Customer Reviews for

Dead to Me (Simon Canderous Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good start to a new series

A friend who knew I was a Harry Dresden fan suggested this book to me. Simon Canderous is a likable hero, who possesses a gift which is selectively useful in the quest for Good. I appreciated Strout's use of humor and the fact that the story doesn't take itself too ser...
A friend who knew I was a Harry Dresden fan suggested this book to me. Simon Canderous is a likable hero, who possesses a gift which is selectively useful in the quest for Good. I appreciated Strout's use of humor and the fact that the story doesn't take itself too seriously. While the book is likely targeted toward urban fantasy fans, it may also appeal to readers of light crime fiction who might appreciate a supernatural twist. People who find Dresden too fantasy-heavy might find this book more to their liking.
Now that the characters have been established, it will be interesting to see what Strout does with them in subsequent books.

posted by 171612 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I'd really like to recommend the book. The plot is intriguing, a tantalizing peak into urban fantasy. I couldn't get past the writing. Perhaps it is aimed at a young audience. The writing was not crisp it was simplistic. It relied on the use of '-ly' adverbs and telling...
I'd really like to recommend the book. The plot is intriguing, a tantalizing peak into urban fantasy. I couldn't get past the writing. Perhaps it is aimed at a young audience. The writing was not crisp it was simplistic. It relied on the use of '-ly' adverbs and telling the reader information instead of describing the scene. I was stopped on page 72 when I encountered 'The smile on his face looked forced, yet diabolical. I made myself disappear against the wall as the two men locked eyes in a struggle for dominance.' I put the book down with 'Wesker's smile fell away and he clenched his fists at his side.' Strong editing of this book would have been beneficial. I'm sorry, it is not worth my time to finish reading the book.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keep it coming!

    I just started these books, they are are a trilogy and remind me a lot of the Dresden Files books, but Simon definitely has his own unique character. The book never gets boring, and Anton Strout will do well if he continues this series. Give it a try, I think you will like it very much. I was plesantly surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simon is mine!

    I heard about the author in a event, and bought the book out of curiosity... I loved it! Surprising, easy to relate to the characters, and the writing is pretty good as well! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    What is up chicago?

    I noticed this cover, just scanning thru, and decided to take a chance. Other than the chicago connection, which has made me want to consider moving there, shared with Dresden, the skinners series, and a few others, it has a feel of realism at a whole nother level. Add in the use of 'gifted' agents, and a creepy realism, and you can really get into this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    Anton Strout provides us with a differnt take on the paranormal/urban fantasy with his reluctant hero Simon Canderous. Working on the RIGHT side of the law, Canderous gets himself in a fair amount of trouble. Not only with the law, but really with everyone including his mentor Connor. Strout's writing stlye is straight from the hip. No flowery flourishes or background porno music for this guy, Strout tells it like it is with a sense of timing and comedic approach, the chutzpa great writers are made of. This is his first novel in the Simon Canderous series and seriously I cannot wait for the next one!! This is a must buy!! Go on get it now.. you know you want to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Fun & Witty Read

    Dead to Me is Anton Strout's first novel and it's a great read. He tells a good story with fun and funny twists and a lot of wit. Simon is a very well-rounded character making it easy to empathize and understand him. There were a few parts that were a little slow, but I honestly believe that we will only see improvements. Anton Strout has talent and style. I cannot wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    from page one which was 'in your face' non-stop action, its sets the pace. Chapter one was a delight and I couldn't wait to tell folks. If the whole book is this kind of read, we have a new author to choose from, good luck Anton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent urban fantasy

    Simon Canderous spent years misusing his psychometric skills to steal. However, he has reformed and now employs his ability to obtain the history of an object by touching it for the Department of Extraordinary Affairs. What he has not learned is patience as working for a bureaucracy has proven frustrating with SOPs, red tape, and fearful nurturing leaders who are CYA conscience with everything needing documentation a zillion times over. Simon accidentally spills his coffee through a female ghost who remains ignorant to the fact that she is dead let alone murdered. He vows to bring her killers to justice. However, he will soon learn how complex his pledge is as he is assaulted by the forces of Darkness who are attracted to him and want him to join them but he is not sure in what precisely and learns more clues from a killer bookcase and a wooden fish. As he gathers information, none of that he obtains seems to get him closer to solving the homicide. --- This excellent urban fantasy stars an interesting lead male who readers meet when his tryst with Tamara goes wrong when she pins him to the bed and starts kissing him until his psychometric skills tell him about her New Orleans encounter she flees from this perverted stalker. Thus the audience immediately learns the down side of the gift, which in turn personalizes and humanizes the hero. The whodunit investigation is fun to follow sort of like an early Dresden so fans should stop at the Lovecraft café for an entertaining paranormal investigative tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1