BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dead-Tossed Waves (Forest of Hands and Teeth Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Zombie Ocean

Four or five? FOUR OR FIVE? FOUR OR FIVE? Let's see how I'm feeling by the end of the review.

Okay, this book kinda takes place where the last one left off. Give or take twenty to thirty years. Instead of the lovely Mary, the narrator this time is Mary's daughter, G...
Four or five? FOUR OR FIVE? FOUR OR FIVE? Let's see how I'm feeling by the end of the review.

Okay, this book kinda takes place where the last one left off. Give or take twenty to thirty years. Instead of the lovely Mary, the narrator this time is Mary's daughter, Gabry. Now, I understand most of you are like "OMG, who's the father?" I know I was. But I can't say for threat of being flagged as a spoiler.

Anyway, Gabry has a very different upbringing from her mother. She lives in a ligthouse on the outskirts of a little town called Vista. She has a best friend and a crush on her best friend's brother. But most of all, she grows up safe and secure, without all that moaning in the background. But then, of course, it all goes wrong......dun dun DUN. Gabry and her friends take a little midnight hike over the Barrier and zombie hell breaks loose. The night ends with death, betrayals, and with half of her generation gone or imprisoned, life will never be the same for poor, sweet Gabry.

I have to say, this was a hell of a sequel. I thought it was actually much better than The Forest of Hands and Teeth aaaaaand all my questions were answered (well, about 88%). There were even some guest appearances and moments when I felt smarter than the narrator because I knew what something was and she didn't. What more can I gall ask for?

The writing was very much the same. It was beautiful in places, mostly sad, but hope shined through. I managed to read this in a period of 24 hours, which is no small feat when you have school and homework and yada yada yada. My point is that it's compelling and unputdownable (which is officially a word).

The world that Ryan sets up is just incredible, honestly. I find it completely convincing. It's mysterious and dark and scary. Just normal life with fewer good parts....and it has zombies.

I found Gabry more likable than her predcessor, but I don't feel fair comparing the two because they have totally different personalities.

Once again, the weakest part for me was the love triangle. I'm sick of those things. I always choose the wrong guy, then have a grudge against the author for having different taste in men. But this time I think I routing for the right guy.....I think. I have to wait and see if he dies first. Even though Gabry bounced back and forth between the two contestants, she never seemed ho-ish. Just confused.

But once again I could never tell if the couple was kissing. Does that make me weird, or does anyone else have that problem with these books? I don't know, there would be pages of getting close and comfy with one of her man-friends then they would get pissed or something, storm off, and Gabry would try to relive their "almost-kiss". And I would be like "Man, I though for SURE they were lipsmacking that time!"

Overall, I really liked this book. And if you want this book to be a stand-alone, go ahead. This book could do well without it's predecessor, although it's cliffhanger ending may be too much for someone with poor will power (aka me). I recommend this book to everyone, except those who like fairy-tale endings, "perfect" narrators, or can't handle flesh-eating corpses.

I've decided to go with five stars.

posted by Awesomeness1 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didn't like it.

