BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead Silence (Stillwater Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    OMG I HAVE READY SOOOOOOOO MANY BOOKS BUT THIS ONE IS UNREAL.  I

    OMG I HAVE READY SOOOOOOOO MANY BOOKS BUT THIS ONE IS UNREAL.  I NEVER EVEN HEARD OF HER BEFOE SO I
    I THOUGHT  I WOULD GIVE HER A TRY.  THIS IS JUST GREAT, SUSPENSEFUL, AND DEFINITELY A KEEPER.  IF YOU DON'T 
    LOVE THIS BOOK I'LL EVEN PAY FOR IT !!!!!!!!!!  (LOL)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    This was my first read by Novak and I can't wait to move on to the second book in the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read.

    I was going through my old books to loan one to a friend and found Dead Silence. I started reading a few pages to see if I thought she might enjoy it. As soon as I did I was hooked all over again. I remember the whole plot but I still cant put it down. Its very fast paced and the characters have some real depth to them. Im going to have to find my friend another book for now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    DEAD SILENCE

    Good, fast paced mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book keeps you Guessing...what an amazing book. I had a hard

    The book keeps you Guessing...what an amazing book. I had a hard time putting it down because I had to find out what would happen next. So many twist and turns and also romance. What a surprise ending! it kept me guessing all the way to the end of the book. Looking forward to reading book #2 in the Stillwater Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Excellent read

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling!

    Ever have an itch you can't reach to scratch? Well...seeing life through the eyes of this main character...Casey Marshall...is a bit like that. The plot grabs you and you find yourself wiggling around in your seat...wanting to scream "watch out" as you turn each page. The book's an easy, enjoyable read and would be a plus to any summer reading list. Joy Fielding deserves her "Bestselling Author" description from the New York Times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!!

    This would be a good book for teenage girls. Know what a predator is and what a predator does. There's no ending here read on to book two [Dead giveaway].

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dead silence was an edge of your seat, can't find a place to set this book down read. This book kept my attention from the first page. There was mystery, suspense, drama and romance all wrapped up in one neat and tidy package. Brenda Novak knows how to draw the reader in and gives you a mental picture in your mind's eye throughout the whole book...this was extremely well written. Can't wait to get started on Dead Giveaway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    outstanding author

    This trilogy is one of the best I've read, I am a avid James Patterson fan, placed his new book aside to finish these books, sorry to hear there will be no more about these families. I am looking forward to the next trilogy due out next summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Smashing Read...great romance...excellent suspense

    After finally wrangling the books from my mother, I've started this series to see what is was all about - and boy what a start. I read Dead silence in 1 day and am about to read the next one... Brenda does an excellent job (even though I'm still trying to figure out how it can be cold camping in Mississippi in the summer....but hey, I'll give her artistic license) and is totally deserving of all the accolades! Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dead Silence is a mysterious, intriguing, intense and at the same time heart warming page turner. Brenda knows how to keep us in suspense and welcome the reader into the lives of her very real and endearing characters. I highly recommend this book and after reading the excerpt of her new book Dead Giveaway--I know it will follow in the same tradition of excellent writing and suspenseful developments which make every page memorable. Without giving away too much of an undulating plot, it is a haunting tale of secrets hidden and the unity of family which hopefully will prevail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Loved it.

    Here is a book that will be worth your money. It's great. No skipping through is needed, unless you want to cheat...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    on the edge of your seat

    dead silence is the first book i read from brenda & i really enjoyed it i finished it within two weeks. can't wait until dead giveaway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    I absolutley LOVE this book!

    I read 'A Family of Her Own' before I read this, only because I was on vacation and wanted to read something happy, and I never thought I would like a romance novel. But I did. So I figured that any author who could get ME to like a romance book was awesome. So when I heard Brenda Novak had a new book out, I had to read it. Again...I LOVED IT!! I couldnt put it down! I felt connected to the characters and I cant wait for the series to continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    A great read.

    What a pleasure this was to read. You get so involved with the characters, you really don't want to stop, to eat, to sleep, to work.... A great twist to the end, and the feel of actual events, not cardboard plotting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    A fascinating family drama

    In Stillwater, being the daughter of white trash, Grace Montgomery knows she has no future here by the way everyone either scorns her or leers at her. She has decided the first chance she gets she will leave her hometown to forge a future somewhere else where no one knows about her DNA thus she began her rise in a greasy spoon in Jackson, but soon won scholarships to Iowa and Georgetown law school.------------- Grace succeeds, but now thirteen years later has returned home to resolve the event in her past that left her shrouded in mystery when the Reverend vanished eighteen years ago, humiliation and the tag that the acorn does not fall far from the tree occurred. However, she quickly learns that here unlike the outside she remains what she was when she left, white trash. Rising politician widower Kennedy Archer thinks otherwise as he is attracted to Grace and admires her spunk and ethics. However, he also knows by seeing her, his political career could die before it blossoms. Worse she knows that too.---------------- DEAD SILENCE is a fascinating family drama in which events that are almost two decades old still haunt those left behind by what happened. The story line creates the atmosphere of a laid back town while introducing the key players especially the lead couple. Though that enables the reader to get deep inside everyone¿s head, however, that twisting pace also leaves little room for action until the latter segment of the novel. Thus not for everyone, fans who enjoy an insightful character study will want to know what happened in Stillwater that some residents prefer to remain concealed.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3