Customer Reviews for

Dead Space: Martyr

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    This book is Amazing!

    This is a must read for any fan of the Dead Space video game. The author does a fantastic job telling the story of Michael Altman and the level of depth that this book adds to the Dead Space series is amazing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Simply Amazing

    This book was simply amazing. This was a great story for horror and intense action. I recommend this book to people who enjoy authors such as Stephen King and other writers of horror.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Highly recommended for all DS fans

    This is a very well written book for this genre. The game series could adapt this story to a future set of levels with a new character. Since the main character of this story is seen from a POV of ridicule, it is refreshing that this story makes himi a real (fictional) person.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Can't put it down

    This was a great book for people who are fans of dead space and like horror and intense action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Great Read!

    Excellent read. The story of Michael Altman was alot more exciting than i expected. Ties in great with the game. If you love the games, read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    I was never one for reading, but this book however, kept me comi

    I was never one for reading, but this book however, kept me coming back for more; Always trying to find a time to get to read more.. Really great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Dead space

    Rules

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The marker wants to help us.  It¿s hard to know what to expect f

    The marker wants to help us. 
    It’s hard to know what to expect from a book based on a video game, the pedigree for such things doesn’t leave much room for hope. But after falling in love, hard, with the Dead Space games I came away with a heavy appetite for that world and it’s fiction, especially the mysterious religion at it’s center, Unitology. This book concerns itself with the founder of Unitology, Michael Altman and the beginnings of the church itself. I was pleasantly surprised to find out, not only how well the book is written, but how different this story is from what I was expecting, especially the character of Michael Altman himself. It’s very cool how Altman’s relationship with the budding church is twisted, setting the seeds for the first Dead Space game. Clearly, this book is not a mere cash-in on a popular property, but instead a serious and legitimate expansion of its’ lore. Fans will dig it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Mj

    I dont mean to be mean by saying this but dude wats wrong with u? Its like u dont wanna talk to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Mj

    Heyy:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Mothman

    .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Amazing story !!

    Wonderfully written backstory!! Must read for any dead space fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Dead Space legend. Dead Space legend.

    A book about the minds of people going insane and turning into mecromorphs over a Black Marker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    I have not yet played the games but ...

    This book has made me want to try out the games. This book has everything you could want in a story and i could not put it down ; a must read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Desturbing and wierd but good

    The title says all if you loved the sound of screaming men just after a necromorph arives you will love this book. It also reminds me of the flood in halo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Awesome!

    Great book! Way better than I expected it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I selected this book solely based on what others had written abo

    I selected this book solely based on what others had written about it and overall it was good but certainly not great. I was surprised at some of the
    grammatical errors. Several parts I had to reread to understand what the author was trying to say. The ending was also a bit disappointing but overall 
    it was a fun book to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Something

    Iv watched the movies iv played the games still excited for dead space 3 and iv read some of the comics of dead space now time to read the book most of the reviews iv read were increadabal so i can wait to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Don't be skeptical, it's good whether you played it or not.

    Like fantastic thriller novels?

    Get the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    A Dead Space fan must read!

    Once you pick this book up, you won't be able to put it down until you are finished. This book is an amazingly written back story that gives crucial context to the greater Dead Space storyline. Evenson's spectacular writing keeps the reader fully engaged throughout the entirety of the text. I cannot even begin to recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5