I'm really, really sad to have to give Carrie Ryan a two on one of her books because I just loved THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, but I found myself struggling to get through the companion. For many of reasons I did not like this book, one, being that Gabry was a charact...
I'm really, really sad to have to give Carrie Ryan a two on one of her books because I just loved THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, but I found myself struggling to get through the companion. For many of reasons I did not like this book, one, being that Gabry was a character I felt any hope towards. Who doesn't love the strong heroin? and it seemed that all Gabry could say or think was how she messed everything up, everything's her fault, ect. Major pity party... I never was able to feel the emotions of the character and she seemed quite ditsy to be honest. Secondly, I didn't like the potential romances. At first glance, I wanted to punch Catcher for bringing Gabry into trouble and then kissing her, after he's known her for his whole life. He seemed like a major jerk right off the bat. As for Elias, he was okay, I did like him more than Catcher. But he was a little too touchy-feely and grabby for just meeting Gabry, a stranger. Third, the adventure was boring! I was so tired of reading this book, I was skimming over the last 20 pages, so I really don't know how it ended. I'm trying to find it online somewhere.... no luck so far. Anyway, the adventure was also a little boring in THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, but the companion was about 3 times worse. There was nothing to be excited about. I had no idea why they were on this mission in the first place. Four, It was very sad to see Mary as an old lady and how she never found anyone. I also found it odd that she never mention Travis to her "daughter" but told her about everything else. I was waiting for when it would come up, but never did. Five, Ryan's writing style got very old to me by the time I had read about 700 pages of her writing (both books put together). She always had the same, "I wanted to...." and you know she's going to say next what she did instead and how she felt about it. This is an entire paragraph in itself. I was so tired of hearing about how everyone's life in the Forest was due to dooms day and depression and the Unconsecrated. What's the point of writing a set of three companion books when there is no light at the end? Every page of the book is talking about how to question life and what's next, ect. Not much fun for a teen like me. She also had the exact same plot technique of 1) layout 2) start of story 3) boring nothingness...filler of space 4) falling of character, giving up hope 5) something good happens to character, fills her with hope and energy 6) tragedy occurs, climax, testing of strength! 7) falling actions, everyone dies/ leaves her 8) main character left all alone. All that's gained is wisdom, strength, and knowledge. So it was very similar to F.O.H.A.T. Now, for the positives (!): I do like Ryan's descriptions, they're very nice and like you're living out the story. I was also about to connect a little more with Gabry since she seemed more like the typical teenager than Mary (besides the annoying, "I ruin everything, I can't do this, I'm not strong enough" talk). Since I extremely loved FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, I would recommend to just sticking with that, don't read this, so you don't lose what you first loved about FOREST.

posted by kajJK on March 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Zombie Ocean

    Four or five? FOUR OR FIVE? FOUR OR FIVE? Let's see how I'm feeling by the end of the review.

    Okay, this book kinda takes place where the last one left off. Give or take twenty to thirty years. Instead of the lovely Mary, the narrator this time is Mary's daughter, Gabry. Now, I understand most of you are like "OMG, who's the father?" I know I was. But I can't say for threat of being flagged as a spoiler.

    Anyway, Gabry has a very different upbringing from her mother. She lives in a ligthouse on the outskirts of a little town called Vista. She has a best friend and a crush on her best friend's brother. But most of all, she grows up safe and secure, without all that moaning in the background. But then, of course, it all goes wrong......dun dun DUN. Gabry and her friends take a little midnight hike over the Barrier and zombie hell breaks loose. The night ends with death, betrayals, and with half of her generation gone or imprisoned, life will never be the same for poor, sweet Gabry.

    I have to say, this was a hell of a sequel. I thought it was actually much better than The Forest of Hands and Teeth aaaaaand all my questions were answered (well, about 88%). There were even some guest appearances and moments when I felt smarter than the narrator because I knew what something was and she didn't. What more can I gall ask for?

    The writing was very much the same. It was beautiful in places, mostly sad, but hope shined through. I managed to read this in a period of 24 hours, which is no small feat when you have school and homework and yada yada yada. My point is that it's compelling and unputdownable (which is officially a word).

    The world that Ryan sets up is just incredible, honestly. I find it completely convincing. It's mysterious and dark and scary. Just normal life with fewer good parts....and it has zombies.

    I found Gabry more likable than her predcessor, but I don't feel fair comparing the two because they have totally different personalities.

    Once again, the weakest part for me was the love triangle. I'm sick of those things. I always choose the wrong guy, then have a grudge against the author for having different taste in men. But this time I think I routing for the right guy.....I think. I have to wait and see if he dies first. Even though Gabry bounced back and forth between the two contestants, she never seemed ho-ish. Just confused.

    But once again I could never tell if the couple was kissing. Does that make me weird, or does anyone else have that problem with these books? I don't know, there would be pages of getting close and comfy with one of her man-friends then they would get pissed or something, storm off, and Gabry would try to relive their "almost-kiss". And I would be like "Man, I though for SURE they were lipsmacking that time!"

    Overall, I really liked this book. And if you want this book to be a stand-alone, go ahead. This book could do well without it's predecessor, although it's cliffhanger ending may be too much for someone with poor will power (aka me). I recommend this book to everyone, except those who like fairy-tale endings, "perfect" narrators, or can't handle flesh-eating corpses.

