Customer Reviews for

Dead Sleep

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Greg Iles!

What a great idea for a story! The characters are unforgetable. The author's abilities made them easy to 'see'. This is only my second book by Greg Iles and he's definitely one of the best author's I've read. (The first one was The Quiet Game, which I liked even more.) ...
What a great idea for a story! The characters are unforgetable. The author's abilities made them easy to 'see'. This is only my second book by Greg Iles and he's definitely one of the best author's I've read. (The first one was The Quiet Game, which I liked even more.) I will definitely read some of his other books and this one is certainly worth reading.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Audio version of book is a bore...

After reading the glowing reviews of the book I ordered the tapes from library to listen to at work...Yikes...the narrator must do a diservice to the book as I find her to be a boring and plodding read. As it is now I don't even think I can read the book..tape one side...
After reading the glowing reviews of the book I ordered the tapes from library to listen to at work...Yikes...the narrator must do a diservice to the book as I find her to be a boring and plodding read. As it is now I don't even think I can read the book..tape one side 2 and I give up! NO excitement to draw a listener in. But I loved one of his other books-Turning Angel...I only thought it just went on a little too long though.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    One of my favorites!

    Greg Isles is an AMAZING author! Loved this book from the start! He pulls you in until the last words! Another GREAT book from this talented writer! Mystery, drama, and romance all in one captivating book! Can't wait to read his other books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great book!

    This book was recommended to me at a hospital book sale, by a worker there. I' d never read a book by Greg Iles b4, but couldn't put this 1 down. Never boring, intriguing and keeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phycological thriller

    Intriguing story that keeps you turning the pages. Loved all the characters especially Jordan the main character. The love she holds for her family takes her on journeys across continents that finally brings her peace. Very touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dead Sleep

    I have never read any of Greg Iles works before. So I decided while I was at the book fair to take a chance. I didn't expect that much, but what I got was incredible novel, and author.

    Dead Sleep is about 11 New Orleans women who disappear. And the FBI, is trying to figure out who is doing the kidnapping and why are they painting these women?

    I barely could put the book down, his writings are captivating, suspenseful, chilling, entertaining and a MUST READ!!!

    I really did enjoy his writing, and I will continue to read more of his work!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Audio version of book is a bore...

    After reading the glowing reviews of the book I ordered the tapes from library to listen to at work...Yikes...the narrator must do a diservice to the book as I find her to be a boring and plodding read. As it is now I don't even think I can read the book..tape one side 2 and I give up! NO excitement to draw a listener in. But I loved one of his other books-Turning Angel...I only thought it just went on a little too long though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Another winner from Greg Iles!

    What a great idea for a story! The characters are unforgetable. The author's abilities made them easy to 'see'. This is only my second book by Greg Iles and he's definitely one of the best author's I've read. (The first one was The Quiet Game, which I liked even more.) I will definitely read some of his other books and this one is certainly worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Could not put it down!

    From page 1 this book had me captivated!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great book

    Well thought out and fast paced plot. Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Super good read

    Greg Iles is my new obsession. Love everything I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    fantastic

    sends you chills down your spine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/abridged: Twinkies saved the day! I'm serious. Just weeks af

    CD/abridged: Twinkies saved the day! I'm serious. Just weeks after Twinkies were pronounced deceased by Hostess, I'm listening to a book were Twinkies save the day.
    First, this book gained points with me because I was expecting Dick Hill narrating it. However, Susie Breck read it instead. She did a really good job as the voice of Jordan Glass.
    Jordan is a loner and photographer who travels the world. While in Asia, she sees an art exhibit of the "Sleeping Women". Rumor and conjecture is that the pictures are really of dead woman. Then Jordan recognizes one of the women. It's herself...or her twin sister.
    I liked that the book went in another direction than I expected. It was easy on the brain and I recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Dead Sleep Greg Illes

    Fast pace good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Very Greg Isles

    Suspenseful storytelling characterizes this effort. Unusual premise makes this a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Greg Iles does it again with this book. If you're a fan of Greg Iles, I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Another winner!

    Greg Iles is one of my favorite authors and once again, he nails it! Great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Absorbing and Ingenious......

    A fast paced, suspense filled work of thrills, filled with thought based characters, and a remarkable plot. Totally absorbing and ingenious.

    J. Carroll Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Absorbing & Ingenious...........

    A fast paced, suspense filled work of thrills, filled with thought based characters, and a remarkable plot. Totally absorbing and ingenious.

    J. Carroll Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    So good!!

    This book had me hooked after reading the first sentence! I couldn't get through this book fast enough, it was so good! One suggestion though, if you're a new reader to his novels try to read them in order. I'd already read True Evil so knew what happened between the two main characters. Pick it up for a fast, exciting, and thrilling read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Love any book by this author

    Another great book by Greg Iles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a Book!!

    This was one of the best Greg Iles' book I have ever read. The suspense kept you wanting to read more. The way he wrote the book was remarkable! One of my favorite books thus far! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5