Customer Reviews for

The Dead Travel Fast

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must read, fun read.

I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply o...
I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply or without feeling. I love trying to figure out her puzzles. The characters were fun and made the story more interesting. Very enjoyable and spooky.

posted by Venus_at_work on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in ...
A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in all areas.

posted by 325202 on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Fascinating reading

    Since I love and have read her Lady Grey novels, I deided to purchase this Deanna Raybourn book. I have not quite finished, but am intrigued by it. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Eyre meets Dracula.

    I know I know, a weird combo. A pretty good read about a writer name Theodora who goes to Transylvania to visit her friend Cosmina who's getting married. All the while hoping to start on her novel, if the right moment of inspiration intervenes. That's when Theodora meets Cosmina's fiance, the Count Andrei. While there, she soon learns of the local legends involving vampires and werewolves. The setting was interesting as the same can be said for the characters who helped keep the story interesting. There were some creepy and weird moments. Didn't expect some of the twists and turns that happened throughout the story. I don't why why but while the ending was good, it seemed like something was missing. Maybe it's just me? Liked how Tycho the dog had a role in the story instead of just being in the background. Don't see more of that in other books. Recommend Dead Travel Fast if you like stories with vampires and or a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    atmospheric gothic mystery

    With her Lady Julia Grey novels, Deanna Raybourn has proved herself a master at creating evocative, atmospheric settings and her decision to set her latest Gothic novel, The Dead Travel Fast, in a mysterious and darkly exotic, feudal Transylvania castle can only be labeled as perfectly brilliant.

    The death of Miss Theodora LeStrange's grandfather and guardian has left her at a impasse. Never one to desire marriage and motherhood she can either move in with her sister - and her many children - or marry a man she likes but does not love. Neither option is particularly appealing to Theodora when her rescue from domesticity arrives in the form of a letter from her school-friend Cosmina, inviting her to come to Castle Dragulescu in Transylvania prior to her upcoming marriage. Convinced this is the opportunity she has been waiting for to write her long-dreamed of novel, Theodora convinces friends and family to let her travel halfway around the world to a place steeped in tradition and superstition. Upon her arrival at Castle Dragulescu, Theodora is delighted to discover more than enough inspiration for her novel - the crumbling, yet majestic castle, the superstitious villagers, howling wind and dangerous wolves, not to mention the enigmatic Count Andrei Dragulescu himself. A figure cut for the most dashing adventures surely. But when a strange, horrifying murder strikes at the castle and rumors of supernatural involvement begin to swirl round, Theodora finds her pragmatic intellectual ideals sorely tested as the chilling and diabolical sequence of events unfold.

    It is with a heavy heart to say that I truly struggled with this novel - I must have picked it up only to set it down again about twenty different times in the course of a couple of weeks; each time succumbing to the temptation of other, more shiny books. And it makes it even harder to admit when I say I have truly, truly been looking forward to reading it. That's not to say I wasn't impressed with Ms. Raybourn's latest offering - oh no, I was quite enthralled in fact. Perhaps I just wasn't in the proper frame of mind for such a dramatic and chilling Gothic novel. Over the course of Theodora's narrative I seemed to come across each and every ingredient necessary in crafting a traditional Gothic tale as if I was reading with a checklist in hand: the dark, creepy castle; the mysterious and handsome feudal lord with a libertine past and hidden depths; superstitious townsfolk; the first person, diary-style narrative; the introduction of supernatural elements all combined to create a truly haunting narrative -- just not anything particularly unique. Except for the added twist of Theodora's sleuthing - very much reminiscent of Lady Julia's adventures in that just when you think you've got it all figured out, another shocking revelation comes to light. Still, Ms. Raybourn is one of those authors who I have come to trust implicitly and although I didn't *love* The Dead Travel Fast, I very much liked it. And if I say I'm seriously anticipating the next Julia and Brisbane adventure -- Dark Road to Darjeeling -- like wow and boy howdy, would you even hold that against me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1