    I've decided to go with five stars.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Great

    I lived thid and all of her books! Its suspenceful and romantic and full of horror all in one...dont miss out. I look forward ti future works

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A MUST READ BOOK FOR EVERYONE!!!!

    This was a magnificent book espicially with all of the action happening in the atmosphere. Gabry is teenage girl who always had a fear of beyond the forest of hands and teeth ( what her mother called the forest ) but on a fateful day she jumps over the barrier with her friends and only crush Catcher, but on that fateful day her world would be changed forever. She then has to go over the barrier and to the forest of hands and teeth to find her mother and survive with her true love catcher, follow gabry and catcher as they battle through mudo ( Undead ) having true friends die for each other, listening in the darkness for any sign or sound of mudo, and to fight for survival . This book should be read to everybody and for people who love romance, horror, and action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gabry, quit your whining already!

    I wasn't that big of a fan of The Forest of Hands and Teeth, and when this book, its sequel, finally came out, I decided I wasn't going to bother. But there is was, staring at me from the library shelves, and I had to grab it. TFoHaT left me with lots of questions about the Sisterhood, life after the return, and the survival of Mary and crew. And I wanted answers! The Dead-Tossed Waves held the possibility of answers and a story about the new generation of folks post-return besides. On some level it delivered, but on another, not so much.

    All of my leftover questions from TFoHaT were answered, kind of, all in about 5 pages towards the end, and those answers were satisfying, I guess. Buuut those answers did not justify the rest of the book for me. There was less monotony and repetition in this book than in the last; really and truly a lot happened. Buuut it still didn't do it for me. A lot of the book was Gabry's reactions to what was going on around her, especially what went on between her and Catcher and her and new guy Elias. And, well, I didn't like being in Gabry's head. There were SO MANY TIMES that I wanted to shake her because she would read a situation as completely opposite of how I read it and/or completely opposite of how it actually happened. It helped to build tensions and intrigue the first couple of times she thought one of the boys was disregarding her or brushing her off when in actuality they were trying to profess their undying love, but when it happened EVERY TIME THEY TALKED, it got a little old.

    And I have lingering questions. Again. These questions might convince me to pick up The Dark and Hollow Places when it comes out next March, but little else will.


    Book source: Philly Free Library

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great!!!!

    The characters in this book i thought were well rounded, It had everything a reader could possible want, love, horror, friendship, loss, it was all very very great. The only thing that kinda made me mad was how it didn't give very much detail as to where Gabriel really comes from. i don't have anything bad to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't like it.

    I'm really, really sad to have to give Carrie Ryan a two on one of her books because I just loved THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, but I found myself struggling to get through the companion. For many of reasons I did not like this book, one, being that Gabry was a character I felt any hope towards. Who doesn't love the strong heroin? and it seemed that all Gabry could say or think was how she messed everything up, everything's her fault, ect. Major pity party... I never was able to feel the emotions of the character and she seemed quite ditsy to be honest. Secondly, I didn't like the potential romances. At first glance, I wanted to punch Catcher for bringing Gabry into trouble and then kissing her, after he's known her for his whole life. He seemed like a major jerk right off the bat. As for Elias, he was okay, I did like him more than Catcher. But he was a little too touchy-feely and grabby for just meeting Gabry, a stranger. Third, the adventure was boring! I was so tired of reading this book, I was skimming over the last 20 pages, so I really don't know how it ended. I'm trying to find it online somewhere.... no luck so far. Anyway, the adventure was also a little boring in THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, but the companion was about 3 times worse. There was nothing to be excited about. I had no idea why they were on this mission in the first place. Four, It was very sad to see Mary as an old lady and how she never found anyone. I also found it odd that she never mention Travis to her "daughter" but told her about everything else. I was waiting for when it would come up, but never did. Five, Ryan's writing style got very old to me by the time I had read about 700 pages of her writing (both books put together). She always had the same, "I wanted to...." and you know she's going to say next what she did instead and how she felt about it. This is an entire paragraph in itself. I was so tired of hearing about how everyone's life in the Forest was due to dooms day and depression and the Unconsecrated. What's the point of writing a set of three companion books when there is no light at the end? Every page of the book is talking about how to question life and what's next, ect. Not much fun for a teen like me. She also had the exact same plot technique of 1) layout 2) start of story 3) boring nothingness...filler of space 4) falling of character, giving up hope 5) something good happens to character, fills her with hope and energy 6) tragedy occurs, climax, testing of strength! 7) falling actions, everyone dies/ leaves her 8) main character left all alone. All that's gained is wisdom, strength, and knowledge. So it was very similar to F.O.H.A.T. Now, for the positives (!): I do like Ryan's descriptions, they're very nice and like you're living out the story. I was also about to connect a little more with Gabry since she seemed more like the typical teenager than Mary (besides the annoying, "I ruin everything, I can't do this, I'm not strong enough" talk). Since I extremely loved FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, I would recommend to just sticking with that, don't read this, so you don't lose what you first loved about FOREST.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Amazing book!

    I bought this just because it was ridiculously cheap at my old job. After I started to read the book, I couldn't stop and then I found out there were two more! I had to buy the other books right away! Love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Love

    Amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Great book

    A really bood book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Great!

    I love this book but it frusturates me. In the beggining you have no idea what is going on. I thought it was like a prequil and it was about Gabreill the breaker. Other than that the only thing that bothers me is the lack of knowledge of her mothers life. I know that Carry Ryan did that so that the new knowledge to Gabreill keeps us interested but it still really frustureates me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Response to HELP

    Ive been in thhe same situation. Hang around him a lot but not enough that he thinks your stalking him. Be nice and make sure you laugh a lot to have a good vibe that he will enjoy being around. Eventually hell get the point and maybe srtart to like you back. Be nice to your friend and hang out with her a lot more so if hes noticing her... hell start noticing u :)

    -D'Lee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Second book - Amazing!


    A girl named Gabrielle had a wonderful life. She never broke the rules, she was safe from the Mudo - or Unconsecrated as some call it - and she had her mother her two best friends, Catcher and Cira. That all turned around when Gabrielle crossed the barrier one night to show the one she thought she loved that she was brave. Prior to that night, Gabry watched her friends get infected, watched her self change, met another friend (named Elija), learned of his life and of her history, and of her mothers, also. This, and so much more, happens throughout this terror-filled adventure, running away from all she's ever known, into the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Throughout this journey, she experiences loss, regret, betrayal, love, and great fear. The question is: Will she make it thorough it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great series

    Second book in the series. Jusr as good as the first. I love the story telling and while new characters are introduced there is always one from the previous books you are aleady familar with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This series is building on itself in a completely new way. Inste

    This series is building on itself in a completely new way. Instead of just picking up where book one left off, you don't find out all the details of Mary's story right away. You are taken a several years down the road. At first I was worried, because I wanted to know what happened to Mary and her friends, and this book skips to Gabry, but through the story you find out what happened or didn't happen. You have some of the same characters as the first book only now they are older, plus you have the new generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A must read.

    At first I didn't like that the story continued with a different character because I had gotten to know Mary. Once I got more into it, I loved how their stories intertwined and progressed. I am really looking forward to reading the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Wonderful

    Great, must read the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Must Read

    Loved it this is a great book couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Great book

    So great it really evolved the zombie genre

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Sci fi fan

    OMFG, i thought the first book was epic. This one is deff better and total action throughout most of the book. Secrets that u would of never guessed r revieled and Elias is not who he seems to be and Catcher blames himself for his infection and stays away from Gabry because he believes he can turn mudo at any time, this book was so dramatic and really surprising and i am really shocked that i did not have nightmeres while readong this book like the other one. PS please purchase this book it is too good of a novel to just leave lying around on the shelf or in the nook store or whatever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME PLEASE READ COMMENT

    This book IS A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE ON PLANET EARTH AND OFF PLET EARTH ANYONE IN THIS UNIVERSE NEEDS TO READ THIS BOOK ! Yes its THAT awesomlygreatwith a smileyface at the end. :) XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15