Customer Reviews for

The Dead Travel Fast

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must read, fun read.

I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply o...
I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply or without feeling. I love trying to figure out her puzzles. The characters were fun and made the story more interesting. Very enjoyable and spooky.

posted by Venus_at_work on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in ...
A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in all areas.

posted by 325202 on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    Don't Bother

    A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in all areas.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read, fun read.

    I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply or without feeling. I love trying to figure out her puzzles. The characters were fun and made the story more interesting. Very enjoyable and spooky.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not terrible, but...

    You're not going to get that time back, either. It should have been a fun spin on the Dracula story with a young woman travelling to Transylvania and coming into contact with vampire legends - and maybe reality? I read the book because I have enjoyed Deanna Raybourn's other books, but this just didn't work for me. It seemed like Raybourn was slumming it a little; I bet it was fun to write, and easy, but probably because it ended up being pretty paint-by-numbers. I actually didn't remember what this book was about until I saw the cover again a couple weeks later. Not a good sign. Her "Lady Julia Grey" series, which starts with "Silent in the Grave" is even more escapist-y fun, but smarter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Eyre meets Julia Grey

    I, like many others that have read this book, are big fans of the Lady Julia Grey series. Of course, we will all compare it to the series and I did at first. I was a little disappointed because I felt it didn't quite stand up to the excellence we had come to expect from Lady Grey. After I stopped comparing and let myself be swept away in the story, I found it rather enjoyable. It's a dark gothic tale in a very interesting setting. This sort of reminded me of Julia Grey meets Jane Eyre. The dark castle, the master who can't be understood or tamed, the girl not sure if she will have her happy ending all mixed with murder & mystery. It was an easy read with a surprising ending. As long as you don't go into it expecting to find the same quality as the Grey series, I think you will find it enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Not up to the author's usual standards....I love her Lady Julia

    Not up to the author's usual standards....I love her Lady Julia series, but I started just skimming this one to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Fascinating reading

    Since I love and have read her Lady Grey novels, I deided to purchase this Deanna Raybourn book. I have not quite finished, but am intrigued by it. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    i just love her!

    I just finished it.....always sad to come to the end of one of her stories. This was as eloquently written as everything else she has published, and i am excited to read the next one she publishes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Amazing read!!!

    I could not put this book down. The author really knows how to write sensually without being smutty. I felt like a kid eating a piece of cake, quick to finish because it tastes so good but sad once the cake was devoured. I anticipate the next book I read from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Eyre meets Dracula.

    I know I know, a weird combo. A pretty good read about a writer name Theodora who goes to Transylvania to visit her friend Cosmina who's getting married. All the while hoping to start on her novel, if the right moment of inspiration intervenes. That's when Theodora meets Cosmina's fiance, the Count Andrei. While there, she soon learns of the local legends involving vampires and werewolves. The setting was interesting as the same can be said for the characters who helped keep the story interesting. There were some creepy and weird moments. Didn't expect some of the twists and turns that happened throughout the story. I don't why why but while the ending was good, it seemed like something was missing. Maybe it's just me? Liked how Tycho the dog had a role in the story instead of just being in the background. Don't see more of that in other books. Recommend Dead Travel Fast if you like stories with vampires and or a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    A real page turner. Could not put it down. Recommend the book. Murder, mystery, love and the paranormal. What more could you ask for in a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Awesome read!! Another great story from an awesome author

    I just finished reading this book and truly loved it. It had all the chills, thrills, and romance. Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gothic castle, foreign setting, who do you trust????

    Taking a break from the Lady Julia series, Deanna Raybourn offers us a new character, different but similar is some ways as Lady Julia. The setting is Transylvania, the castle is gothic, and the characters there are anything but usual. I found this tale very enjoyable, reminiscent of Jane Eyre. Until the end, the true characters are not revealed. And, is it really vampires and legends come to pass or human nature? While I prefer Lady Julia, this was another Deanna Raybourn novel I just could not wait to get back to reading. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Liked it didn't love it

    I am a big fan of the Lady Julia Gray series. So while I'm waiting for the 4th book in that series, I thought I'd give The Dead Travel Fast a shot.
    This was a book I could read a few pages at a time and then go do some housework. I enjoyed it . . but it wasn't a "can't set this book down" type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery, murder and a bit of romance

    I love Ms Raybourn's stories. I first read the Lady Grey Series, enjoyed them all and am anxiously waiting for the fourth in the series (Nov 2010). Lady Grey's intelligent, pert, honesty is the perfect match for the dark, mysterious Bisbane. In The Dead Travel Fast, we have a new heroine, who is different than Lady Grey, but still a strong, intelligent woman, who knows her own mind. The superstitions and legends of the Romanian people added an interesting twist to the mystery. I love that Ms. Raybourne's heros are dark, mysterious and romantic and her heroines are intelligent and strong (not fall in love at first sight and will do anything to win you romances). Her books are well-written adventures, with a touch of romance, that never disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Bump in The Night

