Customer Reviews for

The Dead Travel Fast

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must read, fun read.

I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply o...
I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply or without feeling. I love trying to figure out her puzzles. The characters were fun and made the story more interesting. Very enjoyable and spooky.

posted by Venus_at_work on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in ...
A typical Harlequin romance. No plot to speak of. Characters were one dimensional and the ending was telegraphed by the second chapter. Have read the Lady Julia Grey books and enjoyed them for their sizzle, fast pace, and good characterizations. This book falls flat in all areas.

posted by 325202 on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read, fun read.

    I am not a huge fan of the vampire genre, but I thought Deanna Raybourne's twist on a Dracula-esque story was very enjoyable. It kept my interest, and in fact I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! There was a little romance in this book, but it wasn't written cheaply or without feeling. I love trying to figure out her puzzles. The characters were fun and made the story more interesting. Very enjoyable and spooky.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    i just love her!

    I just finished it.....always sad to come to the end of one of her stories. This was as eloquently written as everything else she has published, and i am excited to read the next one she publishes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Amazing read!!!

    I could not put this book down. The author really knows how to write sensually without being smutty. I felt like a kid eating a piece of cake, quick to finish because it tastes so good but sad once the cake was devoured. I anticipate the next book I read from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Awesome read!! Another great story from an awesome author

    I just finished reading this book and truly loved it. It had all the chills, thrills, and romance. Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery, murder and a bit of romance

    I love Ms Raybourn's stories. I first read the Lady Grey Series, enjoyed them all and am anxiously waiting for the fourth in the series (Nov 2010). Lady Grey's intelligent, pert, honesty is the perfect match for the dark, mysterious Bisbane. In The Dead Travel Fast, we have a new heroine, who is different than Lady Grey, but still a strong, intelligent woman, who knows her own mind. The superstitions and legends of the Romanian people added an interesting twist to the mystery. I love that Ms. Raybourne's heros are dark, mysterious and romantic and her heroines are intelligent and strong (not fall in love at first sight and will do anything to win you romances). Her books are well-written adventures, with a touch of romance, that never disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Engrossing gothic tale

    Evocative of both Shelley's Frankenstein and Stoker's Dracula, this engrossing tale kept me bewitched from start to finish. Exquisitely drawn characters and tight plotting kept the story moving forward. I too, along with Theodora, fell under the spell of Count Dragelescu. Best read on a dark and stormy night! I expect nothing but the best from this author. If you haven't read her backlist, do so today. Loved all the Julia Grey titles as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific gothic romance

    In 1858, writer Theodora Lestrange hates her life in Scotland as everyone she knows wonders why she remains a spinster though she enjoys writing spirited books under the pseudonym T. Lestrange. Needing to escape the misery, she heads to Transylvania to attend her best friend Cosmina's wedding in Hermannstdat, Transylvania.

    Theodora is put up in a dilapidated castle that the locals whisper about in fearful ominous tones. She finds herself feeling different about the castle; perhaps because she is attracted to the owner Count Andrei Dragulescu. However, though he reciprocates her deep feelings, he has a secret that if she learns he will have to leave her dead.

    This is a terrific gothic romance starring a wonderful courageous heroine who while in seeming danger reflects back to her last comment in Edinburgh: "What could possibly happen to me in Transylvania?", obviously everything. The story line is fast-paced as Theodora and readers unravel the truth behind the local legend of the vampire and of her enigmatic host. Although Andrei never seems quite worthy of Theodora, fans will root for the brave woman as she learns that The Dead Travel Fast when the heart is involved.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2