Customer Reviews for

Dead Shot (Kyle Swanson Sniper Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Dead Shot" is Dead On for Action

In the sequel to "Kill Zone", "Dead shot", a sniper named Kyle Swanson, with the aid of the special-ops unit Task Force Trident try to save the world from a new WMD. Swanson is "dead" by all accounts and records, and now serves the military as a secret weapon that canno...
In the sequel to "Kill Zone", "Dead shot", a sniper named Kyle Swanson, with the aid of the special-ops unit Task Force Trident try to save the world from a new WMD. Swanson is "dead" by all accounts and records, and now serves the military as a secret weapon that cannot be touched by the law. Juba, a British trained sniper who secretly serves under al Qaeda, is now trying to get the WMD into use. After Juba tests the weapon at a British royal wedding, it becomes Swanson's top priority to neutralize Juba and the WMD. All of which leads up to a climactic ending which leaves the reader without many loose ends that need to be answered. This novel is a good read for a rainy day and provides the reader with hours of enjoyment. The reader should be warned though, that this book does contain a lot of violence which may make it less appealing to some. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book as it immerses the reader into the mindset of a sniper. The only real negative comment about this book was that some of the parts of the plot were unbelievable. Not having read "Kill Zone", a lot of information was lost about the history of some of the characters, so I recommend that anyone interested should read "Kill Zone" first. I give this book a 4.5/5 as it was a great read that consistently held my interest, but did become a little hard to believe in parts.

posted by 2264685 on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book is trash.

Unrealistic plot, lots of sub-plots and explanations that don't fit with the original plot. As a former military member I was disappointed. There are way to many non-fiction sniper books out there to spend your time reading this fictitious garbage. Save your money. Look...
Unrealistic plot, lots of sub-plots and explanations that don't fit with the original plot. As a former military member I was disappointed. There are way to many non-fiction sniper books out there to spend your time reading this fictitious garbage. Save your money. Look elsewhere for a good book.

posted by sdl on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    "Dead Shot" is Dead On for Action

    In the sequel to "Kill Zone", "Dead shot", a sniper named Kyle Swanson, with the aid of the special-ops unit Task Force Trident try to save the world from a new WMD. Swanson is "dead" by all accounts and records, and now serves the military as a secret weapon that cannot be touched by the law. Juba, a British trained sniper who secretly serves under al Qaeda, is now trying to get the WMD into use. After Juba tests the weapon at a British royal wedding, it becomes Swanson's top priority to neutralize Juba and the WMD. All of which leads up to a climactic ending which leaves the reader without many loose ends that need to be answered. This novel is a good read for a rainy day and provides the reader with hours of enjoyment. The reader should be warned though, that this book does contain a lot of violence which may make it less appealing to some. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book as it immerses the reader into the mindset of a sniper. The only real negative comment about this book was that some of the parts of the plot were unbelievable. Not having read "Kill Zone", a lot of information was lost about the history of some of the characters, so I recommend that anyone interested should read "Kill Zone" first. I give this book a 4.5/5 as it was a great read that consistently held my interest, but did become a little hard to believe in parts.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    Jack Coughlin, Donald A. Davis - What a team!

    This is not my first book by this team. It makes me glad that Jack Coughlin was and is on our team. We need more like him. His matter of fact approach to a world totally foreign to the majority of the United States and in fact the majority of the world is at once comfortable and disturbing. It is a fact that we live in a volatile and violent world and just knowing that there are individuals out there who are willing and able to protect not only us but our interests in world peace is greatly appreciated. My twelve year old grandson asked if he could read Mr. Coughlin's first book, Shooter, and my answer was decidedly yes. I look forward to new adventures and would recommend this book to anyone seeking a 'good read'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is trash.

    Unrealistic plot, lots of sub-plots and explanations that don't fit with the original plot. As a former military member I was disappointed. There are way to many non-fiction sniper books out there to spend your time reading this fictitious garbage. Save your money. Look elsewhere for a good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Dead Shot" Hits the Bullseye!

    In the sequel to last year's exciting "Kill Zone", former US Marine master sniper Kyle Swanson has recovered from his injuries and now functions as the President's secret weapon in the war against America's enemies, in this case a psychotic Islamic assassin and former sniper code-named Juba.

    Juba's a formidable foe, as he's undergone the same training as Swanson, and is bent on unleashing a new and terrifying chemical WMD against the Western world to enrich himself while assuaging his own psychotic obsessions. To defeat him, Swanson must penetrate the defenses of radical Islam, in Iran and Europe, as well as in the United States itself.

    Fast-paced, tightly plotted, with engaging and memorable characters, authors Coughlin and Davis prove that "Kill Zone" was no flash in the pan. Kyle Swanson's a hero for the 21st Century in the mold of Mitch Rapp and Bob Lee Swagger.

    This is a terrific novel. I eagerly await the next installment.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    A thiller that will keep you wanting more!

    This book is as action packed as it can get! Can't wait to read the other two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A hero to root for

    I read this book after my boyfriend and I must say that I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. The characters are believable, the story caught my attention and had me cheering for the good guys and waiting for the bad guys to get their due.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Highly recommended a great book to read

    The whole Kyle Swanson Sniper series is very exciting to read. Id recommend this series to anyone who like excitment and adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Dead Shot -

    Good Book. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Naomi

    U here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Deep

    Very deep and good read from beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Great Book

    This was a good read. Fast paced and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Very exciting!

    Well written. Very suspenseful. I enjoyed this book very much. My only criticism ....way too much use of the f... word. Aside from that, I would highly reccommend this book as it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Great read

    Great way to take realism and add in a bit of fiction. Book was a great story that kept me glued to every page. As a former soldier it was as real as it could get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Very entertaining

    I rate this book as a 6 on a 0 to 10 scale with 10 being outstanding. The plot is believable and interesting. It seems to be pertinent to today's environment with terrorists and new weapons which are a threat. It is not written with the skills of a Baldacci or a Grishham but is good enough to be a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Fun read.

    Exciting and realistic. The bad guys get their due!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Devon

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Kyle

    Whats wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Kyle

    Nm hbu?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Boys

    Boys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    havent read it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4