    Deanna Raybourn once again takes us back in time. She has left Lady Julia Gray behind and brought us a new heroine in Theodora Lestrange.
    Theodora is left homeless and lost when her beloved grandfather passes. She longs to be self sufficient and seeks out a way in which to do just that. Her best school chum invites her to her wedding in Transylvania and she jumps at the opportunity.
    Ms. Raybourn takes Romanian folk lore and our own personal fears and intertwines them with romance and intrigue. She had me sleeping with the light on in fear of the strigoi.
    While I did not enjoy this book as much as the Silent series I certainly hope she publishes again and soon. Beach reading season is coming and this book is just the thing for an afternoon on the sand wher you are safe and warm. Vampires don't like the sun right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    atmospheric gothic mystery

    With her Lady Julia Grey novels, Deanna Raybourn has proved herself a master at creating evocative, atmospheric settings and her decision to set her latest Gothic novel, The Dead Travel Fast, in a mysterious and darkly exotic, feudal Transylvania castle can only be labeled as perfectly brilliant.

    The death of Miss Theodora LeStrange's grandfather and guardian has left her at a impasse. Never one to desire marriage and motherhood she can either move in with her sister - and her many children - or marry a man she likes but does not love. Neither option is particularly appealing to Theodora when her rescue from domesticity arrives in the form of a letter from her school-friend Cosmina, inviting her to come to Castle Dragulescu in Transylvania prior to her upcoming marriage. Convinced this is the opportunity she has been waiting for to write her long-dreamed of novel, Theodora convinces friends and family to let her travel halfway around the world to a place steeped in tradition and superstition. Upon her arrival at Castle Dragulescu, Theodora is delighted to discover more than enough inspiration for her novel - the crumbling, yet majestic castle, the superstitious villagers, howling wind and dangerous wolves, not to mention the enigmatic Count Andrei Dragulescu himself. A figure cut for the most dashing adventures surely. But when a strange, horrifying murder strikes at the castle and rumors of supernatural involvement begin to swirl round, Theodora finds her pragmatic intellectual ideals sorely tested as the chilling and diabolical sequence of events unfold.

    It is with a heavy heart to say that I truly struggled with this novel - I must have picked it up only to set it down again about twenty different times in the course of a couple of weeks; each time succumbing to the temptation of other, more shiny books. And it makes it even harder to admit when I say I have truly, truly been looking forward to reading it. That's not to say I wasn't impressed with Ms. Raybourn's latest offering - oh no, I was quite enthralled in fact. Perhaps I just wasn't in the proper frame of mind for such a dramatic and chilling Gothic novel. Over the course of Theodora's narrative I seemed to come across each and every ingredient necessary in crafting a traditional Gothic tale as if I was reading with a checklist in hand: the dark, creepy castle; the mysterious and handsome feudal lord with a libertine past and hidden depths; superstitious townsfolk; the first person, diary-style narrative; the introduction of supernatural elements all combined to create a truly haunting narrative -- just not anything particularly unique. Except for the added twist of Theodora's sleuthing - very much reminiscent of Lady Julia's adventures in that just when you think you've got it all figured out, another shocking revelation comes to light. Still, Ms. Raybourn is one of those authors who I have come to trust implicitly and although I didn't *love* The Dead Travel Fast, I very much liked it. And if I say I'm seriously anticipating the next Julia and Brisbane adventure -- Dark Road to Darjeeling -- like wow and boy howdy, would you even hold that against me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Engrossing gothic tale

    Evocative of both Shelley's Frankenstein and Stoker's Dracula, this engrossing tale kept me bewitched from start to finish. Exquisitely drawn characters and tight plotting kept the story moving forward. I too, along with Theodora, fell under the spell of Count Dragelescu. Best read on a dark and stormy night! I expect nothing but the best from this author. If you haven't read her backlist, do so today. Loved all the Julia Grey titles as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    Characters not as well developed as in the "Silent" books; seems to me this must have been written before the Lady Julia series and only published recently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great work from Raybourn

    As I fan of her Julia Grey series, I was excited to see a new entry from Raybourn. But, I was also a little apprehensive that she was writing something new and that I might not like it. However, I enjoyed the book very much and was glad I picked it up. I like that her books come out in paperback, since hardcovers take up so much space. Raybourn is a good writer, but for those looking for a straight mystery, this is not the book for you. It's definitely a romance, thriller, mystery hybrid, that may not please everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific gothic romance

    In 1858, writer Theodora Lestrange hates her life in Scotland as everyone she knows wonders why she remains a spinster though she enjoys writing spirited books under the pseudonym T. Lestrange. Needing to escape the misery, she heads to Transylvania to attend her best friend Cosmina's wedding in Hermannstdat, Transylvania.

    Theodora is put up in a dilapidated castle that the locals whisper about in fearful ominous tones. She finds herself feeling different about the castle; perhaps because she is attracted to the owner Count Andrei Dragulescu. However, though he reciprocates her deep feelings, he has a secret that if she learns he will have to leave her dead.

    This is a terrific gothic romance starring a wonderful courageous heroine who while in seeming danger reflects back to her last comment in Edinburgh: "What could possibly happen to me in Transylvania?", obviously everything. The story line is fast-paced as Theodora and readers unravel the truth behind the local legend of the vampire and of her enigmatic host. Although Andrei never seems quite worthy of Theodora, fans will root for the brave woman as she learns that The Dead Travel Fast when the heart is involved.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4