    First off nook sex or real sex?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Dragons! Yay! *Book source ~ Many thanks to NetGalley and Forev

    Dragons! Yay!

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to NetGalley and Forever Yours for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Cora Cardenas has gotten into some deep and pretty scary trouble, so she heads to the only person she trusts to help her out and keep her safe. Stig Wyvern, best friend to her deceased brother told her if there was ever anything she needed she could come to him. And boy, does she need him. So she arrives on his doorstep, but it’s the worst possible time for her to come knocking. Stig is a dragon and is in his mating heat. With the way he’s always felt about Cora, well…let’s just say Stig is stuck between a rock and a hard on, I mean, place. Hard place.

    I enjoyed this short story. I like both Stig and Cora, they are fairly well-fleshed out as characters. Smart, funny, a bit insecure but courageous. It’s also a well-written story, but since it’s short there isn’t a lot of world-building going on. However, there is enough, combined with Cora and Stig and a glimpse at Stig’s compatriots that I’m interested in continuing on with the series. Oh, and did I mention the steamy scenes? Yeah, those are hot. *fans self* I am so looking forward to book 2, Red Hot Dragon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    You know, I really, really feel in love it this book. I was wo

    You know, I really, really feel in love it this book.

    I was worried at first because so many of my friends were, 'Eh' about it, and I usually share very similar style and taste in books with my reading buds.

    However, in this one I was on a totally different page than them. Which isn't bad, it just shows the diversity of the reading world.

    From the first page and I gripped by Stig. I have this whole soft spot for the lonely broody heroes. They are the ones you just wanna snog and cuddle and say its ok, let me pet you and keep you forever and ever.

    We get our first in the book with Stig, we know he's along, we know he's got something going on, we knew he's gonna go through a shift, and that he's in heat. Oh, I do love the whole forced heat thing. I makes me tingle when peeps are uncontrollably horny for one another.

    Enter Cora.

    She's kinda a mess.

    But she's an endearing mess.

    I didn't mind her flighty way of thinking so much because she wasn't really dumb, she was just young and riding that learning curve still. Heck, I'm 32 and still on a learning curve about life.

    She barges into his life right when he needs to shift into a dragon.

    Can we say yum!

    And he's like a big awesome, cool, horny, dream sucking dragon.

    The story is told from shifting POV and I feel deeply in love with these characters. I really appreciated that the author didn't info dumb a whole load of world-building on me. That more times than not makes a book one of anything fantasy or paranormal tedious to read and you are slogging through it hopping for some action.

    In this book they drop you subtle information about the world of the dragons and their war with the knights.

    It is a unique and interesting spin on dragons. She kept to a basic formula and didn't slather us in useless dribble.

    This was just a really cool book, I'm trying to so hard to refrain from spoilers. A few things I can't say in the review because it is part of the conflict of the story. Although I tell myself I wouldn't react like Cora, I can see WHY she reacted that way. Logically, it made sense. And after she metaphorically kicked herself in the pants, she turned around to get back her dragon.

    Lolita has a great way of weaving fantasy world that are easy to take and don't weight you down with dribble. I'm a total fan of this series and can't wait for more books!

    I think what I like the most is that the woman came through at the end as the hero. That might be a spoiler but I appreciated it. She was strong without tossing out cuss words and blazing with a shot gun in her hand in tight leather. She was a realistic character that took a stand when it counted. It made her smart and likable.

    *I received a copy of this book from Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Hot hot hot. Oh. My. Stig. Yes, his name is Stig. Stig Wyvern.

    Hot hot hot.

    Oh. My. Stig. Yes, his name is Stig. Stig Wyvern. Nice play on words there for the last name. Odd name choice aside, the man is hot. He's a carpenter, a former soldier, and a shape-shifting dragon about to enter a mating phase. All things that make me sit up and take notice. Hundreds of years old, living the solitary life of a dragon without a mate, Sig is just the kind of man you want to read about on a cold, quiet evening. Preferably someplace private.

    Cora's not my favorite female protagonist ever - she's cute, spunky, but her backstory is a little too contrived for me. Of course I realize I'm reading about men almost as old as Jesus himself who can magically shift from their human form to that of a mythical beast. Feel free to take my opinion with a grain of salt...or two.

    This book took me a bit by surprise. I knew it was a shifter romance, but it wasn't tagged as erotica so I had no idea how dirty the words were going to get. I guess I could have looked a little harder at the Goodreads shelves it sat on, but I really didn't think about it. Hence I made the EPIC mistake of reading it at work...at my desk. And then the male Vice President over my department walked up. I'm pretty sure I blushed like a twelve-year-old, but I couldn't stop reading. This dragon and his mate simply wouldn't let me go.

    There were some sweet, romantic moments, a fight scene and quite the foundation for what looks to be an exceptional shifter series. The characters were good (though again, I liked Stig more than Cora), the overall storyline was fast-paced and the naughty words were oh-my-whoa hot. I am not really a fan of the writer's choppy sentence style but it was something I found easy to overlook.

    I gave Dead Sexy Dragons a full four stars. This is a definite must for any shifter-romance lovers who don't mind their books a little steamy. The second book in the series, Red Hot Dragon, is already out, and I already have it loaded on my Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Dead Sexy Dragon is a very hot and sexy read, so be ready for th

    Dead Sexy Dragon is a very hot and sexy read, so be ready for the sizzle.  Full of heat, heart and danger, it is sure to intrigue lovers of paranormal adventure romances and have them coming back for more when Red Hot Dragon releases in October.  Full review available at RomanticReadsandSuch on wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    For such a compressed read it has everything to capture your int

    For such a compressed read it has everything to capture your interest. The hero Stig was a friend to Cora's brother who is now deceased. She is in huge trouble and has no one else who can help.
    This is not the time for Stig to have an attractive young lady begging for his help. He has a big secret that is hidden behind look doors.
    The author gives us just enough background to draw us in. The sexual heat between Cora and Stig is explosive. However, I did not find the story rushed as I felt the author did a great job in giving them a believable history.
    I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
    I received a copy of this book through Net Galley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    First off ¿ this is a very short, quick read (25,000 words), so

    First off – this is a very short, quick read (25,000 words), so I didn’t expect much characterization, etc. And yet, Ms. Lopez completely blew me away. Her world building as far as her dragons was great.




    Cora is a bit of a twit in some ways (she made a couple of stupid mistakes), but she did own up to it and wanted to move beyond the problem. Her primary goal is to keep her bakery open, or at least feasible, despite having some rather nasty people after her. She’s been attracted to Stig and knows he’s a fighter thanks to his service with her brother, and so she turns to him for protection when the loan shark collectors come calling for her.




    Stig’s a warrior all right. A warrior who is also a dragon. And man, he was a heck of a sexy dragon. He’s going through his heat phase when Cora shows up. During his heat, he’s forced into his dragon form and will go bonkers if he doesn’t have sex to procreate, so he chains himself in a cavern beneath his cabin in the woods.




    They have a nice set of erotic dreams Cora’s first night, but by the second, she goes exploring and finds the chained dragon/Stig.




    There isn’t a lot of room in this book for subplots or anything else, but it really REALLY didn’t need it. There’s clear connections to future books, and I loved how Cora and Stig found their way to be together. I hope we get to experience Cora, at least as a secondary character, as she gets used to her new role in her newly expanded world.




    This book totally deserves a 4-star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fun

    Fun sexy novella. I loved the story and bought the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Hot dragon shifters, true mates, an awesome history, and lots of

    Hot dragon shifters, true mates, an awesome history, and lots of heat.  Yep, the author packed a lot into this novella.  I think two things made this hot shifter read stand out to me.  The first was that they characters already knew each other.  Not well, but they had a history.  This made their connection seem more real then so much of the instant love I have been reading lately.  The second was the lore behind the dragon shifters.  I really hope that she will one day write a prequel to this series with just the history of the lore. It is not needed, but I would love to read it all the same.




    If you are looking for a super steamy short read with a hot dragon shifter, a spunky heroine, intriguing lore, and a bit of suspense, this book is probably for you.  I have not read anything by this author before, but I plan to check out her back list.  Hoping she has some more shifter crack in her repertoire.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The first book in the Dragon Heat series is a quick and fun read

    The first book in the Dragon Heat series is a quick and fun read that is very hot and steamy.
    Stig and Cora have lots of chemistry between them that is off the charts.  Because of his secrets, Stig fights the attraction, at least until Stig’s dragon helps things along.  Cora accepts his dragon remarkably well and the sex between the two explode off the pages. 
    There is action when the dragon’s enemies attack Cora and Stig rushes to save her. The battle that occurs is well written and believable.  The suspense builds as the reader wonders if the dragons will accept a human.  
    There are a lot of unique aspects that keep the reader well entertained in this dragon world created by Lolita Lopez. She took the dragon knight myth and added her own twists to the history between the knights and the dragons.  And I love that the author took a mating aspect that is usually only applies to the female and applied it to the male. 
    Overall, I found this story intriguing and bewitching although a little short, I was not ready for the story to be over.  I am looking forward to reading Red Hot Dragon, the second story that is due out in October.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Really enjoyed this story. Good start to a steamy series!

    Really enjoyed this story. Good start to a steamy series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1