Customer Reviews for

Dead Watch

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Camp Scores again

I have gained new respect for Johgn Camp as writer. I didn't didn't know what more he could do with the Davenport series with its interesting twists and intrigues without becoming too predictable. He has come up with a new character and plot theme which I found to be o...
I have gained new respect for Johgn Camp as writer. I didn't didn't know what more he could do with the Davenport series with its interesting twists and intrigues without becoming too predictable. He has come up with a new character and plot theme which I found to be outstanding. Like his Prey series, this is a book I couldn't put down. I'll be in line for the next one of this genre.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish I'd read the reviews...

Stumbling through this book trying to make it come together. Half way through I pulled up the reviews.... Have every Sanford...loved them....gonna toss this one!

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Camp Scores again

    I have gained new respect for Johgn Camp as writer. I didn't didn't know what more he could do with the Davenport series with its interesting twists and intrigues without becoming too predictable. He has come up with a new character and plot theme which I found to be outstanding. Like his Prey series, this is a book I couldn't put down. I'll be in line for the next one of this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Wish I'd read the reviews...

    Stumbling through this book trying to make it come together. Half way through I pulled up the reviews.... Have every Sanford...loved them....gonna toss this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I disagree with the negative comments. While I agree this it is not his best book, it certainly is solid and enjoyable. I think that those with a negative review were expecting a Prey novel and are disappointed at a different lead character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Nice Deep Read

    In the expert hands of Sandford (Broken Prey, 2005, etc.), the story flies along, keeping the action at such a furious pace, even without a high body count, that few readers will notice the glaring coincidences, the leaps of logic and the smashing good luck Jake needs to succeed as detective, lover (you'll never guess who he falls for) and survivor. Not as tightly woven as Sandford's previous, but reliable thrills with some unexpected political diatribes from a pro.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant thriller

    When last seen several days ago former senator from Virginia Lincoln Bowe was getting into a car smiling, but has been missing ever since. His wife Madison thinks foul play is involved. She believes the Watchmen, a group of veterans that Governor Goodman organized to keep watch over the streets, abducted Lincoln. She knows that her spouse lost his Senate seat due to the manipulations of the president and the governor.----- As days pass, the Secretary of State asks independent contractor Jake Winter to find the former senator. Jake has the uncanny ability to cut through the miasma of bull that permeates the political bureaucracy to fill his client¿s requirements. He accomplices the mission but Bowe is dead and a package of information he had that could bring down the administration is missing. Now the job is to find the package before the president¿s enemies obtain it. Two groups compete with Jake for possession, but which one would kill to gain the information does not matter to the sleuth as he treats everyone client as an adversary.---- Readers of the Prey novels will agree that John Sandford displays his depth of talent as he effortlessly switches from police procedural to a political thriller that is definitely heading to the bestseller lists. The protagonist is a unique character who has a talent that enables him to achieve his goal when it seems impossible to do so. Fast-paced action, a little romance and a great support cast turn DEAD WATCH into a spectacular reading experience.---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I loved the opening - it really caught my interest. The first f

    I loved the opening - it really caught my interest. The first few chapters kept my interest, but after that I realized I didn't like a single character in the book. They all lie, cheat, cover up the truth, etc. and I can't distinguish between the good guys and the bad guys. The series of events doesn't flow well and seems way overdone. The demise of some of the characters doesn't fit the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Top grade stand-alone thriller

    Jake Winter, "forensic bureaucrat", the Iraq War veteren-hero of John Sandford's "Dead Watch" works for the office of the President. When people have screwed up, he finds out who and what needs to be done to correct the situation. Now, it appears that a former Senator has been abducted, possibly killed, by a group called the Watchmen. But the more Jake looks into the matter, the more he is attracted to the estranged wife of the Senator, the more it appears that something brutal, and deeply political, is going on. Twisty, very twisty....and fascinating. A different milieu for John Sandford, but with one of his manly, brainy protagonists. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    Great Book

    Have read a majority of Lucas Davenport series & enjoyed all of them. Because of similarity of titles, also forget what most of them were about shortly after I read them.
    Dead Watch is a departure from the norm for Sandford. Thought characters were great & well-described. Plot had some interesting twists & turns.
    Read it through in a few days - great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    It's worth reading

    I disagree with a lot of the negative comments about this book. I too at first thought it was going to be too political for me and you do need to keep up with the characters, but I thought he kept the story line interesting and I really like Jake, the main character in this novel. It is not a 'Prey' book but you can't compare these two types of books. I read a lot and my sister gave me this one and I will pass on as a good read to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    OK - I just don't get it.

    I got the feeling that this book assumed more political knowledge than I possess and I don't read fiction to gain political knowledge - good fiction is escapism. I don't like too many characters as it gets confusing. I look forward to the next in the Prey series and I won't buy another of his 'political' thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Although I don't think this is Sandford's best effort, I thought he introduced an interesting new character that I would expect to see more of. I have enjoyed the Prey series as much as anybody but I have also enjoyed the efforts featuring Kit the artist/computer wiz/thief. There are several good, prolific writers out there with multiple series' that I enjoy like Parker and Woods. Sandford has joined their ranks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a Sandford fan and this was a disappointment. Boring and at times going nowhere. Really awful! A waste of time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    The worst book I have ever read.

    This is without a doubt the worst book I have EVER read. I read 4-5 books a month. Patterson,Balducci,White,Coben etc.... This book was so bad it hurt. I have read all of Sanfords PREY books and enjoyed all of them, but this book is awful. I even tried to pretend it was a comedy or a spoof in like 'Naked Gun' or 'Airplane' and I still could not get through it. I would love to get my money back. JH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Too Much!

    Too many characters - too much left wing drivel- too boring for words -too political. This is claptrap unworthy of a respected author. Sanford has too much competition in the genre' to get away with this 'dreck'. I'm on to other authors who offer truly entertaining material. So long, John.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    fantastic

    I absolutely loved this book. can hardly wait for another.Jack Reacher-LOOK OUT- I enjoyed all the prey books, but this is as good or better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    Yawn!!!!!!

    This is not a good book in my opinion. It is hard to follow and just plain boring. After 100 pages it just doesn't start happening. I really love John Sandford's books but this one falls way short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    LUCAS THIS ONE DIED

    Major disappointment with this book. I've been a fan since the beginning and I made a number of attempts to get through this one but it was just awful. What's worse than putting down a book, unfinished, that you anticipated? I'll have to wait for the next 'Prey' title I suppose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    JS is really slipping

    This was his worst book ever. Usually cannot wait for his books to come out, but this was a waste of time reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    He mailed it in

    I'm disappointed in comparing this effort with what John had developed with the Lucas Davenport series...Characters were thin and I didn't care what happened to them...I just toughed it out and finished the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Written just for the money

    I've read all of the Sandford books. This one was a real disappointment. It was unbelievable, convoluted and worst of all uninteresting. Don't bother buying it if you've liked all other Sandford books. It will disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3