Customer Reviews for

Dead Time

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Another First Class Read by White

    I discovered Stephen White last summer and purchased all the early Dr. Alan Gregory books. What a writer and what a character! White keeps it fast paced and interesting better than anyone I've read lately. He keeps the storyline clean and crisp from book to book. His plots and supporting characters are very well developed. I have caught up with Mr. White now and am anxiously awaiting the release of The Siege in August. Try this writer after some of your favorite authors produce novels that are lame and stale. I'm so glad I did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating Alan Gregory thriller

    Years ago, a group of college students hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon one morning at the bottom, they met Nicholas Paulson who was looking for his girlfriend Jaana Peek, who was in the United States on a Visa. She had disappeared so the group searched for her with three of them leaving the Canyon including Eric and Lisa who could not participate in the rescue effort. Years later Lisa agreed to be the surrogate mother for Eric and his fiancée Meredith, former wife of psychologist Dr. Alan Gregory. Meredith turns to Alan when Lisa disappears with her fetus growing inside her. Alan, who is recovering from his DRY ICE escapade, is in New York with his stepson Jonas, prepared to take him back home if his visit with his dead mother Adrienne¿s estranged family proves too traumatic. However, he agrees to help his former wife and starts with a friend¿s daughter who was part of the Grand Canyon incident years ago. Every clue from the past that he uncovers proves very relevant to the present, but Alan remains ignorant that someone is watching his progress to insure he never learns the truth before that occurs this stalker will do to Alan what happened to Jaana. --- The latest Alan Gregory thriller is an exhilarating action-packed tale in which a dark past spreads its tentacles into the present. The protagonist is just starting to get his life together as he deals with a new stepson whose uncle protests his having custody of his nephew and a shaky marriage. However, when Meredith asks for his aid, his conscience makes him say yes. Although the plot moves at light speed, it is the strong characterizations that make this a special read. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Alan Gregory Series

    I loved this book, it was interesting in the beginning to the end. I couldnt put the book down...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Another Great Read

    Funnily enough both Jonathan Kellerman and Stephen White released new novels within weeks of each other. They both are clinical psychologists in real life as are their protagonist. White's character Alan Gregory practices psychology in Boulder, Colorado. His sidekick is Detective Sam Purdy. Sam is on suspension for offences committed during the last case Alan and he worked on. Gregory's wife Lauren suffers from Multiple Sclerosis. The mysteries that White writes about are fascinating, but so are the interpersonal relationships of the main charaters, particulary between Lauren and Alan. This book is a bit of a departure from previous books in the series. Lauren and Sam do not figure as predominantly. Instead every other chapter is from the standpoint of Alan's ex wife Merideth, who has remarried. Her new husband Eric and five friends were involved in a tragedy that happened in the Grand Canyon years ago. One of the five is also the child of a fellow psychologist. Meredith asks for Sam and Alan's help to locate a surrogate mother that they have engaged. She has disappeared. There may be a connection between the two incidents. Alan's personal life is also undergoing great stress. I found it interesting to explore Meredith's character a bit more. This novel seemed to overdo the personal introspection a bit. Some of the story surrounding the Grand Canyon event is a bit convoluted. I was a little hard pressed to find all of Alan's support of Meredith believable. Nonetheless, Dead Time is still a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Slow start but great plot twist...

    Once I start a book, I HAVE to finish it. If I weren't, I would never have finished this one. The first half is slow, slow, slow but once the action starts the plot is interesting and has an unexpected twist that made the slow start worth the wait...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Read The Book

    Not a bad read. Really.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Beguiling!!

    The story and the characters keep you on the edge of your chair. By the time I got to the last chapters I could not stop until I learned all the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    TOPNOTCH NARRATOR SELLS THIS STORY !

    He's back at the microphone again - the ever amazing voice performer Dick Hill. Named a Golden Voice and a Voice of the Century by AudioFile, he is one of the busiest narrators to be found yet the quality of his performances never flags. He has the unique ability to inhabit a character, seeming to reflect the individual qualities the author intended. Listeners will remember with pleasure Hill's readings of recent Alan Gregory adventures - Kill Me and Dry Ice, and be delighted with his latest. Colorado psychologist Alan Gregory is one of the more popular fictional heroes - he's very human, flaws and all. As this story opens he has some free time to ponder where life has taken him. His wife, Lauren, is on a trip with daughter Grace and his adopted son, Jonas, is away. But Gregory doesn't have long to adjust to the unaccustomed peace and quiet as he receives and SOS call from his former wife, Meredith. Lisa, the surrogate mother for the child of Meredith and her fiancé, Eric, has vanished. Her disappearance is somehow tied to an earlier incident - the years ago disappearance of a woman from the Grand Canyon floor when Eric and friends were at the Canyon on a camping trip. Eric will not discuss this, and Meredith feels she must turn to Gregory who calls on his good friend, detective Sam Purdy, to help. As Gregory tries to interview the six people who were on that camping trip he finds that none of them wants to talk about the woman's disappearance or the trip. Listeners and readers know that nothing is easy for Alan Gregory, which makes a mighty fine yarn. Especially when read by Dick Hill